We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MOLDY, DISGUSTING, FILTHY, DIRTY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colton Court Motor Inn
Ranked #36 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“MOLDY, DISGUSTING, FILTHY, DIRTY”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Cobwebs all over the place, dirty carpet, cheap, thin sheets, the windows are broken - one won't open and then one won't stay open, the beds are well past their useful life there was a gap in the door that made you worry about critters getting in the room and that wasn't the worst part...
THE SMELL, OH MY GOD! THE SMELL OF DAMP, FILTH AND MOLD IN THE ROOM IS UNBEARABLE! !!!
My poor mother stayed here for her 55th grade school reunion and although she had a good time (at the reunion) this dump almost ruined the trip. I just can't believe she didn't check trip advisor first. Believe what you will, but when a place has this many poor ratings on trip advisor you just know you're in for a lousy stay.

Room Tip: Bring lot's of air freshener (better yet bring a mask) and a maid to clean the filthy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richnterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    32
    31
    19
    46
See reviews for
77
50
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Luzerne, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

When we first entered the room.. it had a foul smell.. the smell even stayed on the clothing.. the bathroom had mildew all on the walls.. the mattress's were terrible.. slept on top of the bed.. when the front door was closed.. had a huge gap showing.. overcharged for off season.. paid in cash.. claimed computer was down, could not print a receipt.. tried to get one the next morning.. no one in office.. could not find management.. had to leave key on desk.. this place is in a nice location.. that is the only positive thing to say! Would not recommend, or stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa18709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape May hotels

PA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Colton Court Motor Inn provided us with a wonderful room for a great price for our family of 4 in Cape May, NJ. We travel to Cape May often and you can really go broke with some room prices, I would much rather spend my money on gourmet food and shopping than waste it on a fancy room, especially when Colton Court makes you feel like you are right at home in a clean and spacious room.

We booked the "Breezeway" room #21 for the price and location. We were not disappointed. First of all, it was Labor Day weekend after Hurricane Irene and most hotels have that terrible 3-night stay minimum, we booked a 2 night stay easily through their online website and followed up on the reservation, to find wonderful service that answered our hurricane questions honestly and in a speedy fashion.

The room was extremely spacious with 2 queen beds and room for our blow up spare mattress for our high school-aged son. Flat screen tv and separate bathroom/sink area was a big plus for a family. Everything worked well and was very clean. Some people have complained about the "wall view"- rubbish! There were plenty of open chairs elsewhere and lovely gardens that are well-maintained by the friendly owner who lives on the premises, again, our motive was price, we saved ourselves at least $70 by booking the breezeway and we think we were in a very quiet, private location.
The location of Colton Court is perfect for anyone visiting Cape May, it is on Beach Ave and 2nd Street with plenty of off-street parking. It is right across the street from the beach and a 5 minute walk to beach entertainment or the boardwalk- If you want to head to Cape May Point or Wilaham Park/CVS area, just head out the back way and you are there in a flash. We left our daughter's bike in the garden area breezeway and it was as safe as if we were at home.
The in-ground pool was well-maintained with ample table seating and loungers for all. There is a shallow end with steps for the little ones, as well as the deeper end for adults. The pool comes with a special kitty, named Midnight, who is very lovable and fun for the kids. I would highly recommend a stay at Colton Court- friendly people, lovely grounds, spacious rooms, beach across the street, pool? kitty cat,...- what else could you want? If you are a normal person, who enjoys a family-friendly atmosphere- look no further than Colton Court. After a brief conversation with the owner, I was impressed to hear that she has wonderful renovation plans scheduled for the near future- yes, our carpet was stained in places, but really that was all the room needed. Way to go, Colton Court!! We will be back!

Room Tip: The tip depends on your price range, if you don't mind wasting money or you need extra space- go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiBattista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

First of all our room smelled moldy and damp... when we arrived we were told that we were allowed "ONE" parking spot per room and I met my girlfriend there from NY and she lived in NJ so already things were not good... We sat by the pool for an hour after our arrival and then were rudely told by the owner that the pool closes at 6 pm and we had to leave or she would put us to work... The sheets on the bed were paper thin, no shampoo, conditioner, or lotion in the bathroom, and no cups in the room... We had NO HOT WATER and had to take COLD showers and were never informed that there was a problem like the hot water heater blew up!.... The next morning there was NO WATER to brush our teeth or wash up!... Never a note on the door, bottled water offered, or a discount on the $165 per night room they were getting until I informed them it was unacceptable and then they gave us an $80 discount for one night... After checking out we thought we could use the pool since our past experiences have always allowed us to use the facilities; they KICKED US OUT telling us they had no insurance for us to be there because we no longer were checked into that hotel!... Being frazzled from my experience of this hotel and the rudeness of the owner, I wound up damaging my car by hitting a telephone pole that was planted in the middle of the parking lot which I never saw costing me another $500 worth of repairs to my car and I had to park my car in a lot to go to the beach for the day before driving home! NEVER would I recommend this place! ABSOLUTELY DREADFUL!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sachijuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Our family decided to spend a nice weekend in Cape May, but we did not want to pay the money to stay in an expensive hotel. Bad idea. The room smelled like mildew, the bathroom was dated and disgusting, the walls were made of paper, the air conditioner was too dusty and moldy to use, we could not sit on the sofa without first covering it in beach towels, and there were large cracks in the door to the room that let light in. On top of all of this, the manager was awful. She sat outside on a couch surrounded by lawn ornaments and smoked with her cats. She was not helpful at all. The pool area was also pretty nasty. Some large family decided to allow their multiple young children to run around on the pool deck unsupervised, and one of the little girls ended up peeing right on one of the chairs. It was never cleaned up. Do. Not. Stay. Here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 km away
The South Winds
The South Winds
#22 of 37 in Cape May
25 reviews
1.1 km away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
489 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#28 of 37 in Cape May
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Alcott
Hotel Alcott
#26 of 37 in Cape May
199 reviews
1.2 km away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#5 of 37 in Cape May
291 reviews
2.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Court Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Court Motor Inn

Property: Colton Court Motor Inn
Address: 105 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1303
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Colton Court Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Court Motor Hotel Cape May
Colton Court Hotel
Colton Court Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing