We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Star
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Warminster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We purchased a Living Social deal to stay at the Star Inn on a Friday night during Valentine's Day weekend. We were amazed as we arrived and saw beautiful Congress Hall (where we checked in). We were also pleasantly surprised to learn the Star Inn was literally across the street from there. The room was very tiny but clean and modern and the view from our window was amazing, we could lay on the bed and see the sand and the ocean, I think we stayed in room 1.

Our time at the shore during the winter season was so romantic, taking in the gorgeous Victorian houses, strolling down Main Street (the cutest stores!), walking along the beach and even sharing champagne and a cheese tray in our hotel room before dinner. With our Living Social Deal we had a $50 voucher for dinner at the Blue Pig Tavern (which was also right across the street from the Star Inn). The atomsphere was very romantic as well, a huge fireplace (you could smell the wood burning on the walk there), dimly lit with candles, great wine and the menu was full of fresh and flavorful comfort foods.

After our dinner, we went over to the wine bar inside Congress Hall. There was an acoustic guitar player with a decent sized crowd singing along! The next morning, we walked down the block to George's Place for breakfast, which was also AMAZING, awesome food and spectacular service. The wait was worth it! We did some sight-seeing before heading home but made sure to stop at The Lobster House to pick up some crab bisque and a crusty baguette for dinner later.

It was so nice not having to drive anywhere, we parked our car and it stayed there all weekend. Only complaint would be that after reading reviews here, we were under the impression all of the rooms at the Star Inn were mini-suites and that's where we would be staying so we were surprised our room was so tiny. But like I said, the amazing off season atmosphere, completely made up for the small room. We loved it so much, we are thinking of making a trip to Cape May in the winter a new tradition!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brittany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    89
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
46
114
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

My family and I have stayed at the Star Inn now twice, December 2010 and December 2011 both times for my husband's birthday. We will definitely be returning again! I love the fact that the rooms are suites and have a bedroom separate from the living room, great when traveling with children. The Star is extremely clean and well decorated. They are owned by Congress Hall so you you can also take advantage of all the amenities they offer, such as the pool and beach cabanas in the summer. The over all customer services is outstanding as well! We left my daughters stuffed animal she sleeps with every night there accidentally and remembered the night we got home as we were putting her to bed, called them to see if housekeeping had found it. They got back to me the nest day and they had it and said they would mail it to us...totally saving the day! My family and I spend a lot of time in Cape May both in season and off, while we do stay at a beach condo during the season...I love the Star and would recommend it year round, although, keep in mind that it does get pretty pricey during the summer.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

It has become something of a tradition -- a few days over the winter holidays in Cape May. The town is quiet, of course, but enough places remain open before the new year to shop and eat and sleep well. The Star is part of the Congress Hall properties and just across the sleep from the main, historic hotel. We stayed in room #2 on the second floor with a view out over the beach a long block away. It is a small room in an old building but the big windows and view and just plain charm make it a delight. It could not be further from business hotel modern. Staff at the Congress were most welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view in the older portion of the property. There also is a more modern motel wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cyclingsanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed here for a wedding the past weekend. The Star Inn was very cute, clean, and felt "homey". We lucked out with a spacious King bed room & an ocean view. the decor is lovely and the rooms are kept very clean. The entire staff is extremely friendly. this hotel is owned by Congress Hall across the street so you need to check in there. We enjoyed our stay and the price was reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a king bed room, the queen bed rooms in the front of the house were much smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ny_beach_fanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We have been going to Cape May in September for 10 years and have stayed at the Virginia, Congress Hall and the Star. The Star is the best value...all the amenities of the Congress for not nearly the price. Great location, comfy beds and cozy rooms. We stayed in room 7 (top floor) featuring a small sitting area, king bed and a view of the ocean. The property could use a bit of a sprucing...but overall looking forward to our return trip next September! Kudos to the Cape Resorts Group!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davids2518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.1 km away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.1 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.3 km away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#14 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.9 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star

Property: The Star
Address: 29 Perry St, Cape May, NJ 08204
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Star 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than a block from the ocean, The Star is a classic Cape May beach hotel, lovingly restored to provide an ideal blend of nostalgia, fresh seashore design and modern hotel comfort. The Star offers a range of accommodations to suit the needs of every type of beach traveler, including nine comfortable guestrooms, 10 motel-style efficiencies with kitchenettes, some with private backyards and two luxurious two-bedroom carriage houses featuring full-length decks overlooking the ocean. All feature imaginative, evocative décor that's inspired by the classic beach house experience with lots of bright, sunny colors and playful nautical accents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your The Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Cape May
Star Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing