We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Mer Beachfront Inn
Nearby Hotels
Jetty Motel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$328
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$284/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Avondale by the Sea(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$403
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$373/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Carroll Villa Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$397
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wilbraham Mansion(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$396
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Cape May)
US$384
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capri Motor Lodge(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$312
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angel of the Sea(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$442
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (746)
Filter reviews
746 results
Traveller rating
360
244
51
39
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
244
51
39
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspier houseocean frontacross the streetbeach tagsoceanfront roomcovered parkingfront desk stafffull ocean viewquiet endoff seasonbeach avenuemini kitchenon site restaurantlounge chairscoffee makerbeach accesssofa bed
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 746 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Our recent stay at the LaMer was a disaster. Our main complaint was the pool area. The pool is way too small for the amount of guests that stay at the hotel. there are no rules posted concerning the conduct of children so they run and jump in the deep end of the pool while the clueless parents look on. I also saw infants in diapers in the pool !! The pool doesn't open till 10 am so a late check out does you no good for a quick dip.
I felt i was day camp everyday and couldn't wait to leave. The beach? Again there not enough chairs and umbrellas everyday. The beach boys there act like they are doing you a favor setting you up. But beware if you take extra time for lunch, they will remove your belongings and you will loose your space. Want to stay late on the beach? Forget it. You get rushed to collect the umbrellas and chairs.For $500 a nite the room was very nice and clean but the mattress was soft and the pillows flat as a pancake. There is no privacy on the balconies which are unusable during the day due to lack of shade. But this place was way over priced. Be advised there is no room service and you can't charge drinks or food to your room. If you like screaming kids and crowded pools, and rude beach personnel, this is the place for you. Just part of the "Jersey Shore" experience. Maybe November is a good time to visit here.

Room Tip: Top Floor Ocean Views are great but no privacy
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Hamradio1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

We apologize you did not enjoy your stay with us. We will be sure to share your insights with the owner as we strive so very hard to go above and beyond our customers' expectations. Again, thanks for sharing your opinion with us and we will be sure to share your observations with the rest of our team. We do hope you return to the Shore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We arrived from out of state to a dirty, smelly room with crumbs in the refrigerator, moldy bathroom, a shower curtain with mold on it.We have been coming to La Mer for 22 years and this is totally disgusting and I do not recommend the hotel at all. overpriced way overpriced

Room Tip: get clean room
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drmhcoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

We are deeply saddened by your review -- especially when we pride ourselves on being extremely cleanly -- as the hotel's owner is meticulous when it comes to cleanliness. We will be sure to share your insights with our team and learn from this experience. Thanks for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We will not stay here again. We paid a lot of money for our annual vacation and were very excited. However, the experience is not like a typical high end hotel (which is fine, except you are getting charged like a high end hotel.) By our third day, our toddler became very ill with a virus. Now, virus's are everywhere, we aren't blaming the hotel because our kid got sick. I asked the receptionist if we could cut our trip short b/c of our kids' illness and she took my info and said she'd call me in the room and let me know. She never called. I went again to the front desk and explained. They said no it was against policy, we were free to leave but they would charge us for the whole trip. I asked if there was a manager who could override the policy, even just give us a day credit or something. She came back and the manager would not change the policy, discuss it, or even come out to meet with me. We left and I tried to contact them again, was put on hold for ten minutes, then put into a voicemail, where again I received no response. The employees in general are not pleasant, the bartender's were rude, the room costs over 500 a night but no room service (which in our situation with a sick kid would have been great). Again, nobody says you have to have room service to get a good review, and I can't prove they got my kid sick, but the people and the service are sub par for even a cheap hotel, and they could have given us a credit for a day or two of our aborted stay. Bottom line is they have a great view and they are selling that, not good service. Save your money, go right down the street and there are better, cheaper alternatives.

Room Tip: ocean view means pool right below you which can be annoying.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NJBornandBred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. While we are saddened we did not meet your expectations, we will be sure to share your experience withe the rest of the team. Again, thanks for taking the time to review our Inn and we will be sure to share your insights with the owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

I have mobility issues, but I wanted to spend a week at the beach. For me, La Mer was ideal because it had several elevators, plenty of parking places close to the elevators, clearly designated handicapped parking, handy trolleys located next to the elevators for transporting luggage to one's room, rooms and hallways wide enough so I could use my walker comfortably, and gradual steps with a railing which allowed me to easily access the swimming pool. I used the pool early, as soon as it opened, when it was peaceful, quiet, and clean, to swim laps. Later in the day, this would have been impossible because this hotel is popular with families and the pool is full of kids. The pool area was noisy during the day, but the pool closed at dusk and opened at 10 am, so there was quiet all night long. The room had a table and chairs for eating and a functional kitchenette with microwave, sink, and refrigerator and coffee maker which allowed us to prepare a breakfast and light snacks if we didn't want to go out. We enjoyed the ocean view from our balcony, especially the spectacular sunrises every day. The room was very clean, the property well maintained, and the maid service reliable. I would recommend getting a room on the top floor in order to get a better view of the ocean instead of the pool. And, if pool noise bothers you, perhaps a partial ocean view might be a better choice; however, if the sliding glass door was closed, the pool noise faded into insignificance. This property is on the north end of Cape May, a bit far from the center of town, but there is a trolley stop just outside and the hotel provides complimentary trolley tickets. I liked the location because it was quieter at night than other places in Cape May. All told, we had a good experience at this hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank marinerVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Hooray! We are so happy to read that our Inn was just what you wanted. We are over the moon to read you found our property easy to navigate with your walker. We are pleased to see you had a good experience and would definitely return. Thanks again for the generous review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

If you're looking for peace and quiet, this is not the place to go. The pool is way overcrowded with out of control children, and they are poorly supervised by their parents. There is no kiddie pool, just one pool with babies in diapers. While the room was very nice, there was no privacy between balconies. In order to escape the screaming kids at the pool, we went to the beach where we encountered rude beach staff. Although no policies are posted anywhere, we were lectured that we could only get one umbrella per couple. We later found out that if you left your beach chairs and umbrella for more than 20 minutes, as we were told by the rude beach cabana boy, they would be given to someone else, because there were not enough chairs and umbrellas. One would think that for $500 a night there would be. This hotel environment is one you would expect in Seaside or Point Pleasant. You were also unable to charge any food or drinks to your room from the attached restaurant which was very inconvenient. There is no room service either. We will definitely not be returning to La Mer. There are plenty of other places to stay in Cape May which are comparable or cheaper.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jenine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews