We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Jetty Motel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$309
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albert Stevens Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capri Motor Lodge(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$324
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wilbraham Mansion(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$396
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alcott(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$340
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Angel of the Sea(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$351
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antoinette's Apartments & Suites(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$337
US$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Crest Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
US$298
US$292
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
113
127
76
48
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
127
76
48
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast buffetfirst flooracross the streetocean frontoff seasonrocking chairsheated poolprivate balconyjazz festivalsitting arealiving roomgreat pooltwo blocksyogurtwashington mallget awaycan't wait to go back
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

A wonderful place for everyone, even the dog! Stayed in a dog friendly room pool-side. The view from the room (1st floor) was beautiful--pool, sand, ocean & sky. With the little fenced patio, we were able to sit in the rocking chairs with the dog & drink in the view. The pool & the pool deck bar/restaurant was lively, but not loud. Once we went inside the room, could no longer hear anything. The room included a king size bed & tv in the bedroom, a little fridge, microwave, & two burning stovetop in the kitchenette. The cabinets included the dishes you might need, plus silverware & a new sponge & detergent. A k cup coffee maker as well. The living room had a queen sleeper sofa & comfy chair. The tv also had a DVD player in it. Two blocks away, a dog friendly eatery. Perfect hotel, perfect location.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsey E, Guest Relations Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for your great review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Our pet friendly rooms are very popular and have a great poolside view for you to enjoy the seasonal live entertainment! We can't wait to see you and your furry friend again on your next visit to the Marquis de Lafayette Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Let's start with the positive- location is fantastic, beach front balconies are nice, breakfast is acceptable.

Now onto the cons- the management of this place is absolutely awful. Check in is 4pm, our room was not ready until 4:30. We were not the only ones waiting. I asked a manager to call me to discuss my displeasure- no call. I overheard another couple also trying to get a hold of the manager over extra charges on their bill and she would not even come out to talk to them.

The rooms- even our "remodeled" room looked a bit dated and had mildew or mold on the bathroom ceiling. For the price I expected more.

Overall the location is amazing and takes this to a two star review but on a weekend getaway I want to know the service is going to be good and the room clean. This place could be so much more.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Directly across from the beach. Walking distance to most restaurants. Room furniture outdated, even though they are trying to update. Best pool bar with perfect view of the ocean and music played regularly.

Room Tip: First Floor rooms are pet friendly.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomvalerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsey E, Guest Relations Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your great review. We're glad our convenient location did not go unnoticed as well as our amazing new Barefoot bar. We are making renovations to update our rooms over the course of the winter and look forward to seeing what you think about the updates during your next stay here at the Marquis de Lafayette Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Although the new sofa bed was lovely, it was so uncomfortable I had to try to sleep on the floor on the removed cushions. Our breakfast server on the first day was one of worst I've ever had. She didn't offer us toast (server on the 2nd day did). She put dirty plates down on our table and scrapped food from other plates on top of them. She almost hit my husband in the head with a plate when she dropped it. The food was decent and plentiful. The pool was very nice, but there were so many rules it made us very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsey E, Guest Relations Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our inluded all you can eat hot breakfast buffet! Our pool is a newly renovated addition to the Marquis de Lafayette Hotel and we must abide by NJ Policy in order to assure the utmost safety for our guests, but we are glad to know you liked it. We look forward to seeing you again soon here at the Marquis de Lafayette Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Great pool with bar/restaurant and location across from the beach. Our room flooded with a rainstorm with no response from management. They tried to charge $25 for losing the plastic key card worth $0.02. Everything was extra, including over $30 for a crib rental. Nice breakfast spread each morning, but not enough to overcome the shoddy service. Would not stay here again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews