We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
16
13
11
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
13
11
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jack o lantern golf course bedroom condo complete family nearby attractions fully equipped kitchen great amenities continental breakfast screened in porch indoor pool units lincoln hairdryer fall
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We have stayed at the resort for three years in a row. Our first (2014) year was great. Last year (2015) was ok. This year is not good. Each year we have stayed in a different unit. The unit this year had old, worn out appliances, outdated TVs with no remote controls, broken fins on the A/C, no wash cloths, no TV in the one bedroom. Just a disappointment based on the previous years. We have five more days to go and I look forward to be out of the condo instead of in it.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackWoodstock, Manager at Jack O'Lantern Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

We will reach out to you today to move you to a better unit
And address your statements.
We have been so busy that laundry has not delivered wash cloths during stay.
We ll make sure they are delivered today . we apologize .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

Stayed in a bungalow for one night and while we felt it was sort of like an old motel, Priscilla was very nice to us when we discussed our concerns with her. We are so grateful for her kindness to us. That deserves a shout out to Priscilla and the Jack O'Lantern Resort!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 631BarbaraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackWoodstock, Manager at Jack O'Lantern Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2016

We thank you for your kind review and will pass it on to the office.
Glad you enjoyed the quiet country setting and the valley surrounded by the
White Mountains.
We invite you to return and experience our two or three bedroom homes with the
comforts of home. In addition, our buffet breakfast with a la carte items and our weekend surfn turf dinners are part of this country setting experience enjoyed by our guests.

We wish you the best, and look forward to you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016

This place was beautiful and scenic! Our 2 bedroom condo was cozy, clean and comfortable! We enjoyed the rec area with the pong table, air hockey, pin ball and arcade games! I felt like a kid again! But I was disappointed when I went to check out the pool area. The water looked dirty and the jet pool was even more off putting. It was so murky and dirty you could see footprints left on the bottom from whomever had last used it. I didn't dare go in for fear of septic shock!

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackWoodstock, Manager at Jack O'Lantern Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016

Dear guest,

We are happy that you enjoyed the lodging this winter. We apologize for the conditions of the pool. We have informed the maintenance company and due to repairs you unfortunately experienced, conditions were not that desirable. We hope you will return as the gameroom and pool area are being enjoyed this spring.

Sincerely,

Jack O'Lantern Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

Long weekend get-away with friends.
Quiet, Clean, Spacious 3 bedroom. Kitchenette and Big screen HD TV, perfect for watching the playoffs!
Close to area attractions.
Office staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
Definitely plan on returning!!!

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank kb254276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackWoodstock, Manager at Jack O'Lantern Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016

We thank you for your kind review. It is guests like you that make us happy. We do
look forward to your return soon.

Sincerely,

Jack O'Lantern Resort & Golf
Marie
jackolanternresort.com
603-745-8121

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Overall, I would give the condo accommodations 4 stars (very good) and the food 2 stars (poor), so I chose to rate the average and give the Jack 3 stars. Here's why - We rented a 3 bedroom condo. Each building at the resort consists of a regular double hotel room (2 beds, 1 bath) that has its own entrance and is a "lock out" which means you can rent just that unit or, unlock the doors and extend into the adjacent 2 floor suite. If you are facing the building, there are 2 doors. The unit on the right is the standard motel room. The unit on the left is a 2 floor condo. Both units connect if you need more room for a larger group. Perfect for 2 families sharing. Having rented both the motel room and suite combined, we had ample room. There were 3 baths, a full kitchen. The place was quiet, clean, carpet looked new as did some of the appliances. The mattresses, blankets, and bed spreads were somewhat worn, but clean. Overall, we loved the place and would stay again. Now, onto the not-so-good...breakfast buffet was included in the price. It is served 7 - 9 am. Given it was weekend, it would have been a treat if the hours were extended to 10 am. We get up early for work all week long and the sleep-in would have been nice. I wouldn't have minded getting up and rallying up the rest of the family if they breakfast was worth the effort. There really is no cooking going on here, more like they are just emptying cans and prepackaged foods. The bacon was the pre-cooked paper thing stuff you heat in the microwave. The hash browns were frozen ore-ida type and soft from the steam tray (on the second day, they made a re-appearance only this time, it appeared they had been dredged with flour or something to give them a suspicious coating and deep fried in dirty oil that gave them the most horrid taste). There were brown and served sausages and canned hash. Oh, and powdered eggs. I had read in another review that the eggs tasted of metal. I would agree, however, I don't this was due to the eggs themselves, BUT the water that is served her tastes and smells like metal. It has a horrible mineral, rusty metal taste. IDK if the people here are just used to it and don't taste it, but it was not potable to me and we brought our own bottled water. The one thing that appeared to be made and cooked was pancakes. Though, both days they were burnt in an attempt to crank them out in a hurry. Breakfast was a treat when compared to what awaited us at the dinner buffet. $19.99 for adults AND children. Upon check-in. we were given a menu of what items breakfast and dinner might have. Dinner sure sounded wonderful in print...beef, fish, chicken. Oh, and don't forget the array of desserts. The night before, for the same price, we ate in Lincoln and I had duck a la pomme. Surely, for $20 this meal was going to be a feast! Right? Umm, not even close. We felt so ripped off by this meal. It was that gross. It was akin to eating at a soup kitchen and I wouldn't be surprised if they got the supplies at the local food bank. We arrived at 6 and the doors were locked. (Service is 6-10). Someone finally opened the doors and a few of the staff were inside scurrying to set up the buffet. There was ziti in red sauce, ziti in white sauce, cheap chicken legs with enough cayenne or some spicy rub to choke a horse, chicken fingers covered in more red sauce and cheese (poor man's parmagiana), boxed rice and frozen corn. There was a crock pot plugged in the corner that was about the size one would bring to a church pot luck. Upon opening the lid uncovered green pea soup with chunks of pink ham with a layer of water on top as it was placed there in a rush, still cold, and not stirred. Salad bar - did they clean the fridge out here to come up with the makings? Raw green pepper, broccoli, big chunks of onion, and jarred pickled 3-bean salad. (Sigh). Oh. wait, not all hope is lost. We can still fill up on $19 worth of this wonderful array of desserts, right? If 2 table-talk apple pies and overcooked stale slice and bake cookies is appetizing. Forgot to add the ice cream and mini marshmallows. It's too bad we had all taken a plate at all, as we left the uneaten food on the table and were too famished to make a run for the door. At one point, the lone waitress made a claim when someone at another table asked for a soda "There is only one of me and 15 of you". When the check arrived, over $120 for 6 of us for what was the worst meal ever, the waitress took the care to write a note...not a "thank you" but capital letters "gratuity not included" underlined 4 times. What does that tell you? That patron experience is that bad she had to remind us that she didn't prepare this nasty feast and it's not her fault? This is why we didn't even comment at all. The food would have been bad and leave it at that. What made it bad to disgusting was the fact that it was cold. Anyone in the food service industry that has taken ServSafe certification or has any sense of safe food prep knows that you do not put cold food on a chaffing dish and expect sterno on full force is going to properly heat the food. The fact that the food was cold tells me that the food was not even made fresh. It was pasta and rice for goodness sake. It had to be made ahead of time? Was it leftover from the night before? We met a group of golfers who said the food was just as bad the night before. Why did they come back?! They said they had been coming here for 15 years now and the restaurant quality has gone way down hill. There was a pub/grille downstairs that serves salads and sandwiches at lunch. I can not say how that food is but breakfast and dinner buffet gets two big thumbs down. I don't really want to see a managerial response to this review either giving some lame apology or saying how we should have spoken up. It would concern me if those that are responsible are surprised by these comments and really needed to read something like this. Anyone in the hospitality business should have sense enough to not serve their guests such subpar food. What a scam.

Room tip: Great condo. Cook your own meals or EAT ELSEWHERE!!!
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Americangirl624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackWoodstock, Owner at Jack O'Lantern Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2015

We are very very sorry that this was your experience. This obviously was an Off weekend for the kitchen. All the other weekends we served fresh well prepared fish, beef tips...etc. The kitchen and Chef have a lot of explaining to do. And as the owner, I can assure you this will not happened to another guest again! However, if management would have been notified by you, instead of the entire world, then everyone would have been better served. We regrettably lost you as a dinning patron, but I can assure you that no one else will be lost as our company policy is to improve and strive for the highest expectations in lodging, dinning, and on the golf course.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews