We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Our most FAVORITE place in NH!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our most FAVORITE place in NH!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

This is our third time staying here! And we love it! We have two 10 years olds and this hotel is their favorite place ever! Super staff, super clean, and super fun! We always feel welcome and at home here! The staff goes out of their way and are extremely friendly. Our room was on the third floor... It was amazing! We just have a great time here and we cant wait to return. THANK YOU JESSICA FOR BEING THE BEST!!! You are an incredible asset to this resort!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Patti,

Thank you for taking time to review the Mountain View Grand. We are honored to be considered your "favorite place in NH" and that you keep returning to our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Chris Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,148
    448
    148
    88
    62
See reviews for
749
745
28
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Our family returned to the Mountain View Grand for a few days stay during Feb. school vacation week. We had a great time, the kids are still talking about it and planning a return trip in the summer. The service is great and the staff friendly! Our children had a fabulous time, enjoying the movie theatre, game room, indoor swimming pool, ice skating, making friends w/the other children and attending many sessions of mountaineer camp - Thank you Mrs. Baker! :) from Max & Emma-soris Rex...
My husband and I were able to enjoy a lovely dinner in the wine cellar, our meals were outstanding - w/Jeremie and Claudio hosting our evening how could we ask for more?
Great time had by our family, thanks to all at MVG, we'll be back again this summer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Lorraine,

Your review is appreciated. It sounds like you and your family had a fantastic time at the resort and we can't wait to welcome you back in the future. Summer is a great time of year for us and we look forward to seeing you then.

Chris Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I recently returned from a six month military deployment and really needed to have some couples time with my wife. From the moment we arrived the service was outstanding. Front desk and bellman staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in "The Tavern" and the food was wonderful and reasonably priced. Ms. Baker led us on a guided tour of the hotel which was helpful in getting to know the properties many amenities. Views of the mountains are truly spectacular. There are many activities including the move theater, the beautiful Eisenhower library, carriage rides, WiFi and the Spa. We really enjoyed the sauna, hot tub and pool, a great way to enjoy a cold winters day. The state of the art equipment and the mountain views made my work out in the fitness center that much more enjoyable. Thank you MVG staff your customer focused services made our first visit very enjoyable. This may have been our first visit but it certainly won’t be our last. Dan Ward, First Sergeant, NH Air National Guard, Retired, Pittsfield NH

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dward1358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Sergeant Ward,

We thank you for taking the time to review. Our resort offers a wide range of activites and amenties and we are glad you were able to enjoy these throughout your stay. It is great to hear your first stay with us was enjoyable and that you are planning visit again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you.

Chris Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Exceeded our expectations. Service by everyone was outstanding. Fine Dining, with our waiter, Jeremy, was the best dining experience I have ever had. He was so knowlegable and made excellent pairing selections. The kids activities were overseen by an exceptionally friendly Ms. Baker, who made our daughter feel comfortable, despite not knowing anyone. In very little time, she was making new friends with children from many different states. We wanted a family experience and we got a great one. Our room was lovely, our bed was so comfortable the the pillow selection was perfect. The outdoor activities were numerous and the mountain views were an added bonus.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Rick,

Your review is greatly appreciated. It is clear you enjoyed your time with us and were able to have a relaxing and fun stay with your family. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Chris Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My family just returned home from our stay at the Mountain View Grand Resort and Spa. We had a great time. We talked about the great service and wonderful staff most of the trip home. The food was good and the atmosphere welcoming and comfortable. Our fine dining experience exceeded our expectations. Jeremy was our server. He was knowledgeable, made excellent wine and food recommendations and made our experience a memorable one. Ms. Baker, Dir. of Activities went out of her way to make us and our child feel welcome and comfortable. Lots of fun activities for children. Most of the staff we encountered were exceptional.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room towards the back of the building or lower than 3rd floor (no flag above - n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Jennifer,

Thank you for taking time to review our resort. It is great to hear you had such a memorable experience during your stay. We are very glad our wonderful staff left such a lasting impression. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Chris Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
20.0 km away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
9.0 km away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
19.4 km away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 3 in Bretton Woods
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 km away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 3 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,078 reviews
31.7 km away
Top Notch Inn
Top Notch Inn
#1 of 7 in Gorham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
19.7 km away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Property: Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing