We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Comfortable”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Twin Mountain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carroll Motel & Cottages
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Twin Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2017

I didn't think much of the place when our group arrived but it grew on me. The place is clean, the owners were very nice and accommodating. The cleaning staff was thorough and we did not need to ask for anything. The only thing that you should be aware of, is the showers are very small but it's funny how it did not seem to bother me as much as when I first arrived.

It is in a great location to get around New Hampshire and enjoy the great roads.
And because of the positives, I am strongly considering to reserve some time in the fall when we go back to the area.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank M21Falcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2017

This was our first visit in number 14 Victorian Cottage (for 1-2 people). It was clean, cozy, nicely decorated. There was a queen bed (I think...might be full) large dresser, coffee maker, loveseat, mini frig, and microwave in the room. Bathroom was very tiny...I don't think a large person (say over 250 lbs) could fit in the bathroom. It needs to be enlarged. We were there for 5 days and I almost upgraded to a larger cottage and definitely would have if we were staying longer. We prefer a little more room, it was a little to small for us. I read other reviews and it was not that quiet in the cottage. That was due to the very large amount of tractor trailers that run all day and all night up route 3. That of course is not the owners fault. We brought a noise machine and had it turned all the way up and yet my friend was still jarred awake one night by the trucks putting on their jake brakes coming downhill....The location was really good....the price was excellent. I would stay again and I would recommend it. There is a large convenience store and gas station right across the street. We went early June...which is the off season for the area and a lot of things were still closed. There's a seperate parking area for 1 car next to your cottage...there's a in-ground pool..lots of swings, basketball court, and a firepit for everyone to share. In the busy season...you would probably hear all that noise in your room. The area (the main grounds outside rooms) seems to small to entertain all those activities while also allowing someone who wants to relax and have quiet time in their room to be able to do so without hearing all the noise. The cottages are close together and that was a downside as well. There is a Motel on the grounds with approx. 8 rooms or so. I think there was about 10 cottages all together.

Room Tip: In the back would be quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank geminigirlNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

We have just returned back home after a weekend stay at the Carroll Motel & Cottages. We stayed in cottage #2 and it surpassed our needs and expectations. When we arrived the owner greeted me promptly and checked us in right away. Upon entry to the cottage we found an immaculate cottage. It was very homey and had everything needed for a weekend stay.

They provided all linens and four towels. The cabinets were stocked with plates and glassware. A full size refrigerator, 3 TVs with cable and wifi. However the wifi connection was not the best but that was ok as we enjoyed the area's attractions.

We purchased the rocks estate Christmas tree package with two nights for a very reasonable price. Upon checking into the cottage we were provided a $75 dollar gift certificate for the rocks estate for a tree and a wreath.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Leif G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We have been staying at the Carroll motel for a few years now. Going every year at the same time. The trails are nearby as well as seeing moose on the roadway. We might go back in the summer and enjoy the pool. Can't wait for next year . Thanks

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We loved meeting the owners, the Smiths. We stayed in the "Moose" Room, which was cheerily decorated with Moose pillow cases, various prints and other decorations that went along with the theme. The rooms are spotless, and were obviously renovated not too long ago.
The motel building we stayed in was obviously built in the 60's or 70's, and the rooms and bath are not large. But it had everything we needed a nice flat screen TV, Wifi access, and a small refrigerator. Next time we'll probably rent one of the cottages :-). And, considering we were in the White Mountains during the peak foliage season, I thought the $80 per night was very reasonable. Convenient location close to Mt. Washington, Buttonwood, and Franconia Notch area.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twin Mountain
31.7 km away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
8 km away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
323 reviews
11.8 km away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Carlson's Lodge
Carlson's Lodge
#2 of 6 in Twin Mountain
191 reviews
31.6 km away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
14.8 km away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Motel & Cottages

Address: 73 Route 3 South, Twin Mountain, NH 03595
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Twin Mountain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Twin Mountain
#4 Romantic Hotel in Twin Mountain
Price Range: €55 - €157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer motel rooms & suites each with a unique theme along with one room to 3 bedroom cottages redesigned with country cottage charm. The large family size cottages have kitchens, living rooms & some with gas fireplaces. CCTV, AC, heated pool & large playground with a central location on the northern side of the White Mountains near the fun family attractions in the area. View & choose your accommodations and book online. Hike the Notches. Snowmobile from your door or ski Bretton Woods & Cannon Mountain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carroll Motel & Cottages Hotel Twin Mountain
Carroll Motel And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing