We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
43
9
0
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
9
0
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront porchbritish pubqueen bednew hampshirelovely sitting roombreakfast choicesprivate batheggy breadfrench toasthome away from homegreat place to stayroyal bathtavernhostsmuralsnhpeterborough
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 56 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

This place is very comfortable and has personality! The Royal Bath Suite was great for 2 friends wanting to be together and also have a little separate space for differing routines. The lovely sitting room could also be used as a second bedroom. We had everything we needed- frig, microwave, coffee and tea, comfy beds, big windows, and more.

The breakfasts were delicious and very filling, home cooked by Andrew every morning. We had dinner at the pub twice and loved the food and service. Nick was fun to chat with and both he and Andrew made us feel so at home. My friend who's spent a lot of time in England had to call a British friend to tell her all about it since it was so like the places and people she loves there. I enjoyed getting to taste Bubble and squeak, Eggy Bread and chicken and mushroom pie. It really was a treat to have a warm Toffee bread pudding thing delivered to our rocking chairs on the porch one gorgeous night.

Nick and Andrew really know how to welcome guests and run an inn. We highly recommend this place!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick F, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments about our place. We try very hard making everyone's stay enjoyable, however guests like you make it a whole lot easier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

My wife and I had dinner in the Inn's London Tavern tonight. There were a lot of options on the menu and 3 specials on the board. Check out the menu at their web site. I had the Steak and Ale pie, mashed potatoes, and bubbles and squeaky, (roasted cheese over vegetables) and she had the Shepherds pie with a salad. Everything was very good. Each dish is prepared fresh so expect a 20 or so minute wait. We shared a Gluten Free sponge pudding with Toffee served with homemade Custard. The drink and meal service was very good.

Here is a British Pub in a building that once flew the British flag under British rule.

We found the rustic condition of the tavern and dining room to be quaint, It retains much of its antique charm and hasn't had a upgrade in a while, possible since the major one in 1848. Think Pub, and not white linens and waiters in suits and you will be OK.

We enjoyed our dinner and will be back.

Room Tip: We were there for dinner.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank carly03049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

We chose the Birchwood Inn because of its central location to area flea markets we wanted to visit. Whenever possible, we prefer to stay at a B&B rather than a hotel, and the Birchwood was the perfect choice. The last hour or so on our trip from Connecticut was on a county route, not interstate highway, and we saw beautiful rural landscapes, which set the mood for our first impression of the Birchwood. It’s on a main route in quiet Temple, NH, and served as a stagecoach stop. The present brick structure was probably built around 1800 and has been very thoughtfully renovated to serve the current traveler. It’s an historic property and all changes to the structure can be reversed; even the original windows are in storage and can be replaced. The wide front porch beckons a welcome and provides a charming reading and greeting spot. The owners, Andrew and Nick, UK immigrants, were both warm and professional with delightfully dry sense of English humor.

We stayed in the Cambridge Suite on the second floor, with queen bed and twin-size day bed. All three rooms have a private bath, TV with DVD, Wi-Fi, fridge and Keurig machine. The Brighton and Royal Bath Suites also have a microwave. The bed was comfortable and the day bed, in its own nook, made a sweet, cozy spot to read. Everything, including the bathroom, was meticulously clean.

The only concern I had was the potential noise from the London Tavern downstairs. However, the Tavern offers a fine dining experience rather than a noisy pub encounter, so even the Friday and Saturday nights were quiet. During the day, occasionally a passing vehicle could be heard, and the main sound was the chirping of birds nestled in the surrounding old growth trees.
Breakfast, served 7:30-9:00, included a fresh fruit bowl, juice, coffee or tea, and a choice of egg dishes, Eggy Bread (the English equivalent of French Toast) and bacon or sausage. We thoroughly enjoyed Eggy Bread and tasty cheese omelets.
Take a moment or two to visit the town green across the street, with its monuments to Temple founders and military and maybe another minute at the Revolutionary era Temple Village Cemetery opposite the green. Temple itself, is very relaxing and peaceful, and yet, only 15 minutes away, is the bustling town of Peterborough, with a plethora of restaurants and shops. We had such an enjoyable time, we’re already planning another stay in the fall.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OwnedByCatsInConn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

This place has been a continuous inn since Revolutionary War times but is in tip-top condition, with rockers on the porch and the nicest kinds of B&B furniture, bedding, and accents. We stayed in the suite at the front of the inn, two well-appointed rooms, one with queen bed and one with convertible futon sofabed, both comfortable for sleeping and both rooms with tv and good seating, bathroom with shower at back of queen bed room, well-stocked coffee area between the two rooms. WiFi worked great, easy to use. The village is scenic, and the inn is not far from artsy town of Peterborough and Mount Pack Monadnock, with lots of trails and great vistas from the top, which is reached by a winding road. The included breakfast was generous and all home-cooked, served in quaint tavern on ground floor where we also had a delicious dinner. This was our favorite B&B on a ten day trip in New England.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marty300661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We were in town for a wedding and stayed three nights in this beautiful, historic B&B this past week. From night one, Nick and Andrew made us feel comfortable and kept us very well fed. Best breakfast I have ever had! We regret not having the time to have dinner there, due to wedding related events, because it smelled sooo good. You also know the food is good when you see a packed dining room/tavern nightly. You can tell they take the time to think about the little details to make you feel right at home. The area is quiet, friendly, beautiful and offers lots of charm. Even if you cannot stay there and are near the area, I would highly recommend you to stop in for some great conversation, a drink and some amazing English food. I would recommend this Inn to everyone and anyone. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wildernessexplorers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews