We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
45
9
0
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
9
0
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews queen bed new hampshire british pub front porch breakfast choices private bath french toast eggy bread great place to stay royal bath tavern hosts murals nh peterborough cemetery peeked
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We were in town for a wedding and stayed three nights in this beautiful, historic B&B this past week. From night one, Nick and Andrew made us feel comfortable and kept us very well fed. Best breakfast I have ever had! We regret not having the time to have dinner there, due to wedding related events, because it smelled sooo good. You also know the food is good when you see a packed dining room/tavern nightly. You can tell they take the time to think about the little details to make you feel right at home. The area is quiet, friendly, beautiful and offers lots of charm. Even if you cannot stay there and are near the area, I would highly recommend you to stop in for some great conversation, a drink and some amazing English food. I would recommend this Inn to everyone and anyone. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wildernessexplorers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

This exceptional restaurant is located in rural New Hampshire, but could easily pass for one in Hampshire, England. The menu offers several British dishes including entrees, and several American favorites as well. The owner came by our table as we finished eating and chatted about the history of the old building which has been updated and converted from a private home and his British background.
We come to New Hampshire often, and now that we have found it, we will make the Birchwood Inn one of our favorite restaurants to visit here.

Room Tip: Not a hotel even though it's called an "Inn". It's a restaurant.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

What a beautiful BnB! Large, recently updated room with in room bathroom, king size bed, tastefully decorated in a comfortable, homey fashion. Lavish breakfast prepared and served by our hosts, Nick and Andrew, who looked after every detail of our visit with promptness and a dry, British sense of humor. Book your room, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at the Inn on a Monday night. It was perfect. The gardens were beautiful. The bedroom suite was excellent. Bed and futon very very comfortable. Lots of unique taseful decorating throughout the inn. Loads of beautiful big windows. Close to all area interests. Our hosts were charming. Breakfast was delicious. Will definitely return. Loved the entire experience.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Johanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

This was our 2nd stay at The Birchwood Inn and again, we absolutely enjoyed it. The style and decor suit the authenticity of this historic inn. We love the tavern and the food is absolutely delicious authentic English cuisine....it is cooked and presented by its authentic and charming English hosts, Andrew and Nick...We brought our daughter in for a bite and she was so impressed that she is having Andrew cook the soup for her New England wedding!.... While there, don't forget to linger a while on the front porch for a beautiful and peaceful view of the New England scenery. Also take a walk through the nearby Revolutionary Period cemetery for an appreciation of our American Colonial Period. You will love your stay at this wonderful inn....We did!

Room Tip: Having only 3 guest quarters add to the charm of this inn. The Cambridge Room perfectly suited our needs.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank louannq927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews