We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
341
51
16
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
341
51
16
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white mountains espresso machine new hampshire forest view bette davis dog katie local ingredients main building romantic getaway dining experience cannon mountain gas fireplace front porch b bs each morning sitting area thoroughly enjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights, December 15-17. We chose the owners quarters because we had my older son with us and it’s a 2 bedroom. I can’t say enough good about the in , the owner, Steve, the staff and the accommodations. The rooms were spotless. We stayed warm with a cozy gas fireplace, and had plenty of room to relax and just enjoy our time visiting. Breakfast was different and equally delicious both days. My only wish item would be an opportunity for breakfast later. 9 am is a bit early, but we thoroughly enjoyed it. The bed is the most comfortable bed in the world!!! Thank you for a wonderful stay

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve A, Owner at Sugar Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you Karen for staying with us and being the first to review the Owners Quarters.

If I was planning a romantic getaway I would choose the Owners Quarters. It’s larger than Dream. If your grown son, daughter or maybe your mother-in-law is traveling with you the second bedroom will respect everyone’s privacy. Getting ready for dinner is so easy with his and her bathrooms. If you need a break from restaurant food you even have a complete kitchen.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

We spend 2 nights at the Sugar Hill Inn over Christmas. From the moment we entered the Inn until the day we left, we felt very welcome. The room was very clean and supplied with everything we needed, including a Nespresso machine and wine glasses. Breakfast was fantastic; white table cloth with flowers, beautiful view and the food was delicious. We also ate one night at the Inn and the presentation, quality and overall experience of the 4 course menu was phenomenal. Steve and his wife put a lot of thought and heart into the Inn and you can feel that the moment you enter the place. We will definitely go back to Sugar Hill Inn.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank MCM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve A, Owner at Sugar Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Thanks so much for your awesome review.

We certainly had a White Christmas. The area is so beautiful when covered with snow. Even if you are not a winter sports person come for the beauty of the season. The Ice Castle is now open and worth a visit.

Dining and all the details mentioned in your review are very important us. No one else has in room Nespresso but I know that many of our guests really enjoy that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Tried the inn for a romantic, anniversary get-away. It was all we expected and more. The innkeeper (Steve) put a complimentary bottle of prosecco on ice in our room which was beautifully decorated in antiques. The 2-person tub was spacious and hot water plentiful made better with two candles and two wooden matches. The view of Mt Lafayette and Cannon Mt from our room (Bickford Suite) was breath-taking and despite the -10F outside (for the high) our room was warm and cozy with a gas fireplace/stove to warm it even more. I can’t imagine how the stay could’ve been any nicer.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve A, Owner at Sugar Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

At the Sugar Hill Inn we have 15 unique rooms. As I read our TripAdvisor reviews it is interesting to see that everyone has a favorite. The Bickford is loved for its views, the two person soaking tub, king bed, fireplace and stylish décor. Thank you for staying with us and sharing on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

My husband and I booked a two night pre-holiday escape. I tend to prefer hip and funky over New England charm, but my husband requested a place with a tub for two, and Sugar Hill came up in my search. We were delighted by the Nickerson suite, the tub was lovely and the reading chairs by the fireplace created a great space to read and relax. The owner struck the right balance between the things you want to be quaint (the historical look and feel) and the things you want to be modern (the bathroom). I’ve joked that New Hampshire is a culinary wasteland and was expecting our four course dinner to be good, but I didn’t have high hopes. I was wrong. This was, by far, the best meal I’ve had in New Hampshire! The staff was lovely, passionate but never intrusive. We will be back!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cyborgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve A, Owner at Sugar Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thank you for staying with us and writing a wonderful review. Early in my career I learned an important lesson. Under promise and over deliver.

While every room at the inn is different the Nickerson Suite blends hip, funky, new, and old and charm into a unique package. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

This inn is adorable and charming, with all modern amenities and without any "Victorian fuss". I work the desk at a B&B on Cape Cod so I was delighted with Steve and his wonderful hospitality, and Katie is a great social director.
Our stay was cut short by a crazy out of the blue storm, so we will definitely have to return during the spring. But thank you Sugar Hill Inn to provide a beautiful setting for our first night as an engaged couple.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tanyewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve A, Owner at Sugar Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017
Google Translation

Congratulations on your engagement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews