We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (750)
Filter reviews
750 results
Traveller rating
277
231
117
65
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
231
117
65
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south building indoor pool time share hiking trails full kitchen living room ping pong older building video games hot tub one bedroom unit hilltop restaurant recommend this resort beautiful resort washer dryer hole golf course bike week
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 750 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

From the moment we knew we wanted to get married at Steele Hill, Penny was absolutely amazing! The whole planning experience to the end of the reception was perfect! As a bride you are nervous if the people you trust with your day is going to go right but it couldn’t have gone any better! Penny and kris made the ceremony a breeze and Renee and her team for the reception were exceptional! The food was amazing and the drinks were what we wanted!

The hotel was very clean and the suites were nice! The kids enjoyed the pool and the adults enjoyed the hottub and sauna! I highly highly recommend Steele Hill to stay for a visit and to have a wedding or any special occasion! The view is incredible and you definitely won’t regret it!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank twing97211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We finally got a few days away without our dog and I had wanted to try this resort. We booked for one night and that was more than enough. First, it is off the beaten path - way off. We checked in, no problem - room 40A. There was a Keurig in the lobby. Only after making a cup did I see it was $1.50. The receptionist advised us that the store was closed until further notice and the restaurant closed that day. We had to drive at least 5 miles for dinner. We found a maid who showed us to our room since the buildings have very small signs. After a number of stairs, we got there. The windows were old, broken seals and there were at least 8 ladybugs in our room. The room was in need of updating. We requested another room without stairs. We were given 42c which was better though the furniture definitely showed signs of wear. There was dirt on the back of the bathroom door and shower. We were hesitant to try the pool. The grounds are quite lovely and well maintained. We average 6-10 hotels a year so I feel were are pretty good judges. I would not stay here again.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank KarenI158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob R, General Manager at Steele Hill Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay at Steele Hill Resorts. There is a small fee for the coffee in the lobby, however I hope you were able to enjoy the complimentary coffee that was provided in the room for you.

It looks like your reservation had been booked for a Wednesday overnight and that is the only day the Hilltop Restaurant is closed due to our occupancy during the slower season, but it sounds like you were able to enjoy a meal locally.

I apologize about the broken seal of the window. We had maintenance evaluate the issue the very next morning and I am happy to hear the staff was able to accommodate a room with no stairs that better suited your needs.

Thank you for the positive feedback of the resort’s grounds! Our grounds team work very hard keeping up with the changing of seasons.

We truly hope you will give us another chance in the future, where you will be able to take advantage of our pool and all the other amenities we have to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

My wife and I booked a one-bedroom unit at Steele Hill after considering multiple reviews available here. Overall, the unit was better than often described in other reviews. Yes, the unit is dated and the carpet in particular was worn, but the general condition of the kitchen and bathroom was good and well stocked. The resort provided daily linen service that is above what is typically provided for weekly RCI rental at other properties. Staff was attentive and provided a couple small items we requested quickly and efficiently. The view facing east from the second-floor outside balcony was first-class with spectacular sunrises over nearby Lake Winnisquam and the surrounding hillsides. Occupancy was low this time of year just ahead of leaf-peeping, so not a lot of noise from neighbors. Groceries are available nearby withing 20 minutes or less along with restaurants if you prefer not cooking. We would not hesitate to return to Steele Hill.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
2  Thank F1619KRthomasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

This was our first visit to this resort and I can’t say enough to describe our week. The scenery was absolutely gorgeous. The unit was spacious, clean, well stocked and comfortable. Every employee we had contact with was friendly and very helpful. Absolutely would recommend it to anyone and hope to return one day ourselves.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
1  Thank PRESTON F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

We went in July with our teenage grandchildren and the location is absolutely beautiful with lake and mountain views. The rooms however are tired and old. The cleaning was poor with basically just trash emptied and new towels brought in. The restaurant, which has great views, was terrible. There were only a few people in the restaurant but the service was very slow and the food mediocre.

The staff in the little store and the office were great but the "resort" is in major need of renovation and a good cleaning!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tedann84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob R, General Manager at Steele Hill Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. I am happy you were able to take in the beautiful lake and mountain views with your family during your stay. It sounds like you had some issues with housekeeping and the restaurant experience. I can assure you that we will work to address these points going forward. We are continuously updating and renovating the buildings here at the resort and have taken note of everything that you discussed with our front desk manager after your stay.

I have spoken with our housekeeping manager about the maid service issue and she mentioned that you did discuss the matter directly with the maid service team and they were able to go back to the room at the requested time you provided.

We appreciate your business hope you and your family will return again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews