We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food For A Quick Bite”

Popovers On The Square
Ranked #2 of 11 Quick Bites in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Popovers on the Square is a fast-casual, pleasant café and bakery located in the heart of Portsmouth’s historic and charming Market Square serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. We embrace the European philosophy of fresh and seasonal food, outstanding coffees and wines, exceptional pastries and desserts, and, of course, a relaxing and convivial ambiance from which to enjoy your entire experience. Established in 2006, the name Popovers was chosen to reflect and promote that golden brown, light, and buttery New England staple. We hope Popovers on the Square will become your café, your bakery, and, most importantly, your home-away-from-home when you are looking to relax, eat well, and enjoy family or meet old and new friends.
Reviewed 19 June 2018

I've eaten here several times and I'd recommend stopping buy for a light meal or coffee. The menu works for a brunch without committing to extensive options. Seating space is decent but can often be crowded. Worth checking out!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank B_Finnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

We had the cesar salad and the Market Square salad with steak, both were delicious! The Tomato Mozzarella panini is irresistible. The coffee is real and the chocolate cake with buttercream was also delicious. You can’t go wrong.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank mcyolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

They offer breakfast and lunch but we only had dessert. Lots to options to choose from cookies, cakes, cheesecake, brownies you get the picture... all are amazing!!!! Friendly staff and very inviting seating.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Lbaker3366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Good for a nice place for dessert and coffee! Lots of choices for both. Nice place for a date. Would go again.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Tgrundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

We stopped in for lunch on a sunny, coolish afternoon. There is a patio but we sat inside as the patio was cool in the shade. We enjoyed a Mix and Match lunch of soup and a 1/2 sandwich. We had to clean off our own table on arrival. We noticed others doing this, so we complied with what we thought was the norm. I just think it is bad business to have the customer clean their dining space and it was a bit off-putting. The chowder and Cuban were very good, the Tomato Bisque and Chicken Wrap were really tasty. We enjoyed our meals and cleaned our table thoroughly before departing. Lunch cost about $24 dollars including a tip. You pay before your meal is prepared or I might not have left a tip for the minimal service we received. Overall, we give this place a nod for the quality of the food.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank everydaymartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Popovers On The Square also viewed

 

Been to Popovers On The Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing