We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sangria ever!”
Review of Cafe Mediterraneo

Cafe Mediterraneo
Ranked #30 of 219 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Me and my husband went to this restaurant for dinner a while ago. The sangria was great, can't wait to go back for more. The food was very tasty and delicious. On the expensive side but worth the money :)

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank vacationgirl7969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

Nice atmosphere. Honestly, the restaurant was short on wait staff. Pumpkin espresso martini was good. Food not so much. Italian bread was not authentic very disappointing. Soft white bread like rolls not crusty Italian bread. Had Gnocchi dish. Supposed to have spinach in it. There were 2 pieces. Gnocchi over cooked. Sauce very tart. By the glass wines were brands I know are cheapest and not good quality.
I’d say low mark to average at best. Don’t know where all the 4-5 stars come from, obviously people have never had really good Italian food before. I’m from NJ so we have a very good selection. Maybe NH not so much. Sorry I won’t go back.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank teresamI4193OP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

We had dinner here before the Halloween parade. We each had a specialty cocktail -- he had the bourbon cider manhattan and I had the raspberry margarita, and both were excellent. The chicken piccata and the pasta with marinara sauce were delicious. Love their bread homemade bread dipped in olive oil with a dash of fresh parmesan. Service was great, portions were generous, and prices were very reasonable.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NHjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

love this place. its our go to place in Portsmouth. Great Italian food, great service, and always friendly. brought friends from out of town there, and they loved it. good wine selection and extensive menu plus good list of specials. love their gnocchi dish.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank terrybfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Extremely disappointing experience for dinner with a friend. The food was sub-par, and the waitress was not friendly and borderline condescending when we had questions about the menu and drinks. More importantly, the front desk was rude to people coming in and turned them away when tables were clearly available (so many open tables).

Let's be real folks: this is a lower mid-tier cafe in New Hampshire, not a high end hot spot in New York or LA. Skip the attitude and the nothing-to-write-home-about food. Spend your dollar elsewhere to get better food and most importantly respectful and attentive service.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ElizabethH_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Mediterraneo also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing