We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kra-Tong Thong”
Review of 5 Thai Bistro

5 Thai Bistro
Ranked #6 of 219 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

On our last night in Portsmouth we decided that we wanted Thai food. The best Thai restaurant we have in our city closed months ago and we hadn't had Thai food in quite some time. This totally hit the spot! We ordered kra-tong thong as an appetizer on the recommendation of the server after we asked about it. We wanted to try something different than the typical spring rolls. These were delicious! We would both totally recommend them. We both got the beef Pad See You and I couldn't finish mine. It was a little chilly in the restaurant and my husband stood up to put a sweater on, and I'm convinced that they turned up the heat for us without us even asking. A few minutes, later we could feel warm air. Our server, Song was extremely attentive and very friendly and accommodating. 5 Thai Bistro will be a must for us when we return to Portsmouth.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank FreddyBeachTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2018

we stopped in on a Sunday for lunch and were greatly surprised, very good menu of Thai dished with many options of meat and seafood to add to traditional Thai dished. service was excellent, the food fabulous, and it was reasonable. we all ordered different dishes and no one was disappointed. after years of visiting Portsmouth, and never even thinking about Thai cuisine, we will definitely go back. very clean, small bar, nice tables, quaint atmosphere. were not disappointed.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank terrybfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

We went to the Bistro for a late lunch after a long day walking around town. We were all tired and hungry. We had several food allergies and sensitivities in our small group, but the menu worked. Our dishes were really flavorful. Even the ginger tea received positive comment from the three of us who ordered it.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RHW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Portsmouth has many great restaurants but very few are Thai. The atmosphere is great for a date or for a family meal, but it is not too noise even with a full house. Staff is a mixture of locals and authentic staff. The food was what my wife and I expected, but not as flavorful as we have had in Chicago where there is more competition for this food. Still, this place is working its way up as locals and visitors to Portsmouth still fill the place on Fridays.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

We've eaten here quite often. This time around, I had the house Mai Tai (great!) and the shrimp dumpling appetizer special, which was delicious. The prices are a bit high, but the restaurant's only a few yards from Market Square, so it's no surprise. The food is always fresh and delicious, great quality. Service is always extremely friendly and competent. The interior is decorated nicely, with large windows facing Pleasant Street.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NHjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 5 Thai Bistro also viewed

 

Been to 5 Thai Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing