We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Will Sleep When I Get Home” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Common Man Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Common Man Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Will Sleep When I Get Home”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

The Common Man Inn is a very nice, rustic Inn. There is a bit too much going on in the lobby and on the walls for my taste but to each is own. The room was nice and comfortable. Good size, mattresses are showing some wear but the most disappointing aspect was the noise! Day, night, morning it didn't matter, there were dance classes for elephants going on above us the whole time we were there. Our room number was 225, so if you have a reservation, I highly suggest requesting a room far from 225. The Inn has no sound proofing at all, I am guessing it is the drop ceilings thru out. Sound travels above that type of ceiling. Needless to say, I went home and got some sleep there. So, I recommend the Spa, and the Inn, just request the room away from the dance classes for extremely large animals.

Room Tip: Stay far from 225, or any room with a level above it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, General Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
We are so sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay in room 225; it is one of our most requested standard two queen bedded room. I apologize for the noise above, we do have some one on the front desk 24 hours, so please feel free to call and we will take of the situation.
Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you in the futrue at the Inn, we promise a restful night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    84
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
91
100
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

I went to the Common Man for a wedding and loved it! The room was a great size and very clean and comfortable. I loved the rustic vibe of the hotel and it made for a very beautiful fall wedding.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Inn & Spa.
Fall weddings are our favorite; the charm of the restored old mill and the rustic decor are the perfect back drop to a fall wedding at the Inn.
We hope you will visit us again in the near future and thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoosier in jersey
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We have made several trips to The Common Man over the past few years. It has begun to feel like home. The rooms are interesting and cozy. Many have fireplaces and comfortable sofas and chairs. Beds are clean and comfortable, and rooms are quiet. Staff is always friendly and helpful. Two negatives would be the price is a little high, especially on weekends and it is time to upgrade to HD televisions. We always enjoy our visits to the Common Man. Take the time to look at the old local photos adorning the walls.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happynest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you for your review, it is such a compliment to be compared to 'home', this is what we strive for!
Weekends are a busy time for us; however we do offer some great specials mid week.
We are in the process of upgrading our televisions, so hopefully there will be a new one awaiting your next arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

A really quaint place to stay. This hotel is a must stay if you are in the area. You definitely get a "warm and cozy" feeling while at this hotel. The lobby is like no other, quaint and rustic just don't seem to give justice to this place. Stayed in a large room with a gas fireplace that turned on as soon as I opened the door - nice touch! Was only there for a one night stay for business but look forward to going back. Nice bar and good food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steaks73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Thank you for your review, 'warm & cozy', two of our favorite words!
We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
269 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We have stayed at this inn at least six times over the years and it's one of our favourite places to stay in the States. As far as I remember it is a converted mill and they have made a very good job of it. It is nice to stay somewhere with character rather than the usual run of the mill motels.

It is cosy with various comfortable places to sit with open fires. There's also draughts and other board games provided. The rooms are very nice and decorated in a country style.

We love the swimming pool which was a lovely temperature and the two hot tubs. While we were there we also had a facial back massage in the spa which was great.

We did not eat there although the menu looked good as we always go to the Italian Farmhouse which is under the same ownership., We did however have a drink in the lower level of the bar by a lovely open fire.

We always love seeing Fletcher (the resident cat) and were delighted that he is New Hampshire cat of the year! He really is a character and adds to the atmosphere of the inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biggles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Manager at Common Man Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Thank you for your kind words.
It is so nice to read how you enjoyed all of the amenities that we provide at the Inn & Spa and that you were able to enjoy one of our restaurants.
Thank you for your kind words, Fletcher thanks you as well!
Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
3.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
0.6 km away
Econo Lodge Near Plymouth State University
19.8 km away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
#3 of 10 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
8.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
29.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Common Man Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Common Man Inn & Spa

Property: Common Man Inn & Spa
Address: 231 Main St, Plymouth, NH 03264-1524
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Common Man Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Common Man Inn is a cozy 37 room inn offering spacious yet cozy rooms, available with fireplaces, decks, jacuzzis and cable TV. High speed internet available in all rooms and Wi-Fi access in our lobby. Full service Foster's Boiler Room restaurant on site as well as a full service spa. Event rooms for weddings and meetings, up to 200 guests. Come on Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Common Man Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Common Man Inn And Spa
Common Man Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing