We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
214
50
12
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
214
50
12
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sleigh ride homemade muffins every morning new england cathedral ledge breakfast was delicious cookies echo lake spent nights french toast gas fireplace b bs hot chocolate close to town both mornings brownie we've stayed
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

We stopped here while exploring New England. Charlene and Richard are welcoming and informative. The home is lovely and decorated to period. The grounds are beautiful and fun to explore. Our room was comfortable with a nice bathroom. This was a lovely place that I wish I could stay longer.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kyurchak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

It was cozy and homey. Rick and Charlene are sweet and welcoming. The setting and property are amazing and of course so are the horses. Highly recommend a trail ride. It is a beautiful way to way to start your morning! So much to do in the area as well.

Room Tip: We had the suite with a king in 1 room and a queen and twin in the other-bathroom in between. Clean and plenty of room.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jlfceb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed overnight as part of our wedding anniversary and really enjoyed our stay. From a heartfelt reception, to quite a few nice conversations with the inn keepers, Rick and Charlene, but also with the other guests. The room was comfortable and homey. (The bathroom was very small in our room, but very clean!)
Breakfast was great and of good quality! We went horse back riding in the morning, and had a blast!
The grounds are stunning!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank haffabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

There are places you say to yourself, I would come back and then there are places that you want to. This is that place, after a wonderful weekend with my family, we have nothing but great things to say about the folks at Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast.

Truly a gem out of time, but with modern conveniences,this was the first bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at and again the folks here made the experience. They all were extremely nice and helpful. The owners have been running the property for over 25years and it has been in Ricks family for a long time.

Really, I could go on about all the little things that make this place special, but the main attraction for us was the Horseback riding right on the property directly in the back of the main house. Fortunately, we had the Notch Room with our own private deck on the first floor. We were able to wake in the morning with a view of on of the near by mountains, and the horses in the field, a small gas fire place also warmed us and provided that extra ambiance. My family and I all went horse back riding the first day, and my son continued to ride the next two days as well. As guests we were afford a discount rate for riding and while staying in the Notch room we were able to see our son come and go from his riding trips.

Again, great family atmosphere, it was like all of the workers and guest had been friends forever, truly a great place that makes you feel welcome from the first moment you arrive.

We will see you soon, and again thank you.

Sincerely,

Michael and Laura Cella

Room Tip: Many different rooms are available as well a cottage if you have a large family.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelacella4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We really enjoyed our weekend stay at the Farm by the River. It is easy to find (although the sign comes up on your quickly so pay attention!). It's right around the corner from the main street North Conway so a great location.

The bottom floor is very sweet, lots of antiques, photos, couches, etc. They have a sweet little Weimaraner, Heidi, walking around. The stairs are quite steep to the second floor and there is no elevator. That doesn't bother us but bear in mind if you have mobility troubles.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. They are in need of some updating. Lots of peeling wallpaper, some staining, etc. The bed was not super comfortable as we thought it was quite hard but not that big a deal.

We had breakfast in the morning and we were pleased with it. Juice, coffee, fruit, bread, meat, what else could you need? They also have delicious treats out in the afternoon, cookies, brownies, and the like.

We also took one of their trail rides. The hoses, and the guides, are awesome. Some really pretty mountain and river views. I'm a slightly more advanced rider so I did get a little bored just walking (there is no trotting) but that's no ones fault, of course.

Overall, a nice place to stay. Great packages offered. Would recommend for a family.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews