We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple rooms; good value if on a budget.”
Review of School House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
School House Motel
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Rooms were small & old fashioned decor, but cute w/matching curtains/bedspread. Nice views of White Mtns. from rear window in room. Had fridge, no microwave. New flatscreen tvs but no matching remote control & was disappointed could not turn on the closed captions for a relaxing evening of TV. No continental breakfast but coffee served in lobby. Friendly proprietor.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingCAgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

Good morning,
First , thank you for taking the time to review my little motel. Good description of my property. One of the reasons we never put a microwave in the rooms is that I noticed some rooms with cooking facilities attracts little critters, (ants) when we travel. We do have a microwave in the office to reheat food, if you had leftovers. I wish you would of asked me to put on closed captions on for you. When we put the original remotes in the room this year, we had such a problem with people changing all the setting , that we bought cheap non-confusing remotes. It was good investment. Have a great day, and I hope you had a good vacation in the White Mountains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2016

The motel is right on Route 16, which is a busy and noisy roadway. Tarrfic continually going by. The room was very clean and the owner was very friendly. The only thing I didn't care about this place was the very fact that its right on the busy roadway.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank Kathyaconley62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel. You were also very pleasant. I'm sorry the traffic disturbed you. The steel doors my husband installed 5 years ago cut the traffic noise by half. We really can't do much more . Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We stayed two nights here while doing a fall foliage tour through New England. It's not a luxury motel, but the people are fantastic and the service is great. From here we were able to make an easy day trip to Mt. Washington Cog Railway, Alpine Adventures zip lining, play in streams, and visit covered bridges. It's a great location!

My only minor complaint is that the free wi-fi doesn't reach the cabins the farthest away from the office... We survived for two days.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DLHTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2016

First, thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We live in a beautiful area.
I'm glad you had a great vacation. Come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We stayed here for an impromptu weekend trip on our motorcycle. We were a little nervous, as it seemed to be one of the last places in the state remaining with any vacancies. It was nothing fancy (nor did we expect it to be), but it was a nice, small, clean room, with parking right in front of your room. The location was good (about a mile from the "heart" of North Conway). The lady who checked us in was very friendly. Everything worked without issue (lights, fridge, AC, wifi), and there was coffee and ice water provided in the lobby in the morning. Definitely "no frills" - small room, smallish bed, small bathroom, but worth the price. No complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdse_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Thank you for the nice review and taking the time to write one. Please come again. have a good weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We stayed for the weekend and when i was searching so many of the hotels were priced very high since it was the peak of tourist season. This was the cheapest one i found, so of course i worried about the quality. When we first arrived for check in we were greeted so warmly by Eva (i believe that was her name) and she was so friendly and gave me great advise on where to dine. The room though small was very clean and nicely kept. Had a nice flat screen tv and just over all cozy. The location was right in the middle of everything we wanted so that was perfect. When i would go to get coffee in the mornings the gentlemen running the desk was very friendly also. The pool looked great and clean, we did not go in because it rained but otherwise would have! couldn't say enough nice things about this place, and will be staying here again when we return!

Room Tip: they had small rooms perfect for cabins and cottages too for families :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank newhorizon124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Good morning to you,
You have made my day. Come this time of year, we are tired ,since we are here 13 hours per day, 7 days per week. (My husband and I) We always appreciate when our customer take the time to review their stay. We are proud of our little Motel and we always hoped it showed. Thank you again and come again soon. Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.2 km away
Forest Glen Inn
Forest Glen Inn
#16 of 25 in North Conway
94 reviews
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
681 reviews
0.5 km away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#14 of 25 in North Conway
463 reviews
0.8 km away
Fox Ridge Resort
Fox Ridge Resort
#12 of 25 in North Conway
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to School House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School House Motel

Address: 2152 White Mountain Hwy, Rt16/302, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5148
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Price Range: €59 - €87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — School House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, clean, family run motel featuring great views at great prices. Centrally located between downtown and the tax-free shopping outlets. Most rooms with 1 queen, or 2 twins for the same price and also 4 bigger rooms with 2 doubles available at a higher rate. Complimentary coffee in office mornings, Cable TV, A/C, heat, wireless internet, and small refridgerators in all rooms. Front door parking at motel and cottages. Sorry , we are not pet friendly. All non-smoking rooms,(outside OK.) Office open from 8AM-9PM daily. For our neighbors from the north the lady of the house speaks French also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your School House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing