We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couldn't have been happier!!”
Review of School House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
School House Motel
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We stayed for the weekend and when i was searching so many of the hotels were priced very high since it was the peak of tourist season. This was the cheapest one i found, so of course i worried about the quality. When we first arrived for check in we were greeted so warmly by Eva (i believe that was her name) and she was so friendly and gave me great advise on where to dine. The room though small was very clean and nicely kept. Had a nice flat screen tv and just over all cozy. The location was right in the middle of everything we wanted so that was perfect. When i would go to get coffee in the mornings the gentlemen running the desk was very friendly also. The pool looked great and clean, we did not go in because it rained but otherwise would have! couldn't say enough nice things about this place, and will be staying here again when we return!

Room Tip: they had small rooms perfect for cabins and cottages too for families :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank newhorizon124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Good morning to you,
You have made my day. Come this time of year, we are tired ,since we are here 13 hours per day, 7 days per week. (My husband and I) We always appreciate when our customer take the time to review their stay. We are proud of our little Motel and we always hoped it showed. Thank you again and come again soon. Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2016

A nice little motel along the way-- Not far from Mt. Washington, and the Cog Railway. They had a swimming pool with pool towels if you forgot to bring one. Small but comfortable rooms, free wifi and satellite tv.
Good value for the money

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Rudolfo699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolhouse20, Manager at School House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We work very hard to keep our 25 room motel , clean and comfortable. Hope you enjoyed the Mt. Washington Valley and all the beauty, while you were here. Come back again. Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Friendly owner, clean room, good bed and TV. There is a pool which we are paying in the price of the room and we want always a motel with a pool because it gets really hot in the Whites mountains in the summer. However, this pool is a great disappointment because of it's condition and the poor maintenance. The water is questionable because algae grows at the bottom and on the side. The lining in in great need of a replacement.
After a long day riding the mountains roads, you are better off hitting the shower instead of the pool. We went to this motel many times but unfortunately I am not if we would want to go back since the offers from other motels are very interesting.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALAIN b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Good day,
First, thank you for taking the time to write a review. As I write this I can see 2 families and 2 couples at the pool. Some in the water. The pool has had it's workout this summer. My husband works very hard to keep the chemicals balanced and safe for everyone. This is a public pool. It is crystal clear, so you can see some algae sediment if no one is stirring it up. When it is in full use, all you see is crystal clear water. The temperature and use determine how the water will react. I tried to post the pictures , so no one would think I have a cesspool pool. It is beautiful and clean as possible with all it's daily use June-Sept. Bugs, sand , algae, pollen is impossible to predict. As for the lining, we replaced it for lots of money 11 years ago. Since then , we have seen or figured out customers, mostly kids love to pull the liner away from the beading top. It is not ripped or leaking anywhere. We follow all state requirements. For the few weeks it is opened and used heavily, we can't justify the expense again. This year we put in flatscreen TV's and hand painted both wings of the motel ourselves. Sorry you were so disappointed with the swimming pool. First complaint ever about my pool. Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

No complaints here room was clean
small shower but enough for what was needed bed sheets were clean had fridge in room out door pool looked clean we didn't get to try it cause it was cold grounds were clean
Front desk woman was pleasant at check in.
Would stay their again.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank hmaciel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Motel. I'm always happy to hear from customers. Out most reasonable priced rooms have a small showerstall bathrooms. We have bigger bathrooms in other rooms for just a little more. Please come back again. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

I wanted to give 5 stars, but the bed was horrible in room 23. I struggled to sleep, and got up in the morning with a very sore back. The internet barely reached that room so Wi-Fi was spotty at best. Everything else was good. A nice hot shower, plenty of water pressure, clean, convenient location, and the price was reasonable. Replace the bed and install a WiFi repeater for the outer rooms and I'd come again and give 5 stars. As it stands though, I won't go back.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the office have better Wi-Fi. Ask if the beds have been replaced recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Sorry for the delayed response. I love feedback , good and bad. I am sorry about your bad night. Wifi is free and sometimes is great and other times not so much. I have slow service that is pricey. The more users the worst the connection. Your the first to complain about the beds comfort though. I am sorry you had a bad nights sleep.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.2 km away
Forest Glen Inn
Forest Glen Inn
#16 of 25 in North Conway
94 reviews
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
683 reviews
0.5 km away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#14 of 25 in North Conway
464 reviews
0.8 km away
Fox Ridge Resort
Fox Ridge Resort
#12 of 25 in North Conway
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to School House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School House Motel

Address: 2152 White Mountain Hwy, Rt16/302, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5148
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Price Range: €59 - €87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — School House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, clean, family run motel featuring great views at great prices. Centrally located between downtown and the tax-free shopping outlets. Most rooms with 1 queen, or 2 twins for the same price and also 4 bigger rooms with 2 doubles available at a higher rate. Complimentary coffee in office mornings, Cable TV, A/C, heat, wireless internet, and small refridgerators in all rooms. Front door parking at motel and cottages. Sorry , we are not pet friendly. All non-smoking rooms,(outside OK.) Office open from 8AM-9PM daily. For our neighbors from the north the lady of the house speaks French also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your School House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing