We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most uncomfortable bed, and poor Internet access.”
Review of School House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
School House Motel
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Reviewed 21 March 2016

I wanted to give 5 stars, but the bed was horrible in room 23. I struggled to sleep, and got up in the morning with a very sore back. The internet barely reached that room so Wi-Fi was spotty at best. Everything else was good. A nice hot shower, plenty of water pressure, clean, convenient location, and the price was reasonable. Replace the bed and install a WiFi repeater for the outer rooms and I'd come again and give 5 stars. As it stands though, I won't go back.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the office have better Wi-Fi. Ask if the beds have been replaced recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Sorry for the delayed response. I love feedback , good and bad. I am sorry about your bad night. Wifi is free and sometimes is great and other times not so much. I have slow service that is pricey. The more users the worst the connection. Your the first to complain about the beds comfort though. I am sorry you had a bad nights sleep.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised of this sweet motel. It is right on Rt 16. Clean room, hot water, hair dryer, soaps etc. real tile in the bathroom.
comfy beds, nice view , the hostess was so nice and friendly. Hot coffee in the lobby. Thank you! Will definitely stay again.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Ellenor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Thank you for the great review. I appreciate you taking the time write one. We love hearing from our customers. Have a nice day. sorry for the late reponce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Friendly owners Staff, location A plus
on Rte 16 close to everything you'll need, shopping, food, skiing, outlets, etc.
we always look forward to our stays in North Conway
in the middle of outlet stores, and down Town North Conway
easy in and out for all seasons, best view is the back windows

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarryandChrisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2015

Have stayed at this motel a few times and Eva and her husband are very hospitable and keep the prices low for all to be able to enjoy. They are such great people and I always enjoy spending locally, especially at a small mom and pop type place. The rooms are average and have all the basics. If you just need a place to rest your head for an evening or 2, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same in one long strip, but the end rooms are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2015

Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are proud of our little older motel. We try hard to make everyone's mountain getaway pleasant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015

My husband and I stopped into the School House Motel because it didn't look quite as expensive as others we had driven by...we were wrong. We paid premium rate after the Columbus Day weekend, not sure what the rate would have been prior to that because I would have thought it our visit would have been "off season". The room was clean and adequate but would have expected more for the cost. No coffee pot or microwave in the room but there was wireless once I went to the office to get the password, (nothing in the room to indicate what it was) Next time we might shop around a little

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Estella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schoolhouse20, Owner at School House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2015

Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to review are motel. The internet username and password for the internet is on every exit door . Maybe someone had taken the note. We don't have coffee or microwaves in rooms so little critters don't come around. We do have all of the above in the office.
The prices vary by season and foliage is the highest of the year. Sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.2 km away
Forest Glen Inn
Forest Glen Inn
#16 of 25 in North Conway
94 reviews
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
679 reviews
0.5 km away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#14 of 25 in North Conway
463 reviews
0.8 km away
Fox Ridge Resort
Fox Ridge Resort
#12 of 25 in North Conway
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to School House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School House Motel

Address: 2152 White Mountain Hwy, Rt16/302, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5148
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Price Range: €59 - €87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — School House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, clean, family run motel featuring great views at great prices. Centrally located between downtown and the tax-free shopping outlets. Most rooms with 1 queen, or 2 twins for the same price and also 4 bigger rooms with 2 doubles available at a higher rate. Complimentary coffee in office mornings, Cable TV, A/C, heat, wireless internet, and small refridgerators in all rooms. Front door parking at motel and cottages. Sorry , we are not pet friendly. All non-smoking rooms,(outside OK.) Office open from 8AM-9PM daily. For our neighbors from the north the lady of the house speaks French also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your School House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing