We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“seems overpriced. Best free breakfast ever!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunapee Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Sunapee
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“seems overpriced. Best free breakfast ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Pros:
Rooms were spacious and nice
Guest laundry
Staff was fantastic.
Best complimentary breakfast ever, made by a sweet little lady who obviously loves her job.
Cons:
The bathroom hadn't been adequately cleaned and the toilet smelled.
Too expensive for what you get.
Noisy
Couldnt get a/c to cool down room.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazypinklizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    43
    22
    19
    23
See reviews for
50
33
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

The state of the room was disgraceful. A crusty, used facecloth was hanging from the shower curtain rod when we arrived. The shower curtain smelled so bad that I was afraid to touch it. We stayed 2 nights and between the first and second night, housekeeping made our beds but did little else -- did not even empty our coffee pot or remove our used coffee cups. We found someone else's dirty underwear under our bed. I cannot believe how much we paid to stay at this hotel with those housekeeping standards.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moonage235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mount Sunapee hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
boston, ma
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at this resort for 2 nights to visit the area. It's a terrific location for travel to Mt Sunapee and the downtown area. We booked a room with 2 king beds and reserved a cot to accommodate our 3 kids, but since they are young they all shared the king! We ended up cancelling the cot. In planning the trip, I researched the more expensive Mountain Edge Resort, Dexters Inn, and this hotel. Dexters was similar in price, and Mountain Edge was almost double. For the money and the time spent in the hotel, staying at the BW was the perfect decision. The BW has an indoor pool that's more than adequate. It was on the cooler side, but the kids didn't mind at all. There is a wide 3 step entrance to the pool and a deeper end. During our stay, it rained half the time so having the pool before dinner and in the am before checkout was fantastic. Such a great decision. (Dexters has an outdoor pool so we would have been in trouble).
There's a restaurant that shares the parking lot with the BW and to be frank, it looked very "franchise" so we were hesitant that the food would be good. Fantastic again! It's not tuna tartare but it's great pub food, with huge portions, and very very family oriented. Our meal was about $60 total including grown up drinks :) and more than enough good food. And walking distance!

I peeked into the workout room and there were only 3 machines and no free weights in case you are hoping to work out it's minimal.

Breakfast was fantastic given that it was included. A wonderful server, Beth, makes made to order eggs and omelets- I had a delicious egg white omelet with veggies- and homeade belgium waffles. Plus cereals, breads, egg sandwiches, etc. and great coffee. We were stuffed. Note: please tip the staff that works in breakfast area, as they are so helpful and depend on some tips. I didn't realize until I went back for coffee later and quickly left a $5. They do the set up , cook, and clean up. We got there around 7:30 and the place was pretty empty.

Overall we would HIGHLY recommend this hotel for the value, convenience, activities, and family friendly side. We noted as we checked out that our cot charge was never deleted and the front desk took care of it right away without question. The manager, who had been there for 3 weeks, introduced himself and seemed to be quite involved in the hotel already so they might have already made improvements. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: If you have children, book the rooms on the bottom floor near the pool for easy access to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisalou216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south casco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

traveling a lot in new england this is definitely a lot better than some mom and pop establishments. Those giving bad reviews just haven't been around enough!!

Great omelettte for breakfast - thanx

Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mooosepoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

When you are skiing at Mount Sunapee and want to stay close you have two choices here or at their upscale timeshare (Mountain Edge Resort) across the street. Without the location this place could not charge more than $50/night but because it is so close to the mountain they can charge a lot more. The only pro about this hotel is how close it is to Sunapee and the free shuttle they run there continually throughout the day. This Best Western is really run down and although they have been completing renovations over the past several years our room showed no improvement. If you do not expect more than you would find at a cheap motel you will be happy here. If Holiday Inn Express is the lowest quality of hotel you can tolerate then stay at the Mountain Edge Resort because this place is not up to that standard.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keldes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Sunapee
0.2 km away
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
0.4 km away
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
10.5 km away
The New London Inn
The New London Inn
#2 of 6 in New London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
12.9 km away
Inn at Pleasant Lake
Inn at Pleasant Lake
#1 of 6 in New London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
3.8 km away
Dexter's Inn
Dexter's Inn
#1 of 3 in Sunapee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunapee Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunapee Lake Lodge

Property: Sunapee Lake Lodge
Address: 1403 Route 103, Mount Sunapee, NH 03255-5952 (Formerly Best Western Sunapee Lake Lodge)
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Mount Sunapee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Sunapee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunapee Lake Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Sunapee Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunapee Lake Hotel Mount Sunapee
Mount Sunapee Best Western
Best Western Mount Sunapee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing