We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wanted to love it...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kevin's Cafe - CLOSED

Kevin's Cafe
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wanted to love it...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stopped in to check the place out for catering and tried some things off the regular menu. My salmon was undercooked and I ended up getting sick. But my husband liked what he had, and the owner was incredibly nice. The place got great recommendations from others, so perhaps it was just an off day...

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank katiegumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meredith, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food, but untrained wait staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Our party of six adults had a special occasion dinner at Kevin's. We ordered a variety of seafood dishes, which were all outstanding. The service however was abominable. I can only hope that the waitress was a substitute and that our next experience will be much better as we will certainly try Kevin's again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trailergypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“out of the way but worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

We stopped for lunch a Kevin's on the recommendation of a local. Seafood is Kevin's specialty. Everything that we had was fresh, tasty and the portion size was great. Lunch menu items ranged from $6 to $16. The cafe is also open for breakfast and dinner.

Bisque and chowder were great. We also had the crab cake with salad and the mahi fish sandwich with fries. Everything was great.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank simpme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

I went here with my husband and daughter in August 2010 with her family (husband and children 5 1/2 and 7 1/2). We all loved it!

The seafood is all very fresh. My daughter and I had lobster, which was the sweetest I have had all summer. My husband and grandson had shrimp scampi, which they both raved about. My only regret is that we did not order the crabcakes, which are a specialty.

The service was incredible. Our waitress kept checking on us, and was as friendly as could be.

The place is short on atmosphere, but fantastic on every other level. If you are in the area, this is a must.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gmaofphj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenmore, Washington
Level Contributor
262 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Adequate with Great Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

Our servers (we went twice) were very attentive. In cold weather you get a chill each time the door is opened. The atmosphere is average but the place is clean, including the restrooms. The food is not special and I don't know how much is really homemade, but nothing was overdone and the corned beef hash was actually pretty good and the eggs were perfectly prepared. Dinner was less interesting, but again, it hit the spot on a cold night.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kevin's Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing