We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballard House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballard House Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Meredith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed at the Ballard House to search for an area in the lakes region of NH for retirement. If all of the NH people are as warm and friendly as Don and Michelle then we have made a great decision to retire in that area. The inn was immaculate and the view was fantastic. Don even called his sister to get a phone number we were looking for that wasn't listed anywhere. Don also called a friend of his to see if he could give my husband a tour of the local airport and possibly a flight in the same type plane my husband is building. We also had delightful conversations with the other guests while enjoying the delicious breakfasts. We will definately go back as we continue our search for the perfect retirement home.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
253
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Owners Don and Michelle provided us with a pleasurable experience. We stayed two nights, which meant we enjoyed two delicious breakfasts at their welcoming table. Our room was immaculate and beautifully decorated. The bed was extremely comfortable. I enjoyed reading on the rear of the wrap around porch, the view from which is amazing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDonovanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We spent three great nights at the Ballard House Inn. The food was scrumptious, the accommodations were comfortable, and the owners were gracious.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WooperTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Ballard House Inn. The room was clean and comfortable, newly renovated. The hosts were friendly and gave us excellent dinner suggestions. The inn is on a road that has some traffic, though we were not disturbed by the noise. Breakfast was very good. Location is central. We would recommend the inn to friends who wanted a clean, comfortable place to stay in Meredith.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyandFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

My husband and I were thrilled with our stay in the Winnisquam Room at the Ballard House Inn. The Inn itself is so beautifully restored and in such a prime location in the Lakes Region. But what makes this place truly special are Don and Michelle--what incredible hosts. They were so accommodating, it really felt like we were staying with family. I did a lot of research before deciding to book our stay at the Ballard House and I have to say that the web site did not oversell. I cannot imagine a better place for our stay in the region! When we do make it out that way again, we will definitely stay at the Ballard House Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meredith
2.2 km away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
2.5 km away
Mill Falls at the Lake
Mill Falls at the Lake
#2 of 3 in Meredith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
23.5 km away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
2.6 km away
The Tuckernuck Inn
The Tuckernuck Inn
#3 of 6 in Meredith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
12.9 km away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballard House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballard House Inn

Property: Ballard House Inn
Address: 53 Parade Rd, Meredith, NH 03253-5400
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Meredith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Meredith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballard House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your reason may be for staying in Meredith, NH, The Ballard House Inn offers a serene and picturesque backdrop for your home away from home. We are just minutes from Lake Winnipesaukee, downtown Meredith,and centrally located in the heart of the beautiful Lakes Region. The Inn is also bordered by 178 acres of town owned recreational land consisting of beautiful hiking trails, walking paths, small ponds, and plenty of wildlife. Our guests often mention the setting at the Inn is so private and serene yet close to so many fabulous restaurants and shops of the Lakes Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Ballard House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing