We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place for a Special Occasion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanover Street Chophouse

Hanover Street Chophouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Hanover Street Chophouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 396 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$55
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Pine Street
Description: We are committed to serving food that will be creative, yet “classic,” service that will be impeccable but not intimidating, in an ambiance that will be elegant, yet comfortable and inviting, ensuring a dining experience that will be extraordinary and memorable!
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Special Occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is definitely a place to go when you want to celebrate a special event like a birthday, anniversary, etc. the food is top-drawer, although not cheap, but it is a special occasion, isn't it? I've always gotten the filet and found it to be cooked to perfection and my wife has always enjoyed the lobster.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fred E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    59
    29
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“As good a steak house as you can find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Been to great steak houses around the country and the Chop House is as good as any I've been

Helpful?
1 Thank MarkO1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
210 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Trying a little too hard to be a Chicago/NYC Chop House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Food was very good and ample portion size. Service was excellent and diverse crowd.

Helpful?
Thank tarynpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
351 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
“YOU DON'T HAVE TO GO FOR DINNER - THEY HAVE AFFORDABLE LUNCH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

****PLEASE CLICK THAT YOU FOUND MY REVIEW HELPFUL IF YOU FEEL IT WAS***

______________________________________________________________

This restaurant was extremely nice inside. I thought the ambiance was both upscale and business friendly. It could be also romantic but I was visiting during lunch.

The food was outstanding. I had a small 6 oz sirloin which was excellent. It was PERFECTLY cooked which is very rare. The soup was amazing. The had an enourmous selection of wine and a full bar. The bar however does not open until 4 though you could order drinks.

The lunch cost $40 including 2 soups, and two wonderful lunch entrees.

The service was great, our waiter was a pro.

They had very nice function rooms downstairs that I would absolutely book for small elegant affairs.

The only single downside I could find is that it is a long walk downstairs to the bathroom.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank snmurphy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant - you have to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Absolutely fabulous restaurant, service very attentive and food to die for! The steaks cut like butter and were the best I had tasted in a long time. Wine served at perfect temperature too - highly recommend this establishment on all counts

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank DAISYBOO17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hanover Street Chophouse also viewed

 

Been to Hanover Street Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing