We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
18
8
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
8
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free wifi new owners stayed here clark's trading post the river microwave amenities beds lobby nh
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

WOW!!!!! What a exceptional local motel. Read previous reviews and needed a second night in area, so stopped here early, Owner was cleaning rooms and allowed us to check king rooms. We were amazed at the cleanliness and booked immediately. The best was yet to come, the most comfortable bed we've experienced on the road ever. Owners have updated bedding and certainly have done it right. This is a great smaller motel with the owners trying to do it right and being successful.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nhlefty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim W, Owner at White Mountain Motel and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thanks "nhlefty". It is nice to be recognized for our efforts. Truth is, we will never be done updating, but it will always continue getting better and better as long as we are here. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here this weekend and everything has been perfect. We were met with a smile and very friendly service and recommendations on where to eat locally. Our cottage #1 Is huge!!! And all the amenities of home. Clean washroom and small but functional kitchen. We were missing nothing. The room was cleaned very early each day. We even forgot something one morning and turned around and came back after an hour and the room was completely cleaned. The motel and cottages are in a great location and just a very quick drive to Woodstock or Lincoln. Our stay was Awesome!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Claude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim W, Owner at White Mountain Motel and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience Claude. We really appreciate your kind words and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

We were nervous. We hadn’t stayed here before and were hoping we wouldn’t be disappointed. And then we met the owner. What a great guy! He’s very welcoming, personable and seems genuinely invested in guests enjoying their stay. We arrived a bit early but our room was ready, so we were allowed to check in. Our room boasted a king bed (a new update to the motel) and perhaps the cleanest shower I’ve EVER experienced away from home. It gleams!! The room smelled bleachy clean and it was spacious, quiet and comfortable. Yes, it is dated but these folks haven’t owned it long and are in the process of updating. I will say that even though the carpet looked old fashioned, it was as clean as if it was brand new, lol. There’s also a fridge, microwave and in-room coffee maker. My only suggestion to the owners would be to see if they can get a better quality of coffee; morning coffee is a big deal. We did not partake of the breakfast offered in the lobby so I can’t comment on that.
All in all, this is a clean, quiet, affordable place to stay with friendly and welcoming owners. We would absolutely stay again!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank pgriffin710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim W, Owner at White Mountain Motel and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thanks Patricia. Very nice of you to write such a glowing review. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

The photos don't do this location justice. It is clean with updated flooring and bedding. Rooms are quiet and comfortable. The lobby has complimentary cocoa and cider and maps/brochures for local activities. The owner of the motel has some great suggestions as well; a very nice man who genuinely hopes you have a good time and wants to help.

The location is only a few minutes away from food options, bars, hiking trails, and more. I'm looking forward to visiting in the summer for more hiking!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ashley1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim W, Owner at White Mountain Motel and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thanks Ashley. We appreciate your review, and will get to work on updating all the photos on all the internet sites where one can find our motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Our first night in NH was in Cottage 4.

The fridge and microwave are in the common area along with a bed.

This would be the kid's room since big people will walk through it.
Both rooms have a door to go to the bathroom.

We used the rule that if the bathroom light is on...someone is in there.

We went ahead and let our teen have the private bedroom and we stayed in the common area.
BUT! What kind of bed was in there?
I have scoliosis and that was the best dog-gone bed I have ever slept on!!!

It was a good room for our snow vacation.

Enjoy Cottage 4!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jjsemail759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim W, Owner at White Mountain Motel and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you for such a great (and entertaining) review! We are glad you enjoyed it, and we really appreciate you sharing the positive experience with others. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews