We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (829)
Filter reviews
829 results
Traveller rating
324
247
130
57
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
247
130
57
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar across the street indoor pool main building harry potter hot buffet recommend this resort lakeside building continental breakfast hot tub off season bagels lake view food and drinks the wait staff lounge chairs paugus bay
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 829 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2018

An older resort, but well maintained.Some noise from the Inn late at night but overall satisfactory.The beach and surrounding environment was nice and a fun atmosphere!The breakfast in the morning was a little confusing as the continental side and the hot side seemed to be all in one.But the hot breakfast side will cost you $7.99/ person.Oversight? Perhaps.

Room Tip: Bring some snacks and drinks for the mini-fridge
Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jbarsoian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

The Margate Resort in Laconia, NH has a pretty Awesome location. The amenities are also pretty great. The beds however are like sleeping at Fred Flintstones house on a bedrock bed. Very, very uncomfortable and mousey. As you toss and turn to try and sleep which is pretty much impossible the bed squeeks and squauks to no end. Everything else was clean and enjoyable. It would definitely be a wonderful and Awesome place to stay if they'll be a would invest in some comfortable beds. Probably will not go back here again until I know that they have bought and set up new comfortable beds. How fun is it to go away for the weekend and not be able to sleep because of God Aweful Beds.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Bevipoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Went for a weekend wedding and stayed two more days. Really enjoyed the heated pool and hot tub. Very pleasant common areas—-dining room, sitting areas, function rooms. Entire staff was very friendly and helpful. Great lakeside location with dockside bar.

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view room
Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargateResort, Front Office Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. It is with great pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. There is no greater compliment than hearing that our staff is friendly and helpful because it is always our goal to provide great customer service to our valued guests. We hope you choose to stay with us again next time your travels bring you to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

As the title suggests, the staff were helpful, and the room was clean, and comfortable. We managed to get a room with a lake view and i would recommend it. Nice place to sit and watch the squirrels and chip monks busying around, with the lake and the mountains in the background.

The only thing that ruined the stay was the “Continental Breakfast”, now I don’t really like these a great deal but this one was particularly poor. There wasn’t a lot of choice, muffins, beagles, and all the cereals had sugar on them. I’m not sure if this was because we were just outside the normal season but it did leave a bad taste…..pardon the pun.

Saying that I would go back, it was very good value for money, but I’d just head out and pay for breakfast, Laconia does have a few offerings nearby.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargateResort, Front Office Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate you taking the time to review our resort. We are so happy to hear that our staff was helpful and that your room was clean and your stay was comfortable. We want to apologize if our continental breakfast ruined your stay and did not meet your expectations. Our continental breakfast also includes oatmeal, fresh fruit and yogurt as well as the muffins, bagels and cereals you mentioned in your review. We will take your feedback into consideration when we discuss making changes to the breakfast. When our occupancy is high enough, we offer a hot buffet upgrade for an additional $7.95+tax as well as the continental, this adds a bit more variety to our breakfast. The hot buffet includes eggs, bacon, sausage, home fries and pancakes, French toast or waffles. Thank you again for leaving your honest review. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

I was a little shocked at the price but the view, the event I attended provided a great time. I stayed at the inn across the street and was pleasantly surprised with how nice and comfortable my room wise. I will definitely stay again!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank MichaelB480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargateResort, Front Office Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for reviewing our resort. We are very happy to hear that your stay was nice and comfortable! We try to stay competitive with our rates for this area and our Inn Building helps us greatly in that effort. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn Building and look forward to accommodating you the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews