We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Blue Bistro at the Naswa Resort offers a first-class dining experience.”
Review of Blue Bistro

Blue Bistro
Ranked #5 of 89 Restaurants in Laconia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$30
Cuisines: Bar
Description: The Blue Bistro is one of the Lakes Region's hottest restaurants. Located within our NASWA Resort, it caters to both overnight guests, as well as area residents and visitors alike. The Bistro serves Breakfast and Dinner. Dine lakeside while gazing at the views of Lake Winnipesaukee. The Breakfast Menu offers classic morning dishes such as French Toast, Pancakes and Omelets - perfect for getting the day started right, and even children will be delighted by the choices. The dinner menu offers chef specialties such as certified angus steaks, authentic northern and southern Italian dishes, fresh-off-the-boat seafood and vegetarian items. The Blue Bistro offers a diverse wine list for all palates. Our chef enjoys using locally grown produce and only the freshest ingredients. A children's menu is available at dinnertime, as well.
Restaurant details
Description: The Blue Bistro is one of the Lakes Region's hottest restaurants. Located within our NASWA Resort, it caters to both overnight guests, as well as area residents and visitors alike. The Bistro serves Breakfast and Dinner. Dine lakeside while gazing at the views of Lake Winnipesaukee. The Breakfast Menu offers classic morning dishes such as French Toast, Pancakes and Omelets - perfect for getting the day started right, and even children will be delighted by the choices. The dinner menu offers chef specialties such as certified angus steaks, authentic northern and southern Italian dishes, fresh-off-the-boat seafood and vegetarian items. The Blue Bistro offers a diverse wine list for all palates. Our chef enjoys using locally grown produce and only the freshest ingredients. A children's menu is available at dinnertime, as well.
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We had not been there for several years and were pleased to find that it was even better than we had remembered. It has recently been redecorated and the atmosphere is pleasant and comfortable. We came on a weeknight and learned that on Friday and Saturday evenings they take on a supper club atmosphere with tableside music. We intend to come back and give this a try as well. We were with a party of 7, and were greeted personally by the manager. The dining room was well staffed by a friendly, attentive and knowledgeable wait staff. The chef worked for years at the famous Locke Ober in Boston and the matriarch of the family at the Naswa, 94 years of age, still personally prepares the delicious dessert tray from innovative and exclusive recipes. The largest and tastiest shrimp I have seen in years constituted a gigantic shrimp cocktail and the homemade cocktail sauce was the best. The steaks are first class, the seafood is fresh, never frozen and the New England Clam Chowder is to die for. My wife had the steak tips and voted them the best steak tips she had ever eaten. I had the baked haddock, others had steaks, one had baked salmon and one had a meatloaf dish that was as attractive and tasty as imaginable. The service was prompt, friendly, polite and unobtrusive and yet attentive. The soundproofing is good and encourages dining conversation. For those with a less hearty appetite, there is a small plate menu as well.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naswa, Owner at Blue Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thank you so much for returning! We are very happy that you found us better than what you remember. Our chef enjoys crafting these mouthwatering dishes with the freshest ingredients and will be pleased to hear all of your glowing compliments. My mother Hope loves to create her "Hope" made desserts and are glad that you left enough room to enjoy them. Our staff prides itself on amazing service and atmosphere for our guests. We can't wait to have you enjoy more delicious meals at the Bistro!

In the Spirit of Hospitality,
Cynthia Makris
Owner
Blue Bistro and NASWA Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2017

Rode up to Laconia foe Bike week and stayed at the Naswa. The Blue Bistro was a restaurant in the Hotel. We weren't going to eat there until we saw a shrimp & crab stuffed Haddock with a parmesan risotto on the menu, while getting a quick drink at the bar after a long ride up from NYC. I have to say it was a surprise at just how amazing and fresh it all was. So glad we decided to have dinner there on the last night of our trip. We will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naswa, Owner at Blue Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thank you for giving the Blue Bistro a try before you went back to NYC! Our chef proudly creates these mouthwatering dishes with the freshest ingredients available to us. We hope to have you stay with us again and enjoy more delicious meals at the Bistro!

In the Spirit of Hospitality,
Cynthia Makris
Owner
Blue Bistro and NASWA Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

My husband and I ate breakfast at the Naswa Resort. The chef made a hash omelette for my husband, mine was onion and cheddar cheese. Both were delicious, prices reasonable. But the real star was the coffee, wonderful!! The waitstaff were smiling and friendly. We would definitely return.

Thank jeannie_a1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naswa, Owner at Blue Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Thank you so much for having breakfast with us at the Bistro! Our chef loves to create these amazing meals for all of our guests and is very happy that you enjoyed them. We are looking very much forward to your return for another meal (be sure to try dinner and a "Hope" made dessert!).

In the Spirit of Hospitality
Cynthia Makris
Owner
Blue Bistro and NASWA Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We have been to Blue Bistro several times, and the food is consistently good. I always order the lobster tails, which are delicious. We brought family here for a birthday celebration and they enjoyed it very much as well. The real gem is their waitstaff. They are warm, friendly and attentive. On our last visit, we had the pleasure of being served by Navardo, who was outgoing and jovial and added to our enjoyment. Kudos!

Thank CrestMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naswa, Owner at Blue Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thank you for your continued patronage! We are so happy that you had your birthday celebration with us and that our waitstaff made it more enjoyable for everyone. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to Navardo as well as the rest of our staff. We look forward to serving you again in 2017!

In the Spirit of Hospitality,
Cynthia Makris
Owner
Blue Bistro and NASWA Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We actually had breakfast and dinner for three days and there was absolutely nothing to complain about. The food was good, the table service was excellent. Everything was clean. The whole staff was so pleasant, but the only name I can remember is a waitress named Tasha. Great job from Tasha and all of her coworkers in what seems to be a difficult and mostly thankless job. Their service is greatly appreciated and they all deserve a raise!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank boopie252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naswa, Owner at Blue Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Thank you so much for staying and dining with us! We will gladly pass along your compliments to our staff, especially Tasha. It was our pleasure to host you and we hope to have you stay and dine with us again soon!

Cynthia Makris
Owner
Blue Bistro and NASWA Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Blue Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing