We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Healthy...This Flexitarian would definitely be a regular if I lived nearby!”

Country Life Vegetarian Buffet
Ranked #28 of 108 Restaurants in Keene
Restaurant details
Reviewed 23 October 2018

There are not enough stars in the universe to adequately rate how much I enjoyed this hidden gem of a restaurant. The ambiance was warm and welcoming. The staff is obviously proud and passionate about the fare they offer--with good reason. Who ever heard of sides of Tahini, organic virgin coconut oil and chia seeds? The stuffed shells were spectacular. The tofu cacciatore was excellent. The gourmet soups were flavorful and hearty. The desserts and salad bar looked amazing as well. The prices are extremely affordable. The next best thing to grandma's house!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NYLadyDi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Came here for lunch after running the Clarence DeMar Marathon. Small little place-serve yourself from the salad bar (pay by bowl/plate)-and the small buffet (pay by weight). They were serving bunch so I got a mix of yummy breakfast food and lunch food. Staff was friendly.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank hb_runs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

While my wife and I have lived near Keene for 15 months, today was our first visit to this gem of a restaurant, located close to the Central Square and specializing in a Sunday - Thursday Lunch Buffet, with an "all-your-can eat") Option 1 and a set price Option 2 for hot items, cold items, soups, desserts, and tea. Filtered water is both refreshing and free. [They also have a small selection of food and drink items for purchase separately.]

Our confused expressions must have signaled that this was our first visit so they "went the extra mile" to be sure that they had explained how their buffet system worked. First a lady explained the system. Shortly thereafter, a man explained how to order in even more detail and suggested a very helpful strategy to get the most for our money. Go with Option 2 (Set Prices). When you check out (before you eat), they will figure out the price for both options and give you the cheap price. For us, Option 2 was more affordable.

The building appeared to be from the Victorian Age. They have had a restaurant in Keene by this name for 30 years. Soft music played in the background. The atmosphere was cheery. Everything was bright and clean. The staff was very helpful. The food was tasty and fresh. The local farm that supplied them with the mustard greens, one of many favorites on the food line, picked them just last night. We loved the diverse selection of hot and food items, homemade soups, and desserts. We will return and soon. Our vegetarian daughter, living in Northern Virginia, is also eager to try the restaurant on her next visit to New Hampshire.

.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TrainManDan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

I'm not a vegan, but my relatives are, so on our way from Vermont skiing we decided to check out this culinary gem. Simple, fresh, healthy ingredients put together into delicious dishes with familiar names: lasagna, burritos, corn salad, cheesecake, etc - familiar names for non-traditionally all-vegan components put together into a delightful lunch. I enjoyed the meal as much as the next meat-eating connoisseur at a famous steak-house without feeling betrayed or disappointed! You can do per pound purchase or all-you-can eat buffet including soups and desserts for under 20$.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Taylor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Fantastic, delicious, healthy food. Everything tastes fresh. Buffet style kitchen. Very casual and slightly hippy atmosphere. I believe they are only open for lunch.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank OnOffOnOff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Country Life Vegetarian Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Country Life Vegetarian Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing