We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Christmas Farm Inn & Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cozy and Relaxing”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I had wanted to stay at the Wentworth, but their rates included dinner every night and we didn't want to be stuck eating there for our whole visit. So, based on Trip Advisor reviews, we went with Christmas Farm Inn. It was a great choice and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was great, the staff were super friendly and our room was clean and outfitted with most everything you would need.

I had wanted to use the spa and get a massage, but unfortunately their hours were somewhat limited. We skiied during the day so could only do appts in the evening, but the last appt of the day was 4:15. Not late enough if you are coming back from a day of skiing. But not a big deal since they are a small spa and probably can't afford to stay open well into the evening.

The property itself is charming and has nice views of the mountains. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Jackson.

Room Tip: Carriage rooms are a good choice if you want privacy and extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFIManager, Manager at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words. We want the Christmas Farm Inn & Spa to be an environment where people kick-back and relax, or go out to explore the wonders of our destination. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will pass your comments on to our team.

For your information, The Spa at the Christmas Farm Inn is a full-service AVEDA Concept Spa with 7 treatment rooms and a steam room. Our normal open hours are from 10-6pm, except: Sunday 10am - 2pm; and Friday 12pm - 8pm. Our experienced therapist are here by pre-scheduled appointments only. Sometimes, we can accommodate late bookings or walk-ins, but this is subject to the schedule and previous commitments of available therapists. Fortunately, it is a popular and busy spa, so we recommend that spa guests book their treatment at least 24 hours in advance. For busy periods, you should book much earlier. We do welcome group bookings outside of the normal hours by appointment and, within reason, we try to accommodate individuals, as well. Please let us know the next time you are planning to visit and we will do our best to make it work for you.

Thanks again - we look forward to your return.
Gary, Sandra and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    199
    65
    39
    27
See reviews for
222
358
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I came to the Christmas Farm Inn for a ski weekend with a group of six friends, and it was absolutely wonderful. We stayed in one of the suites in the barn, which offered plenty of space but still felt terrifically cozy and intimate. I loved the exposed beams and the rustic feel. Breakfast was great - buffet with muffins and fruit and yogurt, plus hot foods cooked to order, eggs and waffles and such - and the pool and hot tub were a magnificent treat after a day of being out in the snow. The whole place has a lovely magic to it, and I eagerly hope to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Splon60946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFIManager, Manager at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thanks for your review - we enjoyed having you all here too!! Our barn rooms sleep 6-8 people and our cottages sleep 6, so they are very popular with friends and families wanting to spend quality time together. In the spirit of Christmas, we want to be a place where our guest can celebrate the simple pleasures of life: friends, family, fun, love, adventure and wellbeing. It was rewarding for us to watch you and your friends live it! We hope to see you again soon.

Gary, Sandra and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALTON BAY
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

If you want charming New England in a very old inn, surrounded by mountains, this is the place. Nice comfortable room with a 2 person jacuzzi in the room. Older, but worked great. Comfortable dining room with excellent food. Loved my pecan maple crusted salmon for dinner and 3 egg omelet for breakfast. There is a fitness center with indoor whirlpools and heated pool which we had all to ourselves to burn off some of the calories. Snowshoeing and cross country skiing right close by. Friendly staff. View of Mt. Washington out our window too!

Room Tip: "Blitzen" has jacuzzi and view of Mt. Washington.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandmolake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFIManager, General Manager at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Blitzen is a popular room that often gets requested by repeat guests. We are glad you liked it too.
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Gary and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This was our second trip to the Christmas Farm Inn and once again, everything was perfect. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with a group of 11 family members and the staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable.

The Carriage House Suites worked out perfectly. Most of our group stayed in 3 suites while 1 couple stayed in the Salt Box and 1 couple stayed in the main inn. The Carriage House Suite was spacious enough to have most of our group hang out to catch the Patriots playoff game in the sitting room.

Food was good. We had breakfast and dinner in the dining room each day. Mary, the morning hostess is a love. So friendly and a wealth of knowledge. Front desk staff is great. The owner, Gary is always available to the guests and is always very responsive to any requests. And his wife Sandra is very sweet.

The only small complaint is that the beds could use some upgrading. We found the mattress and pillows to be a bit uncomfortable but that is a very subjective issue and the next guest may be fine with the comfort level.

The rooms are immaculate and housekeeping does a great job keeping everything well stocked.

Looking forward to returning in the fall to celebrate my hubby's birthday.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourcruisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFIManager, General Manager at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
We look forward to welcoming you back in the fall! Sorry to hear about the bed - you are right, it is a very subjective matter, some finding them too hard and others not hard enough. We do offer extra pillows as well as mattress pillow tops and foam tops for guests who ask for a softer sleeping experience.
Gary, Sandra and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Each year, we travel to Jackson for a 4 day stay. We chose to visit Christmas Farm Inn this year. Discussed rooms with the staff and chose a room in Carriage House, based upon windows and view. Received email confirmation, 3 months prior to visit. Two days before our trip, received an email with inaccurate dates of our trip and a different room. Quickly called and rec'd the response "Hmm, don't know how that happened AND yes, the room is changed...". I stated I chose the specific room and was told "oh, it doesn't matter, we can't change it, as we've already rented the room you chose" I was not happy with this and told the reservation desk. NOT ONE THING was done to change or make right the errors that occurred on behalf of the Inn. As business owners ourselves, we would have NEVER not fixed the error. We would provide a service to our guest that would 'cover' our mistake. NOTHING! When we arrived, the front desk stated the same..."hmm, don't know why you were changed to a different room, oh, well, here's your key." I will agree with other reviews that the staff is pleasant, but incapable of customer service. The prices charged in the dining room and the Inn are indicative of much better service than is received. The staff is friendly, but untrained. If you are looking for a pleasant stay, I'd choose the Inn at Thorn Hill, a very qualified staff, nice rooms and great customer service. VERY DISAPPOINTING STAY...NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFIManager, General Manager at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. We are truly disappointed to read of your disappointment and account of the facts.

It is true that the room that you originally booked was changed due to an extension of another long-stay reservation: that of a bride and groom. This was communicated verbally to you and your partner by phone, several times over several days, as well as in writing. The room you eventually occupied was identical to and adjacent to the room you originally booked. It offered exactly the same aspect and views of the estate and the White Mountains – the private balconies are side-by-side, only a couple of feet from one another. Both rooms offer exactly the same furnishings and amenities: large bedroom with king-size bed an TV, large bathroom with Jacuzzi bath and walk-in shower, separate living room area with fire place, wet bar, refrigerator, TV and access to their respective balconies. The rooms are the same size and mirror images of one another. It is for this reason that we only show one picture of a Carriage House Suite on our website for all 12 suites. There is really no difference.

As explained to you, there was no error regarding the change in your room. We found that we had no other viable option. It seemed most unreasonable to move out a bride and groom during their wedding, when it was possible to offer you an adjacent room, the exact same room type, with all other conditions being the same. Another consideration was that the bride and groom made their reservation well over a year ago. Regardless, because of the high occupancy during this period, we didn’t have any other options that would reasonably work. The most reasonable thing to do was to change your room and count on your understanding and good nature. What would you have done – kick out the bride and groom? Again, we did discuss our dilemma with you and your partner prior to your arrival, as well as offer our sincere apologies for the change. Most all lodging establishments reserve the right to change booked rooms to an equal or upgraded room type. Although valid reasons may pop up, it is seldom that we would need to change someone’s reserved room. This was an exception that we thoroughly explained and you did not lose out in any way. Unless you expected a discount of some sort, we do not understand the ‘mistake’ you wish us to ‘cover’.

Furthermore, we do note that you refused to complete the check-in process until you viewed the room in question; and you subsequently chose to remain in the allocated room for the length of your reservation. Other interactions with you and your partner during your stay gave us no indication that you were still harboring disappointment, this included personal assistance to you and acceptance of a complimentary drink. We also note that, in addition to our aforementioned apologies, we did leave a gift in the room for you and your partner to enjoy as a goodwill gesture.

We regret that you feel the animosity that you do. We run an honest business and genuinely try to do our best to please all of our guests. Otherwise, we hope you will enjoy your return to Jackson in any one of the fine Inns and B&Bs this wonderful village has to offer.

With kind regards,
Gary an Sandra Plourde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
1.0 km away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.7 km away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
804 reviews
1.3 km away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
2.4 km away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
482 reviews
0.7 km away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#2 of 11 in Jackson
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christmas Farm Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christmas Farm Inn & Spa

Property: Christmas Farm Inn & Spa
Address: 3 Blitzen Way, Black Mountain Road, Jackson, NH 03846
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Christmas Farm Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christmas Farm Inn and Spa is a historic country Inn with a state-of-the-art spa, offering dining and lodging in Jackson, New Hampshire. Our 15 acre campus is the perfect retreat to enjoy the amenities of the Mt. Washington Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Christmas Farm Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christmas Farm Hotel Jackson
Christmas Farm Inn And Spa
Christmas Farm Resort
Christmas Farm Inn & Spa Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing