We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST COTTAGE EVER!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cottage Place on Squam Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2018

The Cottage place on Squam Lake has exceeded all my expectations. I have been looking for a pet friendly place to vacation. (FYI you would never know they were pet friendly because the cottage was spotless SO CLEAN)

Susan who own the Cottage Place and her family run the business and they are the nicest people I have ever meet. A colleague refereed me to the Cottage Place after I mentioned I wanted to leave New York for New Years weekend and go somewhere quite with breath taking views and great places to eat that would also allow for my two large fur babies to join.

The dead cold nights couldn't touch the cozy warmth that filled our cottage. Our cottage also had a sweet fire place. Our over all experience was awesome. I can't wait to go back and enjoy warmer weather. The Cottage Place is also in a perfect location from beautiful hiking trails, food (EAT AT THE COMMON MAN) Lakes, and a cool little towns Plymoth and Ashland.

Susan we will be back very soon!
Yessy

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful! I stayed in Cottage 6 perfect for a couple and two fur babies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yessenia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cottageplace, Owner at Cottage Place on Squam Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Yessy - you are a delight! I cannot wait until you come back to visit in another season! Winter is a special time and the extreme weather challenges all of us to enjoy the outside activities knowing that at the end of the day your cozy cottage and fireplace await! Thank you for your kind words and like many before you - you arrive as a guest and leave as a friend. We loved having you here. Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2017

Six of us spent a weekend at Cottage Place on Squam Lake. We booked the lodge which had many clean bedrooms, two clean bathrooms and lots of rustic charm. There was plenty of space and seating in the Common Area to gather and eat and drink, The wine and food tasting was absolutely amazing! It went on for hours with the most delicious foods and wines to pair. Susan the Owner was extremely friendly with this amazing positive energy that made us feel welcome and happy to be there. Everyone we met was friendly and professional whose main goal was to make sure we were having a great time. I will be going back in the summer to try out one of the charming cottages. Highly recommend for large family gatherings or a private weekend away

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djc19632017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cottageplace, Owner at Cottage Place on Squam Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write down your experience with us. We loved hosting you and grateful to the Common Man Restaurant and David Haley (wine expert) for partnering with us to offer the experience. So glad you will be visiting us this summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

This was our second visit for Newfember and again we had a great time! The extra effort Sue puts into the event is very welcoming! I love that I can take my dogs to a place that allows pets, AND is still very clean! Clean is the most important factor to me when staying anywhere, and Cottage Place definitely is! The full kitchen with dishes is so nice to have, so you can take your own food and not have to go out to a restaurant.
It was very quiet overnight which is also important for me to get a good night's sleep. Can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: Suites are very spacious and have a full kitchen, like the Cottages. Different sizes for both are av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelynn1262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cottageplace, Owner at Cottage Place on Squam Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our Newfember weekend - November 3.4.5 - we organize this package event for Newfoundland dogs and their owners every November and call it Newfember - it is always the first weekend and third weekend of the month of November. We are Newfoundland Dog enthusiasts and love seeing so many beautiful participants. We all know that November offers weather that Newfoundlands love! Thanks to you for taking such great care of our cottage while you were here - that makes it easier for us to be pet friendly and specifically newf friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

They are pet friendly without any doubt !
You would never know that they are. So very very clean
Susan and her daughter are great !
Vintage cabins
Don't forget to go to Walters !!
And Squam Lake science center!
We will be back
Thank you all
Mike and Patty
Cabin 7

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cottageplace, Owner at Cottage Place on Squam Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mike and Patty - thanks for writing a review. We take our housekeeping very seriously and it does take extra time when we host pets, but that is why we have the pet fee of $20.00 per night. It always amazes me on how wonderful people take care of their pets when they travel with them. We have been pet friendly for 15 years and have had very few unpleasant incidents. We believe pets are part of the family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Cottage Place on Squam Lake is our favorite place to stay in the Lakes Region of New Hampshire. The staff, amenities, facilities, and location are wonderful.
The folks who take care of you at Cottage Place are friendly, available, and oh-so-helpful.
If you’re looking to relax, this is the place for you. Maybe lounge on the lovely beach or sit beside the courtyard fireplace. However, we encourage you to dive into Squam Lake’s crystal clear water, take out a kayak, paddle a canoe, and play with the kids on the playground. Cottage Place offers comfort with the opportunity for a taste of the outdoors. We cannot comment on a winter stay - yet. We intend to visit Cottage Place during this season in the coming months.
Cottage Place’s charming cottages and rooms are consistently comfortable and clean. We have stayed in each. They are also pet-friendly, and our dog seems to enjoy them as much as we do.
Finally, the location is lovely and very convenient for exploration into other parts of New Hampshire’s beautiful Lakes Region. Or, if you find yourself simply staying on site, Cottage Place in itself is delightful in every way, indoors and out. Don’t forget to look for that Bald Eagle that soars above the lake!

Room Tip: My tip for choosing a good room: book one at Cottage Place. You will soon find a favorite. After thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kylen779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cottageplace, Owner at Cottage Place on Squam Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. You certainly enjoyed all that we have to offer and we cannot wait for your return this winter. We love all the seasons here at the Cottage Place on Squam Lake - Evans Cove will freeze by the third week in January and that expands our front yard for hiking, snow shoeing, cross country skiing and snowmobiling. The cottages become even more cozy in the winter as the fire places create that wonderful warm glow and comfort of old fashion wood heat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holderness hotels
4.5 km away
White Oak Motel & Cottages
White Oak Motel & Cottages
#1 of 3 in Holderness
126 reviews
2.3 km away
Squam Lake Inn
Squam Lake Inn
#1 of 3 in Holderness
249 reviews
2.5 km away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
278 reviews
1.1 km away
Boulders Motel & Cottages
Boulders Motel & Cottages
#2 of 3 in Holderness
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Place on Squam Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Place on Squam Lake

Address: 1132 US Route 3, Holderness, NH 03245-5640
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Holderness
Price Range: €81 - €366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage Place on Squam Lake offers 16 rentals, 7 cottages of various sizes, a 6 bedroom Lodge for large family gatherings, and 8 family apartments referred to as Cottage Suites. Our frontage on Squam Lake offers a 140 feet of sandy beach and easy access to swimming, floating, or paddling. We have dock space available if you would like to bring your boat or rent one from one of the three marinas on Squam Lake. The property is landscaped with vintage gardens and stonewalls. We specialize in cottage living with a cozy 1950s style where every day ends with sitting around the outside fire pit under the star laden sky. It is simple and relaxing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cottage Place On Squam Lake Hotel Holderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing