We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$371
US$359
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn on Golden Pond(Holderness)
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Squam Lake Inn(Holderness)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
127
24
13
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
24
13
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitadirondack chairsprivate beachsquam lakecrystal clear watergift shopmain buildingget awaypicnic tablesnewfoundland dogsguests gatherclass reunionlook forwardsized refrigeratorher daughternew mattressesdirectly across the street
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Cottage Place was the perfect getaway for our family! The cottage we stayed in was just the right size for our 4 person family. It was cozy and intimate...just what we were looking for.
We greatly enjoyed the private beach and appreciated the peaceful boat rides with our family on the beautiful lake.
The staff was very warm and friendly and catered to all of our needs.
We will certainly return for another vacation for our family!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Sarah,

Thanks so much for posting your review. We are always delighted when we are the right match for our guests. It sounds like you enjoyed the compelling beauty of Squam Lake. We can't wait to host you again and remember, we are open year round. Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We recently spent a night at cozy cottages. We were in the main hotel and the view to the lake is beautiful. The room was very clean but the decor is very dated. Everything is painted green and the furniture looks old. It's a great place for a family with the kitchenette and extra bed in the main room. Just don't expect anything fancy. We took a peek in the cottages and I would prefer to stay there. They were cozy and cute.

Room Tip: Go for the cottages, they have much more charm than the rooms in the main hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank ricka..
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for leaving a review for the Cottage Place on Squam Lake. We are glad that you found our property to be very clean. I just wanted to comment on the "out dated" decor so that others might understand how we choose to decorate. We are NH born and raised and have been collectors of funky and interesting things our whole lives. We re-purpose almost everything, so our furniture may seem out dated, but it is meant to add charm and the feel of a real NH vintage cottage. Our Cottage Suites were built in 1957 and are two room family apartments with full kitchens and have been freshly painted inside and outside. Our fabrics are purchased from vintage collections and for some this is out dated - for others it is a certain charm. No matter your taste, we appreciate that our guests comment on our cleanliness - thank you so much for visiting and taking the time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

My husband and I spent a beautiful weekend only 45 minutes from our home at The Cottage Place in Holderness, NH. The resort is located on the shores of Squam Lake, where the movie On Golden Pond was filmed. There are rustic cottages with all the comforts of home, rooms at the motel and a lodge if you have a group of people in your party. What we enjoy is that we get to bring our dog with us. This location is nestled in the mountains and with leaves starting to change, we were privy to some of the most amazing scenery. The Lake is across the street from The Cottage Place and has a beach that's perfect for swimming, boating or just relaxing by the water's edge. If you are looking for the perfect location to vacation or just a weekend getaway like we enjoy, The Cottage Place is ideal. If you are a snowmobiler, they are open year round!!!

Room Tip: If you bring your dog, opt for one of the cottages. Has everything you need for family comfort.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARIANNE46124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed in cottage one for two nights and the only downside is that we hadn't booked a longer stay! The road between the cottages and the lake didn't bother us at all, you can see really far either direction to cross, the only thing is that the cars can be noisy if you're sitting on the porch in the evening.

The cottage itself was so cute, it had a comfortable bed, a dinky bathroom and a tiny kitchen with everything you need to cook ready to hand. There was a fridge and freezer (good for cooling wine!) and two hobs. The walls were covered in china and cross-stitch pictures, and there was a little table with two chairs to have your dinner at. The patio had two big chairs looking directly over the lake with plenty of space to park the car directly next to the cottage.

We met Susan (I think..) on our first night who had come to make sure that we'd got into the cottage and had everything we needed, which was really nice of her. She was very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was little muffins and apple doughnuts and coffee up at the cottage shop.

We really loved our stay at the Cottage Place on Squam Lake, the surroundings are beautiful and we even braved a dip in the lake (bracing!) which was clear as glass.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed in cottage #6 for two nights, on a weekend getaway with my husband. The staff was friendly and helpful. The cabin was clean and comfortable, except for the bed that was in the bedroom. I usually like firm beds, but this one was terrible, it was like sleeping on the wood floor. The second night, we slept on the bed in the living room area, which was much more comfortable.

The biggest issue was the road. Rt. 3 is quite busy, there were loud trucks driving by every time we were at the cabin (which wasn't often since we had plans for the two days we were there) The cabins are very close to the road, not set back at all, so the noise can become an issue. This didn't bother us much, since we really just slept there and were away from the area during the day. But this is definitely not the place to go if you plan on spending lazy days enjoying peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrulyBlessed8704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for your review. Some find the road separating our cottages from the lake front a problem and some adapt quickly and appreciate that the view from all of the rentals is wonderful. The road is labeled Scenic Drive and is the road that connects the entire lakes region so it is a wonderful road to take to see all of the lakes. It is quite busy on weekends during the day, but very quiet mid-week and early evening. We understand that the road is a disappointment to some, so we clearly state it on the home page of our website www.cottageplaceonsquam.com. We want all of our future customers to be happy when they arrive. We welcome a visit any time before making a reservation to be sure we are the right location for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews