We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Breath of Fresh Air” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Gilford
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Breath of Fresh Air”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The hotel lobby was inviting, the breakfast food excellent, breakfast area clean. The staff was friendly and very helpful with dinner selections.
The rooms were spacious and spotless. We hope to stay there again soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denisemariec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    48
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
72
51
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston area
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

This hotel is a gem. Not the Ritz but for a family it is so perfect. Super clean. Our room had a nice kitchenette. It lacks an outdoor pool but being NH, it's probably not a long season anyway. The free, simple breakfast is terrific. They HAD skim milk! Good fresh fruit, quality english muffins & bagels, and a large yogurt variety. Yay, no cellophane-wrapped pastries (who EATS those anyway?) They had name-brand cereals including fat free Kellogg's granola. I'm bugged when hotels try to save 50 cents on the cheap brands and think that everybody drinks whole or 2% milk. We SO appreciated the skim milk!
No eggs or lousy waffles -none needed. Keeping it good and simple gets my vote.
Beds were a 7 out of 10. A bit firm for me, but still, we slept well.
Consistently cold AC all night, just as we wanted.
Their $100.00 pet fee seems steep but on the other hand, if staying for more than 1 night, I'd have done it.
I felt that they care a lot about their guests and we appreciated the comprehensive guide in the room.
Dear TownePlace management, there's your "A" review, now show us even more hotel industry progress and start offering recycle receptacles for cans and plastics. :-) My pet peeve with hotels... they seem to think recycling doesn't exist outside of saving towel washing. Okay I'll get off the soapbox, thanks for a very nice hotel experience!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ref'sfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

This is my first stay in a TownPlace Suites unit although I have stayed at other Marriott properties many times. You can think of this as a scaled down Residence Inn that attracts a lot of tradesmen and families. The room is a pretty standard American size except it has a mini-kitchen with a two burner stove a sizable refrigerator. They provide plates, some glassware, and cutlery. There is a free continental breakfast which is perhaps a bit on the light side. No hard boiled eggs or waffle station. There are five varieities of cereaI (no Cheerios), muffins, toast ,english muffins, bagels, fruit, garnola, and yogurt. I found the staff to be extremely helpful.
It is not actually very close to anything, but it is close to good roads that can get you where you want to go. There are good dinner restaurants ten minutes away (try Fratello's Italian Restaurant in Laconia or Patrick's Pub on the other side of Guilford) and the Union Cafe for breakfast or dinner in Laconia is a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jegolf20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

The Towneplace Suites Gilford is an off-the-highway, '09 hotel which we consider a solid choice in the Lakes Region. Given that the hotel is new, it features various elements which while today are shiny and sleek but in a few years may not be so appealing. This seems to be the story with the entire hotel. The Towneplace Suites brand is Marriott's low-moderate extended stay brand, and it shows frequently. But on the other hand, on both visits to the hotel, both in '10 and '11, and cumulatively for four nights, the hotel is and will continue to be our top choice in the area.

Location:
The hotel is located in a small off the highway lot, like similar properties, and there are no businesses within walking distance of it; in short, the location is not one of the hotel's shining aspects.

Lobby: The lobby, while basic, featured a nice seating area with mood lighting, modern furniture, a fully-equipped business center. There is always a corner with coffee, tea, hot chocolate, etc., for guests' service, which we found pleasant.

Rooms: Our studio suite contained, within it's small 380 square feet, a stainless-steel clad, granite surfaced kitchen, with a dishwasher, refrigerator, range, microwave, and utensils. A comfortable king bed and full-size sofa bed made up the rest of the room, as well as a desk with complementary wired and wireless high speed Internet access. The bathroom was to our taste and, because it was so new, we didn't care that the furniture was midrange in luxuriousness. Overall, sleek decor and a modern flow accentuated a room which we would be glad to book again.

Service: Employees were generally friendly and courteous, and even when they couldn't immediately solve our problems they made good efforts to do so eventually.

Miscellaneous: The hotel has a continental breakfast which is extremely basic. There is coffee, juice, bagels, English muffins, toast, packaged oatmeal and muffins from Sara-Lee, cereal, and a small bowl of whole fruit. Not one of the hotel's highlights. The property does, however, have an exquisite fitness center which makes up for the breakfast completely. New treadmills, free weights, and ellipticals are nearly always empty, and plasma tvs in addition to the personal ones on each machine, plus a water cooler and towels, make working out a joy.

Summary: the hotel is new, and the decor throughout is modern and tasteful. While some elements of the hotel are basic, such as the breakfast, and of course the location, they are easy to overlook. Value-wise, we have stayed here for $99 in a studio suite, but we have also been deterred from making a reservation at other times because of rates of above $250.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaysRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Came up for Bike week in Laconia great time 10 min away from the action but if you want peace you got it. Everything you would expect from Marriott .. Friendly staff ..Nice salt water pool small gym but quality equipement did the job.Good breakfast in the morning.
price high but to be expected it is after all bike week!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank youngbruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilford
12.3 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
19.0 km away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
13.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
The Landmark Inn
The Landmark Inn
#12 of 12 in Laconia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
6.1 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
3.7 km away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 12 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford

Property: TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
Address: 14 Sawmill Rd, Gilford, NH 03249-6542 (Formerly TownePlace Suites Gilford)
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Gilford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Gilford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for the extended stay guest but perfect any length of stay-your home away from home in the Lakes Region of NH. Our rooms offer all the comforts of home including full kitchenette with dinner service for 4, 32 LCD Televisions with HBO, Indoor pool, 24 hour exercise room, daily complimentary continental breakfast and Free high speed wireless Internet. Allow our friendly staff to help you discover Lake Winnipeasaukee including M/S Mount Washington Funspot, Gunstock, Meadowbrook, NHMS, and Tanger Outlet Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott and Agoda so you can book your TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Gilford Hotel Gilford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing