We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Gem !”
Review of Pines Guest House

Pines Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pines Guest House
Ranked #1 of 3 Durham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Unique,historical AND comfortable.Wonderful hosts.Great location for UNH,Beaches,Portsmouth,Lakes and Hiking.Also great for running & cycling!My stay was All Positive-already planning my return! Delicious Fresh fruit for Breakfast.AND WiFi was Fast!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabmph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coescorner, Owner at Pines Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Thanks so much for your kind comments. We are very conveniently located in the Seacoast area of New Hampshire, yet we are very close to attractions in Maine, the White Mountains for hiking and skiing and Boston with it's many historical sights. Our home is old (1760), yet we provide modern conveniences such as complementary Internet and flat screen TVs with cable in our rooms. Surrounded by towering pines and open fields, we provide a quiet and comfortable yet affordable alternative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 24 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
5
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Had the good fortune to find your lovely bed and breakfast. I grew up in a true antique in Massachusetts- staying at The Pines was being at 'home.' Quiet, quaint and welcoming! We will definitely return. Great location for anything connected to UNH, the beach, shopping, farm stands, antiquing, etc! Thank you for a wonderful week!!!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coescorner, Owner at Pines Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you so much for your very complimentary review. We are always pleased when guests can relate to our historic home. Built in 1760 and maintained by the same family through multiple generations, we are proud to be able to share our legacy with our many guests. Our location is convenient to UNH as well as many seacoast attractions. By growing up here and being familiar with the area, we are able to direct our guests to various activities of interest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

If you are looking for a B & B with totally straight walls and perfect paint, this is not the one. However, if you are looking for a home that has been in the same family for generations and that exudes charm, attention to detail, cleanliness and friendliness, the PInes Guest House is for you. The hostess was interesting, helpful and charming as were some of the UNH graduate students who board there for short periods of time. Pictures of the family harken back to the 1700's including one of an ancestor named "Federal Constitution." Rooms are named after family members. The art collection is eclectic and fascinating including some done by the host. Very convenient to UNH.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jclperipatetic47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coescorner, Owner at Pines Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Thank you so much for your positive review. We love entertaining guests who appreciate a historic family home from 1760's and understand that they will not always have "straight walls and perfect paint", but always have a certain character and personality. Being so close to UNH, we frequently house graduate students who stay long enough to become friends and provide an interesting mix with parents, visiting professors and others here to visit the college.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

I had difficulty contacting the owner multiple times. I had the sense that she screens the calls rather than answer them at the time. The entry door is narrow as are the stairs. It was hot and humid and the air conditioner in our room struggled to cool the second floor room we occupied, which was overly crowded with furniture. It was difficult to get hot water in the shower and there were no glasses in the room for a drink of water. None of the guest rooms doors close completely without being slammed shut. We were unfortunate to have some inconsiderate children staying in a nearby room who were in and out of the room repeatedly late at night and early in the morning so it was quite noisy. Although we were advised of the time that breakfast was being served when we appeared in the dining room at the appointed time it appeared that breakfast had already been served with dirty plates lying out on the table and the host nowhere in sight. Breakfast appeared to be toast, dry cereal and fruit. Probably our most disappointing B & B experience to date.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank De G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coescorner, Owner at Pines Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

We were somewhat surprised and confused by this recent review, Many of the issues mentioned could have been easily resolved with a word to the management, but nothing was said. The guests were offered a choice of rooms when they arrived and we would have happily moved them to another had they but asked. Every bed and breakfast is unique and visitors should be prepared to encounter situations that are not common to a standard hotel or motel, My reflection is that these guests were not accustomed to staying in an historic house like ours and perhaps found the unique quality uncomfortable, We strive to give our guests a pleasant stay, but we are unable to resolve issues that are unspoken.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Excellent place to stay if you have things to do in Durham, it's on a walking distance to the University of New Hampshire.

The couple that runs it is lovely and helpful. They even took me out for dinner as a farewell.

The only downside I can think of is if you're allergic to cats (they have 3, although they are well behaved).

Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
Thank MauJaponiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coescorner, Owner at Pines Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2016

Thank you for your positive comments on your recent stay with us. We enjoy treating our guests as friends or family and are pleased if they choose us for a return visit. Two of our cats have recently passed from old age, but although they have the run of the house, none of them are allowed in the bedrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pines Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pines Guest House

Address: 47 Dover Rd, Durham, NH 03824-2816
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Durham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range: €67 - €101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated Italianate Victorian guest house built in 1760 located at the edge of University of New Hampshire. Featuring seven oversized guest rooms furnished with period furniture and most with private bath yet equipped with modern conveniences such as flat screen TV with cable and complementary wireless Internet service throughout the house. Abutting a small pond and surrounded by towering pines, a seasonal gazebo lends a quiet retreat as does our three season porch on the second floor. Affordable rates for daily, weekly and monthly stays with full kitchen facilities available for extended stay guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing