We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$172
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
US$184
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$261
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Portsmouth(Portsmouth)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
16
5
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
5
3
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2015

Our third stay at Pines Guest house. Love it, it is like coming home. Great hosts, helped us out with picking up our daughter from the Dover bus terminal on her return to University after Christmas. Really enjoy the breakfast goodies, great coffee and the excellent conversation!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coescorner, Owner at Pines Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2015

Thank you so much for your recent positive review. Many of our guests visit multiple times and become friends rather than just visitors. We try to make all our guests feel comfortable as they would in their own home. Complementary transportation to and from the train station or bus depot can be prearranged is an option for those traveling without a car. Those wishing to visit UNH can usually get a ride if requested.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2015

My wife and I have stayed at the Pines several times over the years while visiting our sons at UNH. The accommodations have always been very clean and comfortable and the hosts most friendly. They always go out of their way to see that we have everything we need and even drove us to campus for graduation so we wouldn't have to deal with traffic and parking our own car. Breakfast conversation is always enjoyable and stimulating. We much prefer staying at this historic inn to chain hotels, and the rates are very reasonable. As long as we have the need for a place to stay in the Durham area, and The Pines has room for us, we will not look elsewhere. We are more than satisfied there and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wechase63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coescorner, Owner at Pines Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are pleased that you were happy with your stay with us. We provide an affordable alternative to the larger hotels.
Being a small establishment as well as a family home, we are able to provide many amenities and services that larger hotels do not have the time to address.
Complementary local transportation to guests who arrive without a car is available by request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Recently stayed here for a week. A true historic home, with the comforts of home. Close and convenient to UNH, Dover and Portsmouth... Thanks to Mary Margaret and Roger (hosts) for making our stay so great. House has WiFi although at times it was temper-mental in the room. Breakfast was simple but great, always fresh fruit and a special baked item and lots of coffee. We miss Socks, the guest greeter :). We will absolutely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coescorner, Owner at Pines Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Thank you so much for your positive comments concerning your recent stay with us. We try hard to make our many guests feel at home here and are pleased when we succeed. We have a large number of repeat guests who stay with us whenever they are in the Durham area. They become like good friends who we welcome each time they visit. Roger and I very much look forward to your next trip to Durham as does Socks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

In 2011, invited by the University of New Hampshire for a half-a-year visit, I had to find a place in Durham or around, for me to stay with my wife and our youngest son (schooled at the Durham Junior High School). A Guest House accomodation soon appeared to be the best solution, and I contacted “The Pines”, since this seemed to be a well-located place, with affordable rates… Arriving there, we found everything to fulfill our most optimistic expectations. The house is settled at the city limit, but still at a walking distance from the Durham center, and on the route of city- and school-buses. The building itself (one of the oldest in Durham) is really a beauty, in the historical New-England style – and indeed many references to History are to be found everywhere (an interesting anecdote for us French guests is that Marquis de La Fayette stayed at The Pines in the early 1800s!). The bedrooms, in various styles and sizes, are pleasant, clean and comfortable, in the old-fashion way: of course: such a wooden 18th-Century house is NOT a concrete-made modern hotel and cannot be equipped in the same way; this is something completely different, as well as the daily life and the relationship with the other residents. A strong point of the house is its common rooms, accessible to the residents and giving them a lot of space: the large entrance hall, the “official” dining room, the seasonal “sun porch” (we turned it into a music rehearsal room…); and most important the kitchen (whose equipment is more classical than Hi-Tech, as you could expect…) and where, depending on the guests’ nationalities, you can get smells from various exotic recipes – competing with the more traditional New-England cooking by the landlady. Talking of this, I have so many good things to say about the excellent reception by Mary Margaret, who is always very helpful and cheerful to her guests, trying her best to make them feel at home, all qualities obviously very appreciated by everyone staying at The Pines. Her husband Roger also trades second-hand books, and is usually ready to discuss any topic, with his very personal sense of humor! And their cats (very sociable and well-bred guys) are also VIPs in the household… During our long stay, we met a lot of nice people among the guests, mostly foreign academics and UNH students, as you should expect in Durham – coming from various remote places in the World… but also US visitors on their way, staying for overnight or a couple of days. As a conclusion: I am presumably among the “best” guests of The Pines - I stayed there for seven months in 2011-2012, and since then I had several stays 2 to 4 weeks each, the latest one on April 2014… So, my opinion, very positive, is based on multiple experiences over quite a long time and until recently. Of course not everyone has the same expectations from a Guest House accommodation, my this warm recommendation primarily (while not exclusively, of course) aims at people in a situation similar to mine, searching for a friendly or family-like place for a medium/long stay– and then yes indeed, The Pines is certainly THE place to stay in Durham.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xavier L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coescorner, Owner at Pines Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thanks so much for such a glowing review! We so much appreciate our many return guests as they become friends whom we happily welcome over and over. They become a part of our family for a time as we are often introduced to other members of their family and colleagues during repeat visits. It is difficult to say goodby and we eagerly look forward to the next trip to The Pines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed in this Hotel when I visited UNH in April. The owner of the guest house (couple) are very helpful. They will be happy to help on any aspect that you may request for. I really enjoyed staying this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tek75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coescorner, Owner at Pines Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you so much for your positive comments on your recent stay at The Pines. We try to assist our guests with orientation to the Durham area including transportation to and from local destinations such as malls and grocery stores. As a small business we are able to meet the needs of our guests in ways that are more difficult for larger hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews