We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a worthwhile trip”

Children's Museum of New Hampshire
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Children's Museum of New Hampshire invites families to explore amazing creative exhibits that make learning fun. Discover dinosaurs, submarine, aerodynamics, brain waves, music, art, nature and more. Special area for babies and toddlers upstairs. Riverfront setting with playground, benches and picnic tables. Open year round with special events, classes, performances and workshops. Fall/Winter/Spring Hours: Tues-Sat 10am-5pm, Sun 12-5pm. Summer Hours (mid-June - Labor Day): Mon-Sat 10am-5pm, Sun 12-5pm.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Visited for first time with a 15 month and 2 yr old. Amazingly had to pay $10 for each of them as well as $10 per adult. Found the museum to be run down, somewhat dirty and several exhibits broken/closed. In addition there is a parking lot at the back but it is a pay to park! Do yourself a favor and just take your kids for a picnic on a playground.

Thank kat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neva C, Public Relations Manager at Children's Museum of New Hampshire, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit. We do offer discounts to anyone who holds an EBT Card (they get up to four family members in for $1/each) as well as discounts for retired and current military personnel and their families. We do our best to accommodate all different kinds of families, no matter their budget. In fact around 28% of our 93,000 annual visitors come in through our reduced admissions programs. Our hard working staff does everything they can to keep the exhibits up and running in good condition, but occasionally they need more than one day to fix a problem. It sounds like maybe you encountered that during your trip. We actually have a great cleaning crew that cleans every night, and then we as a staff do a deeper museum clean twice a year - we are due to close for two weeks in September for that annual cleaning and maintenance. We actually rent the museum building from the town of Dover for $1/year, and the parking lot behind the museum is a city lot, and we don't have control over that. We actually offer parking tokens at the front desk at a bulk discount, which is a bit of a savings if you visit often. The playground behind the museum was actually developed as a collaboration between the town of Dover and the museum, and we're really proud of it! So we hope you do take your kids to the playground and enjoy your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"post office"
in 19 reviews
"all ages"
in 18 reviews
"older kids"
in 7 reviews
"rainy day"
in 9 reviews
"yellow submarine"
in 5 reviews
"across the street"
in 4 reviews
"interactive exhibits"
in 4 reviews
"great place"
in 10 reviews
"green screen"
in 3 reviews
"nice playground"
in 3 reviews
"mind game"
in 3 reviews
"river exhibit"
in 3 reviews
"free parking"
in 3 reviews
"parking lot"
in 5 reviews
"birthday party"
in 4 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 4 reviews
"we spent hours"
in 2 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

My husband & I took our kids, ages 6 & 2, and we all had a blast! There was so much to see and do for this age group, and it was also fun for us adults! If you go in the summer, you may want to bring towels/bathing suits for kids because there is a great playground right outside with a splash pad. We also brought a lunch/ate inside the museum (no cafe inside/just snacks sold), and that work out perfect for the littles. We hit the playground and splash pad after the museum was closing. Perfect ending to our perfect day at this museum! Side note: Parking is not free.

Thank CYNDI Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Took the granddaughter here during spring break. She loved it, especially the post office and the build it fly it exhibit. It was a nice day and she also enjoyed the playground. Looking forward to going back.

1  Thank Doug1553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

I have visited this museum multiple times over the last few years with my kids, and have also hosted 2 birthday parties here. I can't say enough about how awesome this place is! A must visit for families!!

Thank melanieaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018

This is a small museum, but it has unexpectedly a lot of different things for kids to do. We spent 3 hours there with a 3y/o and a 7y/o, both had a lot of fun. We will come back. Great place to go in a cold winter day.
There was enough free parking in the area, but I can see how parking might be an issue on an extremely busy day. There are also quite a few restaurants nearby to have a family lunch after.

Thank AnnaDvinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Children's Museum of New Hampshire also viewed

 

Been to Children's Museum of New Hampshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing