We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place for dog owners! :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy Dog Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chocorua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lazy Dog Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Chocorua B&B and Inns
boston
Level Contributor
142 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great place for dog owners! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

This place is great! My husband and I stayed here a while back. The owners were extremely friendly. The dog care services were great! We'll definitely go back in the future! :)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Metro Washington, DC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

This Inn is TERRIFIC if you want to travel to the area with your pet. It is totally set up to let you, and them, enjoy time there. Dogs are welcome througout the entire property except in the food areas when food is being served (breakfast). They have a special fenced and fully-outfitted play yard in the back. It comes complete with water bowls and hoses to refill them, poop-scooping tools and trash cans, toys, and chairs for the humans when we get tired. There is also, an outbuilding that's been converted to half gym (Steve says no one uses it, but it's there) and half large, secure, clean, climate-controlled kennels where your dogs can stay during breakfast (no dogs in rooms unattended) and/or if you choose to go on our outing where your dog is not welcome--although there are MANY in the area where they can go and Steve is happy to tell you all about them!

If you are leaving your friend in the kennel ("doogie day care"), Steve will be happy to make sure he gets PLENTY of exercise in the yard (probably with other dogs around that day) and feed/water him, as well as provide excellent reports when you call to check-in. This is all included in the rate of the Inn--unlike many so-called pet-friendly lodgings (more like pet-tolerant I have often found, sadly), you do not pay extra for these services and Steve seems happy to do it and engage with you and your pet!

Steve is terrific at local recommendations and will make sure you get the info you need/want to make your trip what you want. He has extensive knowledge of the area, traffic patterns (which can be killer at certain times in this resort area, so this is valuable!), hours and best bets for places to eat, shop, hike, etc. He is happy to provide you with any and all details you want including maps, directions,etc. He is engaging and very helpful. He is also apparently a very good breakfast maker-as each morning we were there (4 days) we had a terrific, hot, freshly-prepared, tasty breakfast.

We stayed in the "Sit and Stay Awhile" Suite because we were traveling with one of our sets of parents. We feel it is important for others to be aware of the layout of this suite--espcially if you are expecting some privacy for either half of your party--there is very little due to the way it is set-up. We expected two rooms (each with their own hall entry) and a shared bath, perhaps between them, but that is not the case. The SUITE has only ONE ENTRY from the hall with the 2nd bedroom behind the first and then, the shared bath behind that. This means that anyone in the "back" bedroom will need to walk right past the bed of those in the "front" bedroom to come or go from the room. It also means that anyone in the "front" room needing to use the bathroom will need to walk right past the bed of those in the "back" bedroom. There is a door between the two rooms, but the need to pass through them to use either the bath facilities and enter/exit the suite makes for little privacy for 2 sets of adult couples. This set up is probably fine for families with kids, but we found it very stressful needing to tiptoe past one anothers beds when using the toilet in the middle of the night or while one set of sleepers wanted to turn in early or, exit the suite early in the AM. Just be aware of this when choosing your rooms. We wish we had understood the set up better as we would certainly still have choosen the inn, just chosen different rooms.

We found the hospitality terrific for both the humans and our dog, and the breakfasts tasty and filling. Also the convenience of the guest kitchen was a very nice benefit for storing left-overs or having a late night snack, etc. We found the house clean and other guests super-friendly. The Inn is RIGHT on the main road, so you may experience a bit of street noise. We would definitely stay at this Inn again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VacationKermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville, New Jersey, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

We recently stayed in the White Mountains at the Lazy Dog Inn with our puggle and have nothing but wonderful things to say about it! Our innkeeper Steven was very attentive and helped us explore the area and plan our outings. He also made wonderful breakfasts (loved the pumpkin bread) and had coffee ready by 7 am which was delightful :0) The inn offered a fenced in play yard and a clean kennel area for when you have to go out without your dog. We would definitely stay here again without hesitation!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Bethel, PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

It was just a little weekend getaway, but it was FABULOUS! The Inn is absolutely gorgeous, all the details & touches that Steve & Lauren put into the place really make the difference. It is just so warm & inviting for humans as well as pets. Being a dog lover, it's great knowing there are other people out there that are the same & have turned it into something wonderful to share! Anytime we had a question about places to hike or eat, Steve was always quick with his answers & reviews, very helpful!! A+++++++++! Will definitely return...for a longer stay!!! Logan loved it too (Our 4 yr old Choc Lab). He was thrilled that he was actually allowed on the furniture!! He was a very happy dog!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loganslucky6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

This was my third trip to the Lazy Dog. The inn is charming and furnished in a country style with lots of "doggy" touches. The innkeepers, Steve and Lauren were great with the dogs, feeding and romping them while we were away. They were also helpful with recommendations for hikes and places to see. The breakfasts were good, with fresh fruit and attention to low-fat choices which I appreciated. My dogs, who are large and enthusiastic were also warmly welcomed. It was also great to see that they are foster parents for Golden Retriever rescue, and had information on that available.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chickadee48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chocorua
8.7 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ossipee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
13.1 km away
Mount Whittier Motel
Mount Whittier Motel
#1 of 2 in Center Ossipee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.3 km away
The Farmstand B & B
The Farmstand B & B
#1 of 3 in Chocorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Days Inn Tamworth
Days Inn Tamworth
#2 of 6 in Tamworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
14.0 km away
Snowvillage Inn
Snowvillage Inn
#1 of 3 in Eaton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
12.0 km away
Inn at Crystal Lake & Pub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Dog Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Dog Inn

Property: Lazy Dog Inn
Address: Route 16, Chocorua, Tamworth, NH 03817
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Tamworth > Chocorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chocorua
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing