We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveller rating
397
42
8
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
397
42
8
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews popovers new england feather bed white mountains pool table dining room my husband and i play pool grounds are beautiful northern nh egg dishes walking trails roaring fire game room board games gracious hosts get away
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 456 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2020 via mobile

This was our third or fourth visit. Being in Hospitality and Retail, we had a very busy summer and fall. We just wanted a quiet and relaxing few days away. I knew the Adair would deliver and it did. They did this flawlessly, and still keeping all COVID-19 protocol in place. A beautiful room which was spotless. We ate all of our meals there, the food was excellent. If you've stayed at The Adair before, then you know of their monster size popovers at breakfast. Hot out of the oven with butter and strawberry jam. We loved the common room in the basement. Had a roaring fire, played pool (I lost each game), cards and games. We watched the big screen TV in the room, while relaxing and decompressing. Many thanks to the entire team. "Well played" Team Adair. We'll be back.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tespaulding1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey Rachdorf, General Manager at Adair Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

So nice to see you both again! I'm glad your needs were met and you could really decompress after a hectic year.
We appreciate your time in writing a detailed review and hope to see back again in the new year.

Take good care,
Meggen, Stacey and the Adair Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2020

Wonderful experience. A espectacular location. You will only hear the song of the birds and the breeze of the trees. Sorrounded by magical forest you will find a lost of comfort and excellent food. The attention of its staff is warm and discreet at the same time. The decoration of authentic vintage furniture, makes one travel through time.

Room tip: The suites has a wonderful deck and mini garden, and facilities for pets.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anelpancorvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey Rachdorf, General Manager at Adair Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

It is definitely a magical place, we agree! Nature is so relaxing...
glad to know you enjoyed your stay and we do hope you will return again soon.

Best,
Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2020

We were traveling with our dog and stayed in the dog-friendly Crawford Suite in mid-Oct. It was perfect with it's private entrance (both dog-wise and Covid-wise), a little private fenced in yard and NO foot traffic near the room. The Inn itself is lovely and Covid protocols were strictly adhered to. The food was OUTSTANDING. The dining room was set up with more than enough distance between tables but with the dog, we chose to take our meals in our room by our fireplace. That was handled seamlessly. I'm not sure if this is a Covid thing or not but they were very fussy about making dining reservations - even though we ate in our room. But it worked out fine. The Inn is not located close to a town exactly, but the location was lovely. One other thing - it snowed our second night there! Beautiful clinging to the trees and leaves. Our only criticism - the CA King feather bed and topper was a little too soft for our liking.

Room tip: Crawford Suite has just about the best set-up for traveling with a dog that we have seen.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank robertcV1249OI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey Rachdorf, General Manager at Adair Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

HI Robert
Thank you for taking the time you did to write a review of your recent stay at the Inn. We are glad you felt comfortable and safe here. The snow was a nice surprise, wasn't it!

Hope to see you again
Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2020

We stayed in the Dalton room over Columbus Day weekend in 2020. There is a complimentary breakfast included each morning - fruit, popover (no filling) and entrée which were always delicious. The service was average. One morning the popovers were served flat and underdone which no one acknowledged and at dinner we asked the chef what wine would pair well with our meal and received an answer after we had finished eating. The rooms themselves are quaint. The house is over 100 years old with small windows and no television, which is nice for a getaway in the mountains. There is a large jacuzzi with a window overlooking the mountains which was wonderful. However, the bugs in our room really put a damper on the stay. We visited during ladybug season and the staff left a vacuum in the hall for guests to vacuum out the bugs. The ladybugs were tolerable, but we also encountered a large number of stinkbugs and flies. We made the best of it, but repeatedly having to get up to kill bugs made it challenging to relax. Outside of that, the grounds are beautiful and staff very friendly. We would not stay here again given the price point, but we enjoyed ourselves nonetheless.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JBASC287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey Rachdorf, General Manager at Adair Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2020

We apologize for the service you experienced. Although this is by far not our standard your feedback is greatly appreciated. Over Columbus Weekend we did experience some issues as staffing is very trying with the current state of affairs. That being said it is not an excuse for the popover as it should have been cooked throughout. We are constantly trying to improve the experience at Adair. Our staff is hard working and personable but unfortunately missed on your wine service. On a side note the we have addressed the bug issue with our pest services and now realize out fall treatment has to be a bit earlier in the season in case of unexpected warm weather increasing these seasonal bugs.
We do offer 2 for 1 midweek and weekend stay specials exception of holidays. This dramatically reduces the price point and would love for you to give us a second try.

Sincerely,
Stacey
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2020

I stayed in the Dalton room which was blissful. Loved the decor and the windows which afforded a terrific view of the mountains. A friend stayed in the Sinclair Suite which is enormous but not as charming, in my opinion, as the rooms in the main house.

The popover breakfast with eggs and coffee everyday was lovely, and dinner was well prepared and delicious. We ate outdoors all but once and then waited till the dining room was almost empty. There is a heat lamp on the patio so unless the porch is wet as it was one night you can eat there even when it's cold outside. Staff are all friendly and helpful and knowledgeable about the area.

Date of stay: October 2020
Thank gersfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey Rachdorf, General Manager at Adair Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2020

Thank you, Diane, for your kind and thorough feedback (and for bringing us bagels and lox cream cheese from NYC, wow!!!).
We do hope to see you and your friend again soon. Be safe, stay happy, and all the best to you always!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews