We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Nearby Hotels
US$146
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Legacy Resort Casino(Reno)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$69
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eldorado Resort Casino(Reno)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$137
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peppermill Resort Spa Casino(Reno)(Great Value!)
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (15,304)
Filter reviews
15,304 results
Traveller rating
8,209
4,272
1,717
655
451
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,209
4,272
1,717
655
451
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbowling alleysummit roomsjohnny rocketsdriving rangemovie theaterget awayan upgradenice roomslot machinesnon smokingbuffetrimfuncasinolarrygamblingstarbucks
Filter
Updating list...
15,035 - 15,040 of 15,304 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2012

First of all it should be said that the restaurants were excellent both in value and quality. The rooms on the other hand were in dire need of change and updating. Musty bathrooms, dirty carpets,etc etc. We were moved from one such room to another that was only marginally better. Then to top things off the people in the adjoining room were smoking (non smoking floor) and when we called the front desk to report the problem nothing happened. We called a second time and they claimed that security had checked it out but discover nothing. Now you could easily smell it standing in the hall not to mention checking out the room or coming into our room to smell the smoke. I called a third time and was told that they could move me and that they could not enter the room to check out the situation! Really, that was their answer. Get me out of bed,repack our bags and move us rather than solve the problem. Finally I got them to admit that some of the people from the floor show were occupying the room and they could'nt do anything except credit us the $10 resort fee. Big deal.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ripmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Be careful that wne you arrive at this property there is NOTHING else to do except stay at this porperty. It was like a huge smoky vacum that sucked me in and never let me leave.
the newer rooms were not to bad but overall a thumbs down

Room Tip: Go for an upgrade to the newer rooms, its worth it
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellfc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Decided to make a weekend out of the Festival of mariachis. I knew the one main act from traveling to Mexico, but I have to say Vargas was great and so were the other two mariachi bands! My wife and friends ate at the new Cantina and it was really good! We stayed in the newer suites and they were nice. Always ask for the summit rooms. The other rooms may not be as good.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smitty775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

The Grand Sierra Resort has been a wonderful place to stay in Reno for years. It used to be the Hilton. It is a large hotel just outside of the downtown area that is spacious and clean. The usual large casino, ball rooms and a bowling alley!
Ask for the Summit rooms as they are more updated.
Seasonal outdoor pool.

Room Tip: Ask for the Summit rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RxDive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

If you must stay hear, book the summit room which is better but still there are other resorts with high quality in Reno. The hotel has standard room which is really a 2 star quality and if you book in hotwire, priceline you will end in one of these room which are the lower floors. Other than that the casino is good, there is big arena for kids and never tried any food here.

Room Tip: Choose upper floor which are the summit rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

We are currently 40% through renovating our Summit rooms and all the Summit rooms will be renovated by April 20th. We are finalizing our lower floor GSR mock up room and will begin that renovation in October. While our GSR corridors and rooms are dated, they are clean and well maintained. We believe all of our guests receive great value for the price paid based on all of the additional amenities that GSR makes available compared to the other properties in the Reno/Tahoe area. We are able to cater to the business class, gambler, and family all in one location. We have recently completed renovations on our casino lounge bar "Wet" and will be fininshing up the main lobby and Front Desk area by the end of the month. Clearly we are the place to stay when your travel plans include Reno.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews