We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little Gem.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of ROCK HOUSE MEWS

Comfortable  lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Comfortable  lounge
ENTRANCE to the mews PATIO
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Comfortable  lounge
ENTRANCE to the mews
PATIO
THE SOUTH DOWNS
view from mews
Bert !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
South Chailey, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
helen g
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little Gem.”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Where do l start, I was blown away by Rock House Mews, the apartment is spotlessly clean, light and airy and the decor is beautiful. The kitchen is fully equipped with every thing you would need for your stay. The bathroom and shower again spotlessly clean and lovely shower. Plenty of wardrobe space in the bedroom and the bed is so comfy such a bonus. The
views from Rock House Mews are to die for, sheep in the field and chickens and views across the hills of Sussex. It is about thirty minutes to East Grinstead or Lewis from the apartment and the bluebell railway is seven minutes away all of these are well worth a visit. If you go to Lewis you must visit the Flee Market and also a great place to eat is Bills (over the bridge bottom of hill) we had a great lunch there. Our hosts Jill and John are lovely people so friendly and helpful, when we arrived there was a welcome basket with Milk, bread, fruit, fresh eggs and a bottle of beer that went down so well after our hot journey. I would highly recommend Rock House Mews and we hope to be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything all of it was perfect
Liked least: Nothing liked it all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for the fantastic review you have given us , we are so pleased you enjoyed it here and we do hope you will return.
thank you again and hope to see you again
john and jill baillieux
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skatermum...
1 review
“Perfect weekend hideaway”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Just returned from a weekend at this mews
The apartment is very well thought out , great use of space and well decorated .
Jill was very friendly on arrival even though it was late in the evening , (having been caught in Friday traffic) a marvellous welcome hamper , including fresh eggs and a bottle of wine was waiting for us.
The only downside to note is that the spiral staircase in the pictures is the ONLY access , so could be difficult for those less able and also if you have lots of luggage , although Jill does help carry this.
That said , we booked thus as an alternative to a premier inn , which we normally use for sporting competition weekends and we were not disappointed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2015
Thank you for the nice review you have given us for Rock house mews, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again some time
Regards
jill and john
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith G
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As comfortable as home”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My family (Wife and 2 children, 9 and 17 years old) and I visited UK to spend Christmas with my family in Brighton and Eastbourne. The location of this apartment was ideal as it is about 30 minute car journey to Brighton, Eastbourne and the Airport.
As it was Christmas and we would be spending more time than usual in the apartment , we wanted something that was clean, comfortable and relaxing but at a reasonable price. The pictures of the property looked really nice and upon arrival we were not disappointed. The place was clean, warm and felt homely right from the start. The double bed in the bedroom was nice and comfy with crisp clean sheets and the children had not complaints sleeping on the sofa bed in the living room. Jill had even put up a Christmas tree and stockings for the Children. Our 9 year old was excited to help John collect eggs each morning and made friends with Panther the farm cat who tried on occasion to invite himself into the apartment. Christmas morning was perfect for a walk so we headed out to find a geocache that was nearby. There are numerous footpaths that you can follow for a lovely walk in the country. We found Jill and John to be very nice and they were always happy to help with any requests. Now we have found this gem of an apartment this will be our first choice whenever we are visiting the UK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the appartment
Liked least: Lugging suitcases up the stairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2015
Dear Keith,
Thank you so much for your review , John and l are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and you enjoyed your Christmas .
we hope to see you again !
Jill and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bootslrb7...
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, stunning location, beautifully presented, luxurious and friendly”
Reviewed 23 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Jill and John welcomed us to this beautifully presented, immaculate holiday home. In its stunning surrounds it was a lovely retreat from our busy lives. Lots historic places to visit, also near brighton and all its attractions and situated in beautiful country side with views South downs. Very clean and welcoming and would difenatley book again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2014
Thank you so much Michelle ,
we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Rock House Mews
and hope to see you again
Kind Regards
jill & John Baillieux
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing