We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel on Fremont”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Golden Nugget Hotel
Ranked #88 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Hotel on Fremont”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This was our second stay at The Nugget. Rooms are nice and large and clean. Staff is great. Really nice restaurants, especially The Grotto

It's great staying on Fremont as opposed to the Strip because there's no 10 mile hike from one hotel to the other. Fremont is very busy at night so there's always somthing to do and people watching is at it's best on Fremont.

We stayed in a regular room and it was fine. Beds are super comfortable. I can't think of anything negative to say. Had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HellerbCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,600
    3,881
    1,584
    787
    572
See reviews for
1,829
4,544
517
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,815)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SurreyBritish Columbia,Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

To start off with we had to line up for 3 and 1/2 hrs. to check in as their computors were down. We had stayed there in july the past year and the same thing happened. Attendents put other people in front of us in the line and when we all complained they just shrugged it off. We were not compensated for our long wait and stress. Were given coffee in our room for the 1st day and after that we had to pay if we wanted it. All other hotels give it free. We were given tickets to a country show that was an accident waiting to happen. When we got up the escelator we found that there was no room to get off escelator, so we literally fell into people. They would not open the doors to the theater which would have eliminated this problem. We went to the buffet for breakfast and they had run out of waffles. I asked them to make some more and they said they were out. Who runs out of stuff at a buffet. The whole area was so disorganized. People lined up for the egg station that didn't want it but had to stay in the line. Our coffee was cold by the time we got back to our table.When we checked out after 4 nights they tried to charge us for a breakfast we never had in the cafe. All they had to do was match the signatures and see that it wasn't ours. We were very dissappointed as we enjoy staying on freemont st.

Room Tip: End rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myrac805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed 2/20 - 2/23 (Only because they had charged ALL night up front- by mistake?) Checked In with the rudest Front Desk cleark I have ever dealt with. Stayed in the new Rush Tower $160 for a Corner Suite on a weekday - supposed to be VIP, the room was nice but $10 for in room coffee from a Keurig and styrofoam cups with "handi-pac" sugar? $8 for a bottled water? Extra charge for Internet? The hotel did its best about every 5 hours or so to make our stay a living nightmare (Maids knocking on your door @ 8AM to see if they can clean your room - Construction @ 6AM that sounds like a truck is running into the building over and over again - Hotel computer systems crashing every 3 hours so no one knows whats going on with room charges (At this time I have been charged for 5 nights and only stayed there 3 - no one seems to be able to fix it) - When I asked to speak to a manager I was told he was very busy and would not come to the Rush Tower - When I demanded to speak to a manager I was told I would have to go to the other side of the property to the Main registration area as thats where their offices are - I went over there and the manager still refused to come out - I could see why EVERYONE in that lobby was angry - NEVER - EVER - EVER again !!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay anywhere but here !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
123 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

When we go to Vegas we always prefer to stay downtown. Love the Fremont experience - light show, rock bands, easy to walk in and out of casinos AND we win more downtown than we do on the strip.

Stayed in the Rush Tower. Very nice rooms - like the double sinks, and fairly spacious. While many strip hotels charge a "resort fee" the Nugget goes not BUT we had to pay $10.00 if we want coffee in our room using the little one cup canisters. Would rather have good coffee from Starbucks. Fitness Center was $20.00 a day. We chose to walk Fremont and get exercise for free.

There were hardly any plugs for appliances in the rooms. With two cell phones, IPODS, Kindle, etc they need to update this so that items can be easily plugged in. I just bring an extension cord where ever I go since some hotels still don't have enough plugs.

The biggest issue we had with the hotel was the noise factor. The rooms must be made of paper. We were awakened at 3:00 AM by our neighbors playing loud music and singing at the top of their lungs. Now....yes this is Vegas and we were out and got home late too but did not choose to sing and play music for all to hear...so why don't the hotels have better soundproofing in the rooms since they know this will be happening on a daily basis. We decided to put up with this for about 45 minutes hoping that the neighbors would fall asleep or pass out but no luck. Finally at 3:45 am I decided to call the front desk only to be told all operators were busy and I was number 3 on hold. I held for 15 minutes and finally just left a message. Their message says they will call back. At 4 AM I pounded on the wall loudly twice and it worked.....silence after that. No call back ever from the front desk and no one ever to answer the phone...what if it was an emergency?????

At check out I was charged an extra $90.00 by mistake on my bill. If I hadn't looked it over carefully and kept my original reservation booking, I would have had to pay this. As it turned out, I was told they switched over to a new computer system and the price had incorrectly transferred over. I was given a $90.00 credit back to my credit card but haven't seen it yet so hopefully I won't have to fight this one out with them as it was their mistake.

However, even with these issues, I still feel this is the best hotel to stay at downtown. Service is generally good. Nice bars and entertainment. Free parking. Nice budget rent a car in the hotel making it very easy to rent a car for heading out to see the sights. Just keep an eye on your final bill and bring earplugs if you are not a heavy sleeper.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelNut70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bay, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Good Stuff First:
Hotel is clean & reasonably affordable. Nice pool area for children.

Bad Stuff:
I paid extra for a suite and for VIP check-in because the regular check-in area is almost always packed. Well I spent 30 minutes to check in in the VIP area. Then I was given a handicapped room.

Being 6'3", I wanted more than 1 short sink and a closet curtain rod that was more than 4 feet off the ground. I spent more than an hour being bounced around on the phone. Never got to a human that could help.

On the first morning, I managed to talk to a manager by phone who told me they'd get me another room and to check in at VIP that afternoon.

After waiting 30 minutes in the VIP line with no movement, I gave up. Tried to get a manager on the phone for the rest of the trip with no luck. If you ask for a manager's voice mail, they send you to a line that never answers. They never bothered to call back to see if I was happy. I won't stay there again.

Room Tip: Unless you require it, be sure they don't give you a handicapped room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#105 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,301 reviews
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#107 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Plaza Hotel & Casino
#110 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget Hotel

Property: Golden Nugget Hotel
Address: 129 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#38 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#43 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 2419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Las Vegas is the most luxurious resort on the Fremont Street Experience, and consistently receives critical acclaim for exceeding customer expectations. With more than 2,400 deluxe guestrooms and suites, the Golden Nugget has everything necessary for a top-notch Las Vegas vacation. The high-energy casino features the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, race and sports book and poker room. Experience nightly entertainment with master impressionist and comedian Gordie Brown and dine at world-class restaurants such as Grotto Italian Ristorante and Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse. Complete with a luxurious spa and salon, The Tank, a year-round outdoor swimming pool complete with a 200,000-gallon, live shark aquarium and the new H20 poolside lounge, there is something for everyone at the Golden NUgget. Take one step inside and you'll see why the Golden Nugget Las Vegas sets the standard for luxury and comfort. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest and hope you enjoy your trip to Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Nugget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Las Vegas
Downtown Las Vegas
Las Vegas Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing