We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,001)
Filter reviews
1,001 results
Traveller rating
268
294
225
81
133
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
294
225
81
133
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shrimp cocktail rooms are small dancing dealers fremont st old vegas fremont experience room facing light show stay downtown players club party atmosphere craps table light sleeper flat screen drink service suite casino
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 1,001 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We have stayed at this property 2 time previous and our stays were uneventful, so we decided to celebrate our 37th anniversary at this property.

Obviously, something in Management has changed! Let's just say - there was no Anniversary Celebration!!

We had reserved a room with an paid guarantee upgrade to a "Suite" (the "Suites" are 1 room - larger than a standard room, with some upgraded amenities). They charged me upfront for the guarantee and everything was fine until we arrived to check in. We were early, so we knew the room would not be ready, we bell checked the luggage and off we went to enjoy downtown. When we returned at 3:00pm, they said the room was still not ready, so back out we went.

The fun began when we returned at 5:30pm, The front desk supervisor J****(FIRE HER) informed us that our room would not be available that night, so they placed us in a room ( unrenovated from 1920, yes it really looked and felt (and smelled) like that - with a concert going till 2am right outside our window). The front desk supervisor J**** said "just one night" because our reserved room would be available the next night. The next day - a disastrous repeat of the first day and still no reserved room. They did move us to a "Nicer Room" but we had to make a scene to get it. Finally on the 3rd day we got our "Guaranteed Room", but only after a lot of complaining.

Everyone of the front desk employees (except for 1 - I*****) were rude, uncaring and unconcerned with our problem. As we observed, the problems of other guests trying to check in around us were met in exactly the same manner.

There are a lot of places to stay in downtown Vegas, I would move this property to last place on your list, unless you know the owner of the casino!

I even had comps with this property, and we were still treated this way. Consider yourself warned, book your stay here, only if you absolutely have to!!

Room tip: Stay away from the street side of this property - LOUD (save a headache, book at a different property)
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, Manager at Golden Gate Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Bob T,

Thank you for your valued feedback. Here at Golden Gate, we are very appreciative of each of our guests' unique perspectives, and we regret the fact that you encountered multiple inconveniences during your stay. We are in the process of forwarding your concerns to the respective departments for immediate improvements. We truly hope you will choose to give us another chance in the future, as we would love for you to make some truly golden memories with us.

Kind Regards,

Kelly O'Connor

Social Media/Online Reputation Manager
Golden Gate Hotel and Casino
social@thed.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

We regularly go down to Golden Gate to gamble. The remodeling was needed but it's a confusing layout. Machines in older part are too close together. Tables are crammed in by bar! Sound system was way better! Loud but not blaring!!
Players club in a way better location. Had lots of people looking for restrooms!
Machines were very tight, but we have a remodel to pay for!
Going to need better comps to keep going down there. It can be a hassle with the construction and parking. As a local need more incentive..

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Katkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, Manager at Golden Gate Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Katkem,

Thank you for your valued review of Golden Gate. We are always striving to improve our overall guest experience, so we will be sharing your comments with the appropriate departments for immediate improvements. We surely hope to welcome you back again soon for a truly golden experience here at the Vegas classic!

Kind Regards,

Kelly O'Connor

Social Media/Online Reputation Manager
Golden Gate Hotel and Casino
social@thed.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We really enjoyed our stay here the The Golden Gate - you are right in the centre of action in Freemont Street but not enough to be bothered by the noise (which to be fair is non existent after 1am). Good mix of slots and gaming tables in the Casino. The hotel itself is typical of an older 1930's style with classic updates. In house safe.
No pool. Free car parking in the lot next door. Free downtown shuttle bus that will take you to the local discount shopping mall. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, Manager at Golden Gate Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear blackbird1105,

Thank you very much for your gracious review of Golden Gate! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our central locale on the exciting Fremont Street Experience, as well as the fun games offered in our casino. We truly anticipate your next stay with us!

Kind Regards,

Kelly O'Connor

Social Media/Online Reputation Manager
Golden Gate Hotel and Casino
social@thed.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

We had a good time staying at the hotel but the door to our bathroom was amazingly small and bumped the toilet when opened. We didn't have coffee maker in the room but it was clean and bed was comfortable.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, Manager at Golden Gate Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Laura W,

Thank you for your positive review of Golden Gate! We are glad you had an overall good stay, and we sincerely hope to welcome you back for an even better one.

Kind Regards,

Kelly O'Connor

Social Media/Online Reputation Manager
Golden Gate Hotel and Casino
social@thed.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

I had comped rooms for Friday and Saturday night at Golden Gate through a promotion (we stay there frequently). We checked in late Friday night, about 1030, and asked if there were any upgrades because we love the suites there and the regular rooms are very small and very old. Unfortunately, there weren't any suites available but were offered the penthouse for $400 a night. What? If it was still open at 1030 on Friday night, did they really think someone was going to walk in and book it? They could have offered at a lower price, and we probably would have taken it rather than let it sit empty.

We went to our room, 214. The front desk clerk was very very nice and helpful, she asked us if we wanted one on fremont or to the side for some quiet. 214 faces the Plaza, so nice view, but the room was sooooo teeny! The bathroom was like a phone booth. There was barely enough room to walk around the bed, let alone someplace to set up our suitcase. One tiny table with a chair that you couldn't pull out and still walk to the bed. Room was very clean. But very old and run down.

My beef is that we booked another room for my sister for her engagement gift - this one we paid for - and it was way nicer than ours. Much bigger with a bigger bathroom. Did we get stuck in a tiny room because we were comped? Is this a way to treat return guests who are loyal to your hotel?

We love the atmosphere and staff at Golden Gate, we always gamble there, and we love the location. Felt like we were second class guests because we were comped, though.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Jody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, Manager at Golden Gate Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Jody L,

Thank you for your valued review of Golden Gate! Thank you for being loyal guests of ours- we truly appreciate and enjoy your company. We are in the process of forwarding your comments to the appropriate departments, as we are always striving to improve our overall guest experience. We hope you will join us again in the future, for the golden time you expect and deserve.

Kind Regards,

Kelly O'Connor

Social Media/Online Reputation Manager
Golden Gate Hotel and Casino
social@thed.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews