We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$75
eDreamsUS$75
Agoda.comUS$75
TripadvisorUS$75
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
68
116
49
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
68
116
49
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small town death valley in town main street rotary phone scenic drive room was clean las vegas great price breakfast included stovepipe wells road trip microwave and fridge place to stay national park only stayed one night minute drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2021 via mobile

We stayed here for one night while exploring Death Valley in mid March. We had considered staying in the park but the reviews and the rates convinced us to explore other options. We hadn’t camped in quite a while, and the DVNP campgrounds didn’t look all that inviting, so in the end we opted to make the 45 minute drive up to Beatty.

Beatty is a small town and everything is easy to find right off their Main Street. And the El Portal is exactly what you’d picture a small town motel to look like. It was very windy and gusty during the day, so we were so happy just to have a roof over our heads. We checked in and found our room to be clean and spacious, with some nice little touches like finding a strip of toilet paper laid across the seat by housekeeping to assure us it had been cleaned. We felt totally comfortable and had a great night’s sleep!

One more note, try the burger and cheesesteak at the VFW, unbelievably good!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DDMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbie O'Dell, Owner at El Portal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2021

fantastic! we are so pleased that your time here was comfortable. please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2021

I can't imagine staying anywhere else when visiting Death Valley. Very nice well maintained motel. It's a little older, however it matches up well if you stayed at a nice Best Western. The value for your dollar is awesome. Great price. Clean rooms, nice bed, and fluffy towels. Plus, the owners are really nice people and very helpful and willing to go the extra mile. My wife requested an extra sheet and they delivered an entire bedding set. Beatty might be a few miles outside Death Valley, however its less than a fourth the price you will spend for staying at an overpriced resort in the park. I can buy a lot of gas with the extra money. Stay at the El Portal you won't be sorry.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeddyGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbie O'Dell, Owner at El Portal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2021

Wowzer! thank you so much for such a fantastic review. Please come visit us again your always welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2021 via mobile

We had a very nice, and very quiet stay at the El Portal. Clean, unfussy room. Nice desk staff. Great pizza and beer nearby. All the necessities, at an affordable price.

Easy to get to, from any direction. If you're into geocaching, there are several in town, and there's an Adventure Lab in Rhyolite. More good reasons to stay at the El Portal!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank wilsonjw42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2020

When our Inn at Death Valley reservation was canceled due to the California COVID shut down, we were devastated! But this friendly Mom & Pop motel came to our rescue at a tiny fraction of the price. The hotel has a 1950s vibe and the rooms look at bit worn, but ours was clean, very comfortable, equipped with everything we needed, and available! We were very happy with the room and the value. The bed was very comfortable -- not too hard and not too soft -- and the shower pressure was almost too much. It even had in-room coffee, a refrigerator, and a good hair dryer. Everything you'd get at a chain at a very budget friendly price, and unlike a chain, it had personality and you'll remember it. (Stayed 12/26/20)

The town is tiny but cute. The motel is right across from the Beatty Museum. We had excellent pizza (really outstanding!) and beer (99 bottles on the wall to choose from) for dinner at the Sourdough Saloon, a couple of blocks away' but if that's not to your liking (or the stink of cigarette smoke at the Saloon is too much for you), there are several other places to eat within an easy walk or drive.

Staying in Beatty also gave us a reason to explore Rhyolite before heading into the park the next morning. The Goldwell outdoor art exhibit is a must-see, and the cemetery is pretty amazing too.

Room tip: The only noise was the ventilation unit. Didn't notice any road noise and we were pretty close to the road.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 59GoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2020 via mobile

A 5☆ Motel . Updates on some room amenities. Comfortable bed and sitting area. Nice cotton sheets. Safe and clean and quiet. So close for visiting Death Valley National Park. Free wifi is fast.
Pool available in summer.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank phyllis667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbie O'Dell, Owner at El Portal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2020

Fantastic Phyllis, thank you for all the stars, we are so glad you were comfortable, this is what we strive for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews