We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idylic, Tranquil Villa near Mondello Beach”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Chiara

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mondello, Palermo, Province of Palermo, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Helen E
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idylic, Tranquil Villa near Mondello Beach”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Salvo was attentive, but not intrusive and very helpful.
He drove us to the supermarket on arrival to stock up on essentials which was much appreciated.
Villa stylish and clean, views amazing, although slightly remote from Mondello Beach which is approx 30 mins walk. Pleasant walk daytime or early evening, but wouldn't recommend late at night. There are taxis available, but most drivers werent sure of where to find the Villa.
Outdoor space at the villa is amazing, and very relaxing, with a BBQ, outdoor shower and stylish garden furniture.
Would recommend "The Crazy Pub" for fresh, authentic pizzas, which are also available to take away.
Palermo is easily accessible by bus, which takes 20 minutes.
All in all, had a great time, with no real negatives

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor space at the Villa, and the great views
Liked least: The acessability to local ameniies
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo L
Liskeard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable and relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The owner was very pleasant and helpful – coming out to meet us at a nearby supermarket to guide us to the property when we got lost in Mondello as we drove in from the airport on arrival.
We had a relaxing break in very pleasant accommodation with good facilities, including a private area for sitting out.
There is a bus service available about a mile away which will take you into Palermo or Mondello. Few faculties are within walking distance and you may enjoy your holiday more if you hire a car, although you may also find the robust Sicilian approach to driving somewhat challenging!
My only criticism would be that the direction instructions to find the property could be a little more explicit. A diagram or map of the route would be helpful. Apart from that small niggle I would highly recommend this property.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTatts
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Paradise Amid The Palm Trees”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Recently returned from 2 very relaxing weeks @ Villa Chiara. We spent most of our holiday lazing around in the garden or on either of the 2 terraces reading and soaking up the sun, it was an ideal break to get away from the hustle bustle and general stupidity of everyday existence.

We didn't hire a car this trip, we should have done as it would have allowed us to explore more, however that didn't spoil our stay. From what I saw of Sicilian driving though, you'd need good nerves to join in with their highway madness.

The views over the sea are wonderful, which means it's on a hill yes !... So everything is "down there" and if you venture forth to explore then at some point you must come back up. It's steep !. We are both fit and healthy, lots of people are not so fortunate so be aware if you are looking at this and have any mobility issues.

The local beach is stony and rocky, Mondello itself has a strip of public beach which gets very very crowded, everything else has been taken up by the "pay for the day" type Lido arrangements. If you desire to be warmed by the suns rays all day then bear this in mind as the sun terraces at the villa are in the shade after 14:45 during August-September.

Francesco and Rossella are great hosts, collected/returned us from our flight and pointed us in the right direction for our needs whilst there. Available if needed whilst we were there but letting us do our thing without any imposition on our stay.

All in all we had a great break.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Tranquility and View
Liked least: Walking back to it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom F
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hideaway in the hills”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Lovely little villa up in the hills overlooking the sea, our host Salvo was great, he picked us up at the airport took us into Mondello showing us some of the highlights, He then took us to the villa to drop of our case, then on to the local supermarket to do some shopping. The villa itself is lovely With all the amenities you could require inc out door BBQ and shower, lovely patios with plenty of loungers, the kitchen is well equipped should you need it and bathroom nice and modern. Its a 20 min walk down to Mondello beach which was fine for us all in all a delight. Salvo then took us back to the airport for our journey home.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonorCH
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A tree house overlooking the sea”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

That's how it felt! It was like a wonderful little cabin hidden in the trees. Like other people have said, we were surprised by how much outdoor space there was: two terraces, a mini terrace over the house and a lawn. We spent most of our time in Mondello sat outside on one or other of the terraces.

Very, very handily, Salvo picked us up from our previous apartment in Palermo. I have no idea how we would have got to Mondello otherwise, and the journey over the mountains was amazing. Salvo stopped to show us viewpoints, churches, the sea...loved him. He also took us back on to the airport at the end of our stay, first dropping us off at the beach for one last hour in the sun.

Mondello itself is lovely. The sea is beautiful, the mountains are beautiful and some of the architecture is lovely. We were there over the (Sicilian) bank holiday weekend and the beach wasn't going to win any prizes after being hit by thousands of people but it was being cleaned up on the Monday.

The house was neat and clean, with ample space when you just know you'll be outdoors all the time. The kitchen was a bit limited for our needs (we cook a LOT) but wouldn't be if you plan on eating out most nights. We did use the outside grill on our last night which was interesting - due to our own complete lack of experience! You can buy charcoal at the little market down the hill if you need it. You can get pretty much anything you'd need there, including fresh bread, wine and vegetables alongside toiletries etc.

My favourite thing about the villa was the view. My lord! From the bed, you can see the sea and from the terraces you can see a LOT of sea. The top terrace (on top of the house) gives you a great view of the mountains looming behind you too.

Given that it was the bank holiday weekend, we were greeted by thumping drum and bass from a nearby house party (we were pretty pleased with that to be honest) but it was very quiet the rest of the time, bar family chat around the evening meal.

I don't know what else to tell you: comfortable bed, hot sun, lush greenery and a view of the sea that could break your heart. Book it.

Oh - if you don't like climbing hills, this ain't for you. It's a mountain, which helps offset the calorific value of all the arancini and cannoli you'll be eating.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the outside areas - amazing.
Liked least: Kitchen utensils but we are fussy cooks!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Ireland
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.