We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More B&B than resort - not suitable for young children”
Review of Cherrabah Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cherrabah Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elbow Valley
Reviewed 7 July 2017

I took my young sons to Cherrabah recently who are aged 7 and 5. This is not a place for young children. The staff are extremely friendly and my boys had a good time. This did not live up to my expectations based on the website.
The activities that are promoted for children include animal feeding, a tractor train and mini golf. The only animals you are able to feed are sheep and goats and deer. This whole process took us about 15 minutes. The tractor train only runs if there are 15 people willing to ride and a driver available. This did not occur over the 3 days that we were there. The mini golf consists of 7 holes that are very basic and old - this also took us about 15 minutes.
From what I could tell, the 'resort' has become more like a B&B establishment and this seems to be what the staff prefer. The views are exceptional, however the facilities are worn and in desperate need of work/repair. I note on other reviews from 12 months ago the manager claims to have commenced upgrades, I can assure as of July 2017 this has not taken place anywhere that I could see.
If you ave teenage children that are old enough to ride on quad bikes and horses outside of a barn it would be an ok place to visit for 2 days maximum.

Room Tip: A self contained room would be my recommendation over the standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fran E, Manager at Cherrabah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Greetings from Cherrabah Resort.

I was a little disappointed to read your comments about Cherrabah.
Firstly all rooms have been refurbished in the past 6 months including the homestead. This is the first complaint we have had to our upgrades. All our guests (many returning families) have been impressed with our country theme.
During the school holidays we had several family groups staying with us, who have enjoyed the property, the relaxed, safe environment with ability to do as little or as much as you liked.
Activities that were available to you at no charge included the following, Put put golf, tennis, push bikes, kayaking, fishing and animal feeding.
As you can appreciate to do a group activity like the tractor train or farm show we do require certain numbers. I would have to say the weather did not help during your stay but that is not something we have any control off.
If you would like to return to Cherrabah in the near future plase do not hesitate to contact me

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Just come back from a 3 day camping adventure with the family, including 2 teenagers and a 10 yo. What a great time we all had!! Staff were amazingly friendly and helpful, food was homely and plentiful at the Friday night buffet, and the animals gorgeous. Cannot recommend it high enough. Teenagers now want to make this place a regular event!! With nil internet service- wow!!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fran E, Manager at Cherrabah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thank you for your kind words ,we look forward to seeing your back at Cherrabah Resrt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

We camped in our own van. The staff were absolutely fantastic, so friendly and helpful. There is plenty to do in a lovely rural situation away from it all! Beautiful views and a lovely homestead. The bush walking was great, next time I'll go horse riding,

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulaschultz2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fran E, Manager at Cherrabah Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

We look forward to seeing you back at Cherrabah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

This is a great getaway from the hustle and bustle of life to disconnect and reconnect with your partner.

Rooms were cosy but most of the time is spent outside doing bushwalking, taking in the views or partaking in activities.

Staff very helpful and professional.

Food and drinks in the main area were great and the view is to die for.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lawdogs A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

My partner and I had our wedding at Cherrabah on the 9 July 2016. We were very pleased with every thing and how it went. Staff couldn't do any more than they did making our special day perfect. Rooms had just been renovated and the food for the wedding and day before and after couldn't be better. Views from homestead are breath taking. I would recommend having your special day there or just for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elbow Valley
37.2 km away
Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn Warwick
Comfort Inn Warwick
#4 of 13 in Warwick
75 reviews
1.3 km away
Abbey of the Roses
Abbey of the Roses
#3 of 13 in Warwick
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
53 on Victoria
53 on Victoria
#2 of 13 in Warwick
184 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Cherrabah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherrabah Resort

Address: 1 Keoghs Road | PO Box 304, Elbow Valley, Queensland 4370, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Elbow Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elbow Valley
Price Range: €72 - €77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherrabah Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cherrabah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherrabah Homestead Hotel Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing