We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded my expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hidden Moose Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitefish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hidden Moose Lodge
Ranked #2 of 11 Whitefish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
402 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

Went to Montana on a whim. Chose The Hidden Moose based on these reviews and it was exactly as most here have said - great place! The owner, Kent and his colleague Daphne were gracious and accommodating throughout my three-night stay. They pointed me to all the beautiful hiking spots and best restaurants. The best compliment I could give is to say I will go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamAdamsGhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dabs58, Manager at Hidden Moose Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you are able to come back again when there is more hiking trails open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    34
    9
    8
    14
See reviews for
61
140
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

Our first visit to Whitefish and the Hidden Moose Lodge was for leisure after visiting Glacier. Our next three visits occurred in May, August and March of this past year to look for a home in Whitefish. Hidden Moose Lodge has bcome our home away from home. Gracious hosts who recognized us from previous visits, the most delicious breakfasts, friendly conversation with the hosts/other guests around the fireplace in the great room or in the breakfast area. Rooms are cozy and very comfortable, some with outside exits. A beautiful garden and convenient to downtown with good dining and mountains for skiing or hiking.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatriciaPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dabs58, Manager at Hidden Moose Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
We are so glad that you keep coming back and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

I can's say enough wonderful things about the Hidden Moose! We got in on a chilly Thursday afternoon ready for a weekend of skiing but really tired from our flight. We were warmly welcomed and given a glass a wine so we could sit by the fire and unwind from our flight. Once we were ready to be shown to our room, we couldn't believe how charming it was. Perfect Montana decor without being kitchy and the bathroom was both super nice and clean and I am extremely picky!

The lodge is perfectly located between the town of whitefish and slopes so everything was very accessible. I know people mentioned that its right by the highway but I found it convenient with zero noise.

Oh and I did I mention the breakfast! So yummy! Different main meals every morning but always with great fruit, coffee, bacon. This is a true jem! And the staff is great, too!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pastrytour10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bow, wa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

The hosts make you feel like the lodge is yours. There was no shortage of Montana style activities to choose from. We skiied and boarded, spent a day up in Glacier National Park, shopped in Whitefish (which could easily be Bedford Falls) and even went to a rodeo! Next time we'll be sure to do some Western dancin', and get in a fist fight!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellesshortguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

We recently spent time at the Moose with 24 of our close family members. This was Not a reunion, but a everyone of the family members still alive was there. The Moose is a fantastic place for a get together with family or friends. The BREAKFASTS were amazing as was the young girl who waited on all of us, her name was Dabney, she was just simply the nicest girl. Our hosts, Kim and Kent Taylor went out of their way to make us happy, Kent even picked us up while we were waiting for the shuttle in cold weather and gave us a ride to town, what a guy! Yes we will be back and soon! The rooms are so cozy and the fireplace is just wonderful. Thank you for such a place to bring our family!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandJo1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
5.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
4.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge
3.1 km away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.7 km away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
1.9 km away
Good Medicine Lodge
Good Medicine Lodge
#1 of 11 in Whitefish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Moose Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Moose Lodge

Property: Hidden Moose Lodge
Address: 1735 E Lakeshore Dr, Whitefish, MT 59937-3322
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hidden Moose Lodge was designed and built with the guest in mind. The lodge features a great room with a massive stone fireplace, picture windows and cozy seating areas. Each room has its own deck or balcony, as well as a unique decor with subtle themes, full private bath, TV/DVD players, mini fridge, and telephone. The lodge has wireless internet access throughout and a hot tub located on the back deck. The lodge has a spectacular setting built into a hillside with terraced gardens and waterfalls. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hidden Moose Hotel Whitefish
Hidden Moose Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing