We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (661)
Filter reviews
661 results
Traveller rating
228
224
137
48
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
224
137
48
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mary lou comfort inn breakfast room nice hotel stay there again biscuits and gravy small town in town little pricey staff was very friendly and helpful beds were comfortable fresh fruit hot tub fridge and microwave free breakfast front desk staff road trip
Filter
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 661 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Good decent hotel. The outside view from the hotel room (3rd floor) was mediocre but was decent enough to spend the nights. The hotel is conveniently located close to the west entrance of Yellowstone and makes it easy for commute.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank raghu781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Thank you for your comments. Lots of people find our location the perfect access to Yellowstone for easy access to the park. We hope you can visit again soon.
JGideon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2015

The staff is great but the hotel, we supposedly had the quietest room, could have been quieter, the walls don't contain the sound from surrounding rooms, and we had to unplug the coke machine down the hall at night because it was quite noisy. Our room was clean, but we have had nicer places to say at half the cost. Breakfast was okay. Yes, it does seem that rooms in West Yellowstone are overpriced for what you get, and I would recommend booking months in advance to get a room inside the park at less cost. Check out the cabins on Yellowstone Lake inside the park.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Neffdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. It's too bad you did not enjoy your stay after being with us for 4 days. I’m glad we were able to upgrade you to a bigger room when your travel agent reserved a smaller single queen room for you.
When you complained about the noise of the pop machine down the hall from your room we did unplug it although no other guests were sensitive to the noise you thought you heard. We try to make everyone comfortable and our staff will do whatever they can.
As you mentioned our rates are competitive with other hotels in West Yellowstone and guests appreciate the easy access to Yellowstone and the benefit of cell service and WIFI, which is limited in the park. Not to mention that we have an indoor pool and hot tub. I’m glad you thought our breakfast was “okay” because cabins in the park do not provide breakfast.
JGideon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2015

This is a clean,quiet hotel off the main tourist area in West Yellowstone. I had booked a king room months in advance of our trip and then when I had to change the arrival date the only thing left was a single queen room. The room was very small but well organized and since we were only going to sleep there it was fine. We tried running the air conditioner the first night and the noise from it didn't give us a restful night. So we opted to open the window. Rain one night dripping on some outdoor venting was noisy. Breakfast was the same each morning. Nothing spectacular. There was coffee and store bought cookies offered each afternoon.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SMVL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Thank you for your comments and staying with us. We hope you can visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2015

The staff was helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and up to date. The breakfast was wonderful!!! My only criticism is that the hot water carafes should only be used for hot water and NEVER as coffee carafes as they were at some point cause you can taste coffee in the hot water.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marcie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Thank you for your comments, we'll be sure to make that correction to the hot water carafes. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you can visit again soon.
JGideon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2015

This is an older property but has been updated and was very clean and quiet. It's a very good location for visiting Yellowstone. Excellent breakfast thanks to the lady who singlehandedly made it happen.

Room tip: Spacious room but the sink in the bedroom area and the tiny bathroom with the tub, shower and toilet were a drawback.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I make sure the breakfast person knows you commented on her efforts. We hope you can visit again soon.
J Gideon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews