We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond (in the rough) Motel”
Review of Diamond Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Terry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Diamond Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Terry B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The most important thing to remember when popping into the Diamond Motel in Terry is this: If the new owners from Arkansas had not saved this 50's-style motel by purchasing it and doing some serious remodeling, there would be no motel at all in Terry, Montana. Yes there are other accommodations in Terry, but there would be no motel where one could actually motor right up to the door of their room and enjoy the convenience of what a true "motel" is supposed to offer. There are also some real good reasons to spend a few days in Terry, Montana rather than just overnight there. Terry is conveniently located between Miles City and Glendive, and one can motor to either city with a straight shot either east or west on I-94 and a just a bit more than a 30 minute drive. Meanwhile, Terry is right on the Yellowstone River and only minutes away from good fishing, good hiking, and the opportunity to look down on the Yellowstone River (and Terry) from on top of the badlands of the Yellowstone breaks. In addition, one can spend a few hours in the Evelyn Cameron museum viewing her famous pioneer photography. And one is only 15 minutes away from some great hiking (and great photographing) in the Terry Badlands.
The Diamond Motel is very cozy, clean, and has a variety of room sizes (including a couple of kitchenettes) to fit the needs of whatever you and your traveling companions require. Your pets are welcome, as long as you and your pets respect the property. The "mom-and-pop" motel staff cannot provide miracles, but I found that they did everything within their resources to make me and other guests as comfortable as possible during my four-week stay there. For my part, I am very grateful. Even on a weekly rate, they insisted on changing the bedding regularly, keeping my room clean, bringing in fresh towels, and asking me daily if I needed anything. I would recommend spending a little time at the Diamond Willow on your trip west or east, and checking out the natural wonders around Terry, Montana and Prairie County. And to those hunters and fisherman who have annual reservations at the Diamond Willow, I'd hang on to those because there is a waiting list. There is no pool, there is no fitness center. Plenty of opportunity for fitness by enjoying the outdoors. The televisions are modern and offer plenty of stations; the wireless internet was substantial, with extra outlets and extension cords available to suit the electronic needs of modern travelers. There are trains passing through Terry, but, there are trains passing through ever major city in Montana.

Room Tip: If you plan to stay a few days or more, book in advance and get the room in the corner with the big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TedF127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

First thing you have to realize is this property was probably built in the 50's, so it's old. Now with that out of the way the motel consists of maybe twelve rooms all on one level. It's horseshoe shaped and has outdoor entrances. The room I was in was very nice. Flat screen TV, Wi-Fi,micro and fridge. It was loaded with little nick nacks. It was quiet, Terry is quiet. Super customer service, and it is pet friendly. I wasn't impressed with the shower toilet set-up, but hey they worked. I would recommend this motel for families because it has a large outdoor area and not much around for kids to bother.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scottidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I was returning home from Big Sky to Minneapolis with 7 friends. Upon filing the tank on one of the vehicles the fuel pump went out. We had to wait till the morning to find an open auto parts store so we stayed here. The customer service was FANTASTIC. They were extremely helpful and let us swap out filters in the lot and even offered an extension cord if need. The overall cleanliness of the suite we purchased at only $85 (2 rooms, 2 queens, and 1 twin) was better than I would keep my own home. Meaning clean dishes, fresh sheets, clean bathroom, empty garbages. Each room ALSO came with 2 flat screens with cable! Didn't even care the reception was a little fuzzy.. Heaters in both rooms worked so well we had to turn one down and all utilities worked well (with the exception of them being a little out-dated). Overall, A. Definitely stay here if you want some great Montana hospitality.

Room Tip: Get the suite! It's only $20 more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seanzy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We went there for deer hunting season and we came from another state so we looked at pictures of the inside and out on the Internet and it looked pretty nice and clean from the pictures taken so we didnt think twice about staying there. We asked if we could get In our room a little early to get some of our clutter out of our pickups and they said it was ok but just give them 5 mins and the will clean the room for us. They vacuumed the floors and made the beds without changing sheets and putting new ones on for us. The bathroom was scary to the point that nobody would take a shower. The oven was nasty and not cleaned very well and same with the fridge. The floors were really dirty like they needed to be cleaned. The exetremly scary part was that u could smell propane from the heaters to heat the room. Just a really bad experience all together and would not recommend anybody staying there. We canceled our rooms the same day we came so if that tells u anything and plus the 4 people I was with refused to stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hornhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oledia H, Owner at Diamond Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

really sorry to read your review since we bent over backwards to please you,for your info.we had already changed the sheets before you got here we just hadent vacummed yet,and i dont see how you smelled propane, sine theres no propane around,our bathrooms are clean. and have all just been re done, so since you were so unhappy, please take your business else where

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

we stayed over an extra 2 days in Terry after a delivery we dropped off at the Diamond Motel where Oledia Henson and her wonder dog Peanut with his running mate Skipper treated us with open arms as if we were family...Oledia's staff helper(name unknown)was also a very courteous and delightful person as well...room was considered a suite which was very roomy as well as clean and very quiet,shower and bath area super(very soft water)plus pet friendly on top of all the other good ..also as safe and secured....older motel with "class" as far as we are concerned...this motel was also booked full every night,,,room rates are great...any bad reviews you read are from mean and nasty people who must think they are better than anyone else...this motel and staff are by far the best we have stayed with and will be booking a room there again when we go thru the area...thank you Oledia for treating us as you and your staff did...we will be back to see you and Terry Montana in the future---jim-carolyn-rusty(unit 6 suite 09-10-11-12-2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 829jamesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Diamond Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Motel

Address: 118 East Spring St, PO Box 446, Terry, MT 59349
Region: United States > Montana > Terry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Terry
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 12 beautiful rooms,some have complete kitchen,bring your own dishes,right close to the beautiful yelloestone river,pet friendly,in the process of upgrading the rooms with 32 inch flat pannell wall mounted tv,clean rooms great rates ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing