We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
17
9
5
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
9
5
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews residential neighborhood chain hotels cabin accommodations comfort interstate microwave
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

When traveling we avoid all chains and enjoy supporting small independanly owned businesses. The Lamplighter fit the bill perfectly. Off the main drag and refreshingly different than the standard cookie cutter motel/hotel. The owners friendly and helpful. The room was clean and neat at a fair price.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7Btravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I so wanted to love this place. The reviews were, for the most part, good so I had high hopes. The little, yellow, cabins looked sweet upon arrival. The bad part was opening the door to our cabin ( which had been reserved months in advance). The first thing that caught my eye was a very, very, dirty, soiled carpet. Not only soiled but unvacumed with bits of "things" up by the top of the bed. The doorknob fell off in my hand as I tried to close the door, and there was hair in the tub. We were tired and didn't want to lose our money, as it had been reserved, so decided to stay. We slept in our sleeping bags. The cabins are sweet and have lots of potential. When lying in bed it looked OK but the carpet and cleanliness sure need improving. We had a "kitchenette" that would be better off demolished, it was in sore need of some sprucing up. Having said all that: Joe was very pleasant and immediately fixed the doorknob.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SylRickTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel based on its proximity to the cemetery, but it's also a quick walk to down town Helena. Our cabin was laid out in the most bizarre way, and the fridge rattled, but otherwise it was quite comfy. It's nice to have your own little hut. Service was friendly too!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rj7341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I brought my daughter to Helena for a dance camp and stayed at the Lamplighter. The location was excellent and we biked to downtown for the camp almost daily which was awesome. The property was darling with little yellow cabins and mature trees in a neighborhood feel. A supermarket is seconds away which was handy as we had a kitchenette we could prepare meals in. The manager Joe at the front desk was wonderful. Super helpful, friendly, full of good suggestions, and just a great guy. Thanks Joe! Will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandalwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Our first red flag at this place was the bars on the managers window when we checked in.
Second red flag was a young family coming to say they would accept the second room they were offered and would move their stuff over.
Then there was the room. Tiny, dirty & unkept. We were not impressed, then we pulled the bedding back to find dirty sheets complete with black hair. I told my wife, NO WAY, we'll get our money back & find another place.
The manager refunded our money & we left. We stopped at the next place we saw & they had a beautiful Queen suite, complete with a hot breakfast in their restaurant for $35 more.
Beware of the Lamplighter.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hdexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews