We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Candy is back up to par with new owner!”

The Parrot Confectionery
Ranked #2 of 14 Shopping in Helena
Attraction details
Reviewed 9 March 2017

I'm a local but had quit going to The Parrot after the original owner died and his family sold the business. It all went downhill from there with corners cut and an attitude of "take it or leave it". The new owner who just recently took over operation of The Parrot is once again making chocolates, chili, ice cream and toppings the way the Duensing family did. Delicious!

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank islandgirllil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"old fashioned soda fountain"
in 5 reviews
"chilli"
in 12 reviews
"ice cream"
in 11 reviews
"soda shop"
in 2 reviews
"candies"
in 10 reviews
"huckleberry"
in 4 reviews
"shake"
in 4 reviews
"jukebox"
in 3 reviews
"mint"
in 2 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2017

This time of year they make "potatoes", marzipan rolled in fine cinnamon to create a realistic looking potato. They are absolutely delicious. All the other things were as well.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Virginia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We stepped in here on Christmas Eve to see if we could find some last minute gifts. We walked in and there were 5 people behind the counter and not one of them even acknowledged that we were there. We looked around all the while they were still having their conversation. We decided to walk out and as we were leaving someone said "um, Hi". It was like they knew why we were leaving. To not even acknowledge customers when they come in your establishment because your conversation with the other employees is too important. Not cool!

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Our kids love the Parrot, and ask to be taken there on special outings with Mom and Dad. When my Mom visits Helena from time to time, she loves the old fashioned feel of the place and the timeless style that is unspoiled by decades of passe trends.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank subscribe2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Went to visit for the candy, stayed for lunch. Had their tamale with chili. Best chili I have ever had, but did not resemble what you normally think of chili; no beans, smoother texture, and tamales to die for. I wish they would share their chili recipe, so I could recreate it. I would even learn how to make tamales for this! Candy was also good, but try the caramel corn, and especially their caramel apples with nuts. Delicious, all the way around. This place has been around forever, in an older building. Kind of like the old time soda fountain. I had the root beer float which was great, but they also have milk shakes and phosphates and other drinks. Well worth the visit. Candy is made on-site.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank QueenG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Parrot Confectionery also viewed

 

Been to The Parrot Confectionery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing