We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 18:00
Save
Review Highlights
Take it from the locals--- this is the best!

Such a fun old place that makes their candy and it is so delicious. I bought a box, ate it all... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
ShelleyS1324
What a treat

Walking through the old town of Helena my husband spied an old fashioned Soda Fountain and insisted... read more

Reviewed 20 September 2017
MicheleColette
,
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Read all 54 reviews
  
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
36
12
1
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
12
1
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old fashioned soda fountain chilli ice cream soda shop candies huckleberry shake jukebox mint
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2016

This is an authentic soda fountain and candy shop. Was a great place to visit and buy some treats. Very fun. Would highly recommend.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank andersmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

The place is really 3 things in one – a chocolate shop, an old fashioned soda fountain (with bar) and a little restaurant. We tried the chocolates and the soda fountain and were impressed.

Soda fountain – so many options. They have malts, sodas and phosphates. It seems like they have limitless options and the staff is very helpful in getting the right one for you. We tried the chocolate ice cream soda (they made a chocolate soda and added chocolate ice cream to it) and the huckleberry phosphate. The huckleberry phosphate is really pretty novel – for non-locals huckleberry alone is quite the fun novelty, add a soda made there on the spot, huckleberry ice cream and just a drop or two of citric acid and you have a one-of-a-kind treat. Really worth a visit.

Chocolates and candies – they have a broad selection. They even have what are normally known as turtles but they call Parrots. For those not in the mood for chocolate, they have other options as well.

The location is perfect right there along Last Chance Gulch. The décor has a nostalgic feel. It’s worth a stop.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank js6872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Since 1910, The Parrot has offered up amazing sweets, great chili, and real fountain drinks. My parents had dates at this place in the 60's. The Parrot hasn't changed after all these years, and that's a wonderful thing. It's one of those places we hope never goes away. If you're in Helena, stop by a locally owned and operated establishment and take a step back in time!

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Brent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

This was a childhood favorite for me. I moved away but make sure that I come back every summer while I am in town. I even have them mail me a little something special during the winter. This is the quintessential old fashion candy shop. They don't have much actual food so don't come expecting a full meal. This is a candy shop and that is what they do the best. The hand make all their candy and make the roads fresh when you order.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank medicgal131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Oh my a chocoholic's dream. Every kinda of confection plus Ice cream and old fashioned sodas. My husband's family sent care packages overseas to him when he was serving in Germany. A taste of home.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Nampa_IdahoDeeDeeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews