We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
31
4
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
4
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real montana horseback riding cheryl crevices mosquitoes cabin mt proprietor ynp park
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We made our dream vacation to the great American West starting in the Black Hills moving to Jackson Hole and then Yellowstone. We looked for out of the way cabins that were somewhat remote and in the wild. We really were glad to find Crevice Mnt Lodge and they were the kindest and most helpful people, answering all our questions. This was the third place we would stay in on our 9 day journey and as we drove up the gravel road we knew it would be the best. The view was spectacular and even though my wife was nervous and would not look, myself and our three adult kids had our eyes peeled looking for wildlife and taking in the view. Our cabin was great and the woods were simply awesome. We hiked around the mountain top and explored as we learned more about the mining history from our host. We saw elk and hoped to see a bear but my girls were ok not having any sort of bear encounters lol. We river rafted with Flying Pig located below in Gardiner. Smokey the cat was always at our door and would walk with us as we explored the woods. Blaze the host pet dog was great too and he loves chasing the Frisbee. The food was fabulous and the fresh eggs and blueberry cakes were the bomb with my kids. Thanks for the home made choke berry syrup too Cheryl. Sad to say we only could book two nights and we wish we could have stayed longer but we will be back. It was so nice to be there and experience the real Montana with such great host and be so close to the north entrance to Yellowstone. Cheryl and John thank you, this will always be a special memory for us and our kids and we hope to be back up on the mountain top again.
John & Pam

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnjoiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Spent four lovely nights in one of the cabins at Crevice Mountain Lodge high on the hilltop overlooking Gardiner. Beautiful hikes, great home-cooking and incredibly hospitable and knowledgeble hosts!

Easy access to the North entrance of Yellowstone and very much a good value. Note that to get there you do head up a dirt road up the mountain for several miles which may be unexpected. It is well worth it - you are completely unplugged and enjoy simple pleasures.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheCrankyBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

These small family owned Bed and Breakfast cabins were homey, cozy and quaint and quiet. The hosts are wonderful, friendly, accommodating people and we felt truly welcome and pampered. The rate includes breakfast and dinner and there is even a campfire after dinner for roasting marshmallows. We learned about the history of the area which includes an old gold mine! Our children loved the freedom to roam around the large yard area and play with the animals. The food was delicious and they even had our little wood stove on to keep our cabin warm when we returned at the end of the day. Lots of special perks await you after your drive up the scenic mountain road . Well worth the drive!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacatnmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

What a charming, warm and inviting place to stay. Rustic but cozy. Cheryl and John were great hosts; gave lots of good history about the area, directed us to beautiful hikes with incredible views and Cheryl's down home cooking was fabulous. The mountains are great for large appetites and Cheryl delivers large portions to satisfy all appetites! The hot tub was a perfect ending to the day, the star gazing from the hot tub was wonderful! And lastly, the fire pit in the evening, we roasted marshmallows and sat around the fire sharing stories of the day. Would definitely return to this wonderful find!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbHendricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2008

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in one of three rustic cabins. We enjoyed the total experience! Both Paul & Cherly are great hosts offering great information and stories of the property & the area. They offer breakfast & dinner that are home cooked which we enjoyed in their lodge room. It is a relaxed atmosphere sitting with other guests.

The property is 11 miles above Gardiner and worth the drive. It was an old gold mining camp. The buildings are all away from each other so there is plenty of peace & quiet. We enjoyed all the aminals that roamed; chickens, dogs, horses & cats. There is a hot tub, badminton area, a hammock, bikes for use and a fire pit.
We took many walks and hikes. A short walk takes you to the most incredible views overlooking Yellowstone National Park. WOW!!!
Our hikes took us to overlooks, old gold mines, old mind shafts and reminisce of the past camps. It is an incredible area to explore!!!!!

What a great relaxing vacation we had!!! Thank you!!!
Greg & Sabina

P.S. It is a place that you should spend more then one night to truly enjoy all that it has to offer!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews